Page 2 of 10 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: New signings/departures

539 Posts
    i have heard from a reliable source that town are training in Newbridge for the coming season. It would make sense I suppose. I heard also from the same source that Jason McCartney is staying with us too which is great news as he had a good season for us..

1,081 Posts
    Yeah handy enough for both Dublin and Midlands based players. Jason McCartney was one of our better performers last year alright, I'd be happy enough to have him around.

509 Posts
    lads somthings wrong... im feeling optomistic?..... and my tempratures grand??

218 Posts
    Any word on where Tom King will be playing this season. From what I seen of him he'd be another I'd keep on.

Also, anyone know if the 2 local lads, Lee and Murphy are staying on?

509 Posts
    tom is good enough for prmier division football IMOso it would be great if ye could keep hold of him.. such a hard worker

72 Posts
    Lee is stayin on according to a friend that was talkind to him in the gym!

72 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Acornvilla View Post
    lads somthings wrong... im feeling optomistic?..... and my tempratures grand??
    I'v felt like this every off season since joining foot.ie! I'm starting to see sense now, tho.

539 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Acornvilla View Post
    tom is good enough for prmier division football IMOso it would be great if ye could keep hold of him.. such a hard worker
    with tom based in Galway I am not sure how he can commit to training in Newbridge.. I heard that Galway Utd are sniffing around him...

105 Posts
    Some very good signings made, although its early yet. When ya see waterford signing a player like Liam Kearney, you know we'll still be up against it this season.. Still tho we can be optimistic..
    As a side note, from what ive heard, the team will be trainin in Maynooth this year..

539 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Cabs88 View Post
    Some very good signings made, although its early yet. When ya see waterford signing a player like Liam Kearney, you know we'll still be up against it this season.. Still tho we can be optimistic..
    As a side note, from what ive heard, the team will be trainin in Maynooth this year..
    thats interesting that.. I heard the rumour about Newbridge from a friend thats friendly with one of our players but I could be wrong too... It will be interesting to see what happens!!

Gary Curran and Adrian Murphy are training with us. Their not signed but have been training the last 2 sessions with us. I remember Murphy played with us a few seasons back and was prolific in front of goal but don't think he had the best of seasons last year. What about Curran?

Also we have a lad from Granard, i think training with us. Think his name is Lynch. Would that be the Lynch lad who ye had last season. Was told he used to play with ye but it wasn't the lad from last season. Was told he was playing GAA the last few years.

186 Posts
    Curran can be hit and miss. Wouldn't mind keeping him tbh but wouldn't be losing too much sleep if we lost him. The Lynch we had last season was Liam Lynch, from Ballinasloe.

1,081 Posts
    Murph did ok last year, wouldn't mind keeping him around. Played a lot of games on the right wing. Curran was decent enough as well, scored a few goals from midfield, didn't excel really but he wasn't bad. The other lad sounds like Stephen Lynch. Played for us in 2001 in the UEFA Cup then went to UCD. Never did much there, he then played for the county GAA team for a while and as far as I know has been doing nothing much sports wise in the last couple of years.

Yeah think its Stephen Lynch. He was training with us the last few weeks. Apparently he's been playing with Spartak Granard or something like that in your District league.

1,081 Posts
    I see. I'd have my doubts about whether he'd do anything at LOI level, he was never the most motivated but you never know. No harm in taking a look at him from your point of view.

22 Posts
    Stephen Lynch was a good underage player but never was good enough at LoI level. Came on as a sub against Litex Lovech in the UEFA Cup then went to UCD where he never got a sniff.

Adrian Murphy is hoping to go to college in the UK come summer time so you won't have him for a full season regardless.

In other news, Aaron Shanahan is signing back....
    Marco Tardelli's red and black,
    Red and black, red and black.
    Marco Tardelli's red and black,
    He hates Athlone.

186 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rocky77 View Post
    In other news, Aaron Shanahan is signing back....
    That's good news.

509 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by De Town View Post
    That's good news.
    most important signing er havent had a relly good keeper in a whyle it will make a big diffrence defencivly woop!

1,081 Posts
    Good news alright. He'd have been high up on the list of players to keep from last year.

509 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    Good news alright. He'd have been high up on the list of players to keep from last year.
    now most importantly whats the story with mccarthy and king??

Page 2 of 10 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast