Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Sean Connor new manager of gufc

62 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gufc2000 View Post
    Cue Harpal Singh, Darren Mansarm, Michael McGinlay etc in GUFC jersies next year!
    Few posts up my friend!!!

Will he be part time of full time?

38 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CarrickFan View Post
    Condolences.
    What a balls up of a League..... same faces different places all the time.

Galway must be very short-sighted, Connor will bankrupt ye in no time.
    It's a disastrous appointment and i hope Leeson gets what he deserves, mind you the fans don't deserve Sean Connor.

238 Posts
    Cue Harpal Singh, Darren Mansarm, Michael McGinlay etc in GUFC jersies next year!
    I would guess Shaun Kelly will join, but, if the budget is only around €3000 per week then I can't see all those players coming and leaving anything for the rest of the squad.

122 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Captain2007 View Post

It's a disastrous appointment and i hope Leeson gets what he deserves, mind you the fans don't deserve Sean Connor.
    He was by far the most outstanding candidate that applied. He had the most managerial experience by far

Quote Originally Posted by Infadel View Post
    Didn't Chris Turner have a clause in his Sligo contract saying he is free to leave them and join Sean Connor if he finds another club.
    I wish...

62 Posts

Im not saying its connected with Connor but we broke even last year and where doing well til July but since he left we have a 200k deficit this year! Maybe cause of Seanies big contracts for the lads!

62 Posts
    He was by far the most outstanding candidate that applied. He had the most managerial experience by far
    It must have been a last minute application!!

38 Posts
    It's what you can afford to pay not who has the most experience,that guy will command at least €1500 52 weeks of the year .

288 Posts
    That should see all the Sean Connor lovers and haters spilling into Terryland next year
    Lovers?

Oh right... you meant us... sorry

The betting shops around Galway will be busy when his squad rolls into town

62 Posts
    Has Leeson done something dodgey again to get more money for GUFC?!

Connor will bankrupt ye in no time.
    Only if they let him. If they're as stuck for money as posters here have been saying, you'd imagine Connor was told the sort of budget he's getting and knows what he's in for.

Quote Originally Posted by Dillonman View Post
    Has Leeson done something dodgey again to get more money for GUFC?!
    My guess is Connor convinced the Galway board to base the budget on a few friendlies against the likes of Celtic like he did with us last season.

122 Posts
    Some managers turned the chance down after learning of the financial side of things so I'm sure Connor knows what he is letting himself in for

Don't forget Barca because he has contacts there

Quote Originally Posted by Infadel View Post
    My guess is Connor convinced the Galway board to base the budget on a few friendlies against the likes of Celtic like he did with us last season.

Or with Sunderland as he is close friends with Steve Bruce and Mick at Wolves....do bookmakers take bets on what team will have the worst disciplinary record at the end of a season?

363 Posts
    With Roddy at Cork and SC resurfacing at Galway at least we`ll have some entertainment to keep us going. SC w/o doubt one of the biggest bulls##rs of all time. Ok he kept us up and got 5th place, but his and the teams lack of efforts in almost every game of the last series was a pure disgrace.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), first Irish club to win points in a group stage in Europe (2016).

Press conference tomorrow at 3pm in Supermacs, Eyre Square

It's a little sad how much of a musical chairs effort the League of Ireland is [and I include Cork City going to Roddy Collins in this]. Rovers took a slight risk to bring O'Neill in last season and were met with many "ah, sure he doesn't know the league and players" which turned out to be nonsense.

You have to look at the people who are doing the hiring and firing in this league, Connor has a passable if uninspiring record, but if someone looks through his career, there is a serious amount of collateral damage in his wake. A bit of fresh air every now and again wouldn't hurt at all
    Cork City: Making 'Dream Team' seem realistic since 2007.

115 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SligoBrewer View Post
    Just thought I'd drag this up.
    congrats on being a sad-act.
    roddy collins you're a flanker you're a flanker!

Quote Originally Posted by foxx92 View Post
    I wish...
    That would really ruffle a few feathers in Sligo.

Quote Originally Posted by Chris Turner
    I've signed a two year deal with Sligo but there's a clause in there that says I can leave if Sean joins a League of Ireland club. I love working with him.
    http://www.dundalkdemocrat.ie/3418/T...iel.5820602.jp

Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast