Thank you. 5 pages in and we have the definitive answer. This is the most uniquely Irish thing we do actually. I've grown up with it and still do it at home. I always thought the upward jerk of the head and associated eyebrow movement was acknowledgement and 'a'right'. Actually now I try it sideways and its the same. We have a winner though.
Why do we do it and whats its origins?
He made a big shobuck about it - He made a big deal about it
He lepped out of nowhere - He jumped out of nowhere
The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist thinks it will change; the realist adjusts the sails.
"Your guilty conscience may move you to vote Democratic, but deep down you long for a cold-hearted Republican to lower taxes, brutalize criminals, and rule you like a king"
Sideshow Bob
Well Ware - When you get a new car
Fair F*cks to ya - When you do something good
The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist thinks it will change; the realist adjusts the sails.
Going to Mass and standing outside.
First alcaholic drink being Cider, Linden Village.
Last edited by smellyfeet; 15/01/2010 at 9:28 AM.
If you're in the penalty area and don't know what to do with the ball, put it in the net and we'll discuss the options later
FORM IS TEMPORARY, CLASS IS PERMANENT
When saying something is mean, Thats Lowzy
If you're in the penalty area and don't know what to do with the ball, put it in the net and we'll discuss the options later
HOLLY -- e.g "I gave it holly".......I put a fair bit of effort into it
****** -- Pat Spillane, a dangerous player or any Clare players or supporters
MIGHTY -- very good
HAMES -- a right ****e e.g. "He made a hames of that chance"
TIMBER -- Intimidation of a hurling opponent e.g. "Show him some timber"
LAMP -- A good thump e.g. "I swung for the sliothar, missed by three feet and lamped the fullback.
A CROWD -- A gathering of people who watch a match and hope for random acts of violence e.g. Clare supporters
MANTACH (east Galway)--- missing front teeth eg Mairtin Staunton is mantach
SCHKELP -- to remove living tissue in the absence of surgical procedures e.g. "That ****** of a fullback took a schkelp outta me leg".
HATCHET MAN -- Mountainy type, uses hunter/gatherer instincts
BULLIN' -- Angry e.g "The fullforward was bullin after I lamped him".
BULL THICK -- very angry e.g. "The fullforward was bull thick after I lamped him again".
CITEOG -- left sided player. Takes frees by putting the hurley between his legs.
JOULT -- A push e.g. "I gave him a joult and he's wearing a neck brace with two weeks".
THE COMM-A-TEE -- Local GAA bull****ters in general.
BUSHTED -- An undefined soreness e.g. "Jayz me finger is bushted".
THE BOMBER -- Popular name for a fat hairy GAA player
TULLYALLEN (Meath)-- Extra effort to achieve height and length in a clearance ("Give it Tullyallen"). Also common in Louth
HANG SANGWIDGE -- Consumed with "tay" by the Tipp supporters on the sides of roads after matches in Croker or Thurles, usually contains half a pound of butther.
RAKE -- A great amount of anything, usually pints of Guinness the night before a big match.
INDANAMAJAYSUS! (in da nama Jaysus) -- What was that for ref !
YA ****** YA -- Corner back's recognition of a score by his opponent
LEH-IT-IN-TA-****-WUD-YA -- Full forward's appeal to a midfielder for a more timely delivery of the pass.
MULLOCKER -- untidy or awkward player released for matches.
BURST THE ****** -- instructions from the sideline to tackle your man.
ROW -- disagreement involving four or more players.
MASSIVE ROW -- disagreement involvong both teams, including goalies, subs and supporters jumping fences.
ALL HELL BROKE LOOSE -- a massive row that continues out in the parking area or dressing room areas, usually resolved by the Gardaí.
Last edited by paul_oshea; 15/01/2010 at 1:30 PM.
A naggin (correct spelling) in the Irish pub trade is a set size of bottle (almost sure it's 8 measures), but it's not an especially Irish word I don't think.
A flagon is not 2 litres, it's just a large capacity vessel, though it is often used in Ireland to refer to the 2 litre plastic cider bottles. You also had the glass bottle flagon of red lemonade, for example, in the pubs down this way at least, which was about 700/750 ml I think.
Last edited by stann; 15/01/2010 at 4:12 PM.
more bass
disagreeing with basically every teaching of the catholic church but not having the awarness to call themselves just christians or theists(id say many irish do believe in some 'higher force')
Funny, but slightly inaccurate:
http://www.countmeout.ie/
You can't spell failure without FAI
The concept of "craic".
I always find it hard to explain to someone who's never been to Ireland what it is. It feels like more than just a "good night out".
Extratime.ie
Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.
Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.
Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.
Ha Ha I find the Aussies love when I swear, its what we appear to be known for. I think they just like how it sounds when we use the word F#ck, when other nationalities use it it sounds harsh and confrontational, when we use it its just like part of the sentance. What the F#ck? Where the F#ck? Who the F#ck? Get to F#ck. I will in me F#ck. They love it, possibly because words like d1ckhead and wank3r are everyday words here, as in regulars on tv including the news and ads.
Tommy Tiernan put it best.
The english language is a wall between me and you, and F#ck is my chisel.
Last edited by SilkCut; 19/01/2010 at 1:58 AM. Reason: Cos swearing is offensive!!
Help something bit me!!!
I love when the americans say "lets F**k"
The poor 'creator'
Old people usually say that
kick the sh1t out of ya
bate the crap outa him
ring his neck
Knock seven colours of sh1t.