Hurley
    Sliotor
    Camogie
    Muck Savage
    Muck Spreaders
    The GAA

Any Word starting with SL becomes SHL, as in, I'm off to bed for a Shleep, or i'm off to Shligo.

If a persons name is Walsh, we called them Welsh, well in Kilkenny they do anyway.
    If you're in the penalty area and don't know what to do with the ball, put it in the net and we'll discuss the options later

FORM IS TEMPORARY, CLASS IS PERMANENT

I'll do it now in a minute
    Bring back the plank

Quote Originally Posted by Ozymandias View Post
    I'll do it now in a minute
    1 sec
    If you're in the penalty area and don't know what to do with the ball, put it in the net and we'll discuss the options later

complete strangers ( usually oldfellas) saluting you as you drive through the countryside

" football is a simple game "

love that

Quote Originally Posted by endabob1 View Post
    ...and the references to Yer Man & Yer Wan
    ahh so true about your man, when i say it many americans here invariably respond with "he's not MY man" in an attempt to disassociate themselves from potentially unbecoming behavior.. i'm thinking 'nooo no dolt, i know he's not YOUR man..."
    zombie/thread killer..

46 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by old git View Post
    complete strangers ( usually oldfellas) saluting you as you drive through the countryside
    Aah ya see I still do this here so driving around the Dales I would randomly salute oncoming drivers or pedestrians. I don't get many return salutes but occasionally

112 Posts
    I like the fact that we call the police the 'guards'...
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    Japanese people do it much more than Irish.
    Could be a Catholic guilt thing.
    Quoting years at random since 1975

We turn our heads to the side ( i do it to the right side ) to say hi.

Fella that used to work with me was from Swaziland, he would shift his head up a little, fairly fast tho, strange how these things come about.

Quote Originally Posted by Pauro 76 View Post
    I like the fact that we call the police the 'guards'...
    Its because they are The Garda Siochana, Not the Guards.

Ya exactly pauro, wasnt that obvious!!

112 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by smellyfeet View Post
    Its because they are The Garda Siochana, Not the Guards.
    That's what I meant... anyway..
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

1,025 Posts
    We turn our heads to the side ( i do it to the right side ) to say hi.
    I've often wondered if the side to which we turn our heads is related to on which side (left or right) the person will pass. I think we give a little jerk of the chin, but generally away from the side that the person will pass us.

Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    I've often wondered if the side to which we turn our heads is related to on which side (left or right) the person will pass. I think we give a little jerk of the chin, but generally away from the side that the person will pass us.
    I'm not sure...., but fair point tho osarusun.

Only reason i say this is, what would my Swazi friend be doing.

1,025 Posts
    I'm not sure...., but fair point tho osarusun.

Only reason i say this is, what would my Swazi friend be doing.
    I wonder if we don't jerk our heads straight up in the air as well (raising our eyebrows at the same time), but that means "I recognise your arrival", whereas the sideways jerk means "a'right".

521 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Harpsbear View Post
    What though sets us apart as a people.
    Voting for Fianna Fail, complaining about what they do in power, then voting for Fianna Fail again.

291 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dahamsta View Post
    Voting for Fianna Fail, complaining about what they do in power, then voting for Fianna Fail again.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/United_...election,_2004

3,489 Posts
    Don't think George Bush is Fianna Fáil.

521 Posts
    He has a point though...