Says she
    etc

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    Paulie, ive heard that in yankieville a lot to be honest.
    Introduced by the Irish no doubt!

"Yerrah" (or however you say it) must be one of the finest words in the world. I suppose it nicely encapsulates our typically non-committal attitudes as well.

When answering NO, We say NA.
    If you're in the penalty area and don't know what to do with the ball, put it in the net and we'll discuss the options later

FORM IS TEMPORARY, CLASS IS PERMANENT

Quote Originally Posted by Roadend View Post
    "How bad" to describe something that's good. I remember hearing that for the first time and thinking "but it's not bad at all"
    Is that phrase used outside of Cork? It's the only place I've heard it from.

85 Posts
    My personal favourite is "Would Ya"

To a friend : Would you like a drink would ya?

To your child : Would ya ever sit down would ya?

The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist thinks it will change; the realist adjusts the sails.

85 Posts
    Anonther thing too that I just thought about it is our overuse of the word ‘God’

- Honest to God like, I couldn’t believe it

- Well I swear to God I never saw anything like it in my life

- God, youd swear she was something the way she is going on

- God above, isnt it just awful!

- Well holy God (used only in a place called Glenroe though)
    Last edited by Deckydee; 12/01/2010 at 2:08 PM.
    The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist thinks it will change; the realist adjusts the sails.

Quote Originally Posted by Schumi View Post
    Is that phrase used outside of Cork?
    Common in Kerry anyway, and I'm sure I've used it a lot throughout the country without being detained in the local Garda station for Strange and Misleading Use of Language.

Ive never heard it, and if i haven't heard it then i doubt its commonly used.

Ya in donegal they like to say

truth be told
    no word of a lie
    swear to god.

If a man ever says this to a woman then you know he is lying

Quote Originally Posted by Deckydee View Post
    My personal favourite is "Would Ya"

To a friend : Would you like a drink would ya?

To your child : Would ya ever sit down would ya?

To one of the lads when looking at a bird,,, Would ya
    If you're in the penalty area and don't know what to do with the ball, put it in the net and we'll discuss the options later

85 Posts
    Anonther one:

- You can chalk it down!

Quote Originally Posted by kingdom hoop View Post
    Common in Kerry anyway
    Sure Kerry's just like a rural version of Cork anyway.

3,308 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Schumi View Post
    Is that phrase used outside of Cork? It's the only place I've heard it from.
    heard it in Limerick as well, but not as much as in Cork

Used to live with a lad from Cavan who put "hai" at the end of every other sentence.

ya ive experienced that too tets, worked with him though as oppossed to lived with him.

Used to say " a lock of pints" too.

We use STOP alot too.

Also, Stop the lights

ah stop would ye.

111 Posts
    Me da would often offer me a lock of tay.
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

473 Posts
    When someone from Belfast is trying to be friendly, and they scare the living ****e out of you by roaring "WHAT ABOUT'CHA"?

473 Posts
    The living ****e!

I'll knock ya into next week!
    LESS OF THE BULL NOW!