Page 4 of 15 FirstFirst ... 2345614 ... LastLast

Thread: Uniquely Irish

2,629 Posts
    "show us your gooter" and "shove it up your ringpiece" get decent laughs in the office here. They have no idea what it means.

Quote Originally Posted by Wolfie View Post
    On meeting someone, a person can state "Is it yourself?" or "How's yourself".
    "There you are!"

Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    "show us your gooter" and "shove it up your ringpiece" get decent laughs in the office here. They have no idea what it means.
    Eh, neither do I!

504 Posts
    Ah.. if it is'nt himself! (st!te whats his name again)
    sorry if this has been posted already but young ones saying 'will you meet my friend''

or the word shift!

and magicme your better off not knowing

2,629 Posts
    "any hair on your banjo?"

I always thought one of the big ones for Irish English was our inability to answer with a yes or a no.

Do you want tea? I'll have one if you're making one.

And when you ask someone directions being told a lot of landmarks that you shouldn't be seeing.

504 Posts
    hows she cuttin?

2,629 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Magicme View Post
    Eh, neither do I!
    i could tell ya, but id have to kill ya MM...

111 Posts
    Right you are...
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    i could tell ya, but id have to kill ya MM...

Sure what the heck....

"and would you like to come home to live, you would?"

p.s. my mother's always goin "so i says to meself i says" before continuing on and saying what she was saying to herself.
    zombie/thread killer..

Wha you lookin ah

Boy the kid
    Last edited by sligoman; 11/01/2010 at 8:35 PM. Reason: merge
    If you're in the penalty area and don't know what to do with the ball, put it in the net and we'll discuss the options later

FORM IS TEMPORARY, CLASS IS PERMANENT

37 Posts
    "He doesn't have a pot to pi$$ in"

means "recession"
    Nobody knows us, we don't care

ah sure go on.
    ah go on so.
    i might as well.
    d'ye know.
    hows the form?

D'ye know yer man/one/that fella/that wan.
    are you going home? no im going home home.

how are ye now?

The christmas ryhme:
    how now, where now, what now, brown cow....see who gets that one first!

whats the craic?

same as taht.

any news?

chat ye.
    Last edited by sligoman; 12/01/2010 at 1:11 AM. Reason: merge...

Leave it off.

No Bother.
    If you're in the penalty area and don't know what to do with the ball, put it in the net and we'll discuss the options later

37 Posts
    He did on his hole
    Nobody knows us, we don't care

Ye bleedin eejit ye.
    Quoting years at random since 1975

yer an awful dope.

the word awful being used to describe something strongly.

25 Posts
    "How bad" to describe something that's good. I remember hearing that for the first time and thinking "but it's not bad at all"

Go way outa that

Page 4 of 15 FirstFirst ... 2345614 ... LastLast