Page 13 of 15 FirstFirst ... 31112131415 LastLast

Thread: Uniquely Irish

622 Posts
    hearing the mother in law shout ''AH FOR BLOODY SAKE!!!!'' Gets me every time

or ''AH FOR MOTHER OF SAKE!!!''

actully whyle o the sbject whyle meself and my friend were watching liverpool and chelsea in the CL last year she seen jamie carrager clear a shot of the line and proceeded to say ''ah..ah a for blody sake'' left the room and whyle climbing the stairs i could hear her mumble ''for bloody sake..the eejit,could he not put the ball into...the..goal... hmph'' you had to be there i'm pretty certian thats unique to ireland
    Last edited by Acornvilla; 21/02/2010 at 9:43 PM.

bad spelling is uniquely Irish

622 Posts
    no americans cant spell real english either :P bad spelling is unique to dyslexics and to me aparently :P

Quote Originally Posted by Acornvilla View Post
    no americans cant spell real english either
    as opposed to mock english

622 Posts
    well they spell pheoneticly

i think there should be 2 L's in that

622 Posts
    i heart you oscar :P:P

87 Posts
    Classic that I heard lads say years ago

"Where were you going that time when I saw you coming back?"
    The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist thinks it will change; the realist adjusts the sails.

I was deliira wih me 6 cigareh liira's for eh pouind

1,025 Posts
    The way people say 'the' instead of 'my'. As in, 'I got a lift from the brother'.

521 Posts
    Yeah, but The Wife sounds normal, whereas "my wife" sounds, well, a bit ghey...

Quote Originally Posted by Acornvilla View Post
    everyone in longford says ''(watch your)house'' aswell
    Everyone round my parts say that aswell. As in look behind you.

2,771 Posts
    would ye get up ourra dat.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

37 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mjrobinson88 View Post
    Both if possible Acornvilla. Does this forum contain both Irish born and British born fans?
    You just got to talk to Jeff Kenna, a Dubliner who won the League with Blackburn Rovers. He truly embraced his life in Britian to the extent that when he became manager of St Patrick's Athletic, he commuted from his family in Birmingham. He flew in and out of Dublin a few times a week for games and training sessions. That arrangement didn't last too long.
    Nobody knows us, we don't care

"The further we go the further we're gonna be from where we are!" - a slow-witted pal of mine came out with this beauty whilst on a trip to Amsterdam ten years or so back. A local woman was lucky enough to be within earshot while we had the pleasure of watching her walk across the square cracking up the whole way.
    And you ask me to help you??!! Man is evil!!!! Capable of nothing but destruction!

37 Posts
    People who still say Pounds instead of Euro.
    Nobody knows us, we don't care

521 Posts
    People who say euro instead of euros. (Not you in particularly Paddyfield, you just reminded me.) It's a horrific mangling of the english language and a tragedy that the popular media use it in their guidelines.

115 Posts
    That's a pet hate of mine too.
    Even more so as the Brussels honchos were at pains to make clear at the time that it was perfectly acceptable for those languages that pluralise with an added 's' to use Euros instead.
    Euro sounds false and horrible and "How continental are we?!!".
    Last edited by stann; 27/07/2010 at 8:51 PM.
    more bass

2,771 Posts
    pound was pretty common too, dont forget...

"how much is that?"

"five pound."

and it didnt sound too continental whenever i heard it.....
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

521 Posts
    I'm being pedantic now, but that's different. The media actually have guidelines that require them to use "euro", which were introduced at the behest of the government of the time. Presumably some idiot there thought it'd be very european.

So when you hear someone on the street saying it, it's because the newsreaders in RTE and the journalists in the Times and De Paper were told to use it. If they hadn't, they wouldn't have, and we'd be calling them euros.

Page 13 of 15 FirstFirst ... 31112131415 LastLast