Page 14 of 50 FirstFirst ... 4121314151624 ... LastLast

Thread: The Cricket Thread

1,912 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    What did I say? Or not say as generally seems to be the case.
    From your first breath your words uttered were 'will we fall short' when we are on the cusp of victory
    3 runs left to get and you doubt Trent Johnson.
    So forgive me if I didn't read the rest of that post
    You are a chronic fatalist believing in ultimate doom and gloom, fortunately not enough to jinx this.

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    779 Posts
    ANy chance some of your guys will now play cricket? We have a nice club in Sandyford

www.sandyfordcc.org

Shoot, I should have gone over. And IF we had beaten Bangladesh, we would be on top of the group.
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

161 Posts
    We can get out of this group now. Beating the West Indies and Holland can be done.

1,912 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Noelys Guitar View Post
    He said it on Sky and then Atherton repeated it when interviewing Kevin O'Brien ie you chanced your arm. To his credit O'Brien just went along with it.
    It's O'Brien's prerogative to say he was lucky and that he chanced his arm.
    Strauss on the other hand could have acknowledged that it was a magnificent innings by O'Brien, perhaps the greatest in wc history?

I was slighltly behind you guys on cricket world cup and espn site. but i was probably writing something else and then updated with 3 runs, i did however ask would we fall short when it was around 312-7.

Because its easier no because its just the way things pan out, we looked dead on against bangladesh after 5 yet we came wholly unstuck with some very bad individual mistakes.

You had faith in Johnston but he was in and out quicker than a priest at a hoor house in the last game.

Anyway we beat england

3,220 Posts
    Didn't take that from what Strauss had said (though I wasn't listening for the whole thing). His comments are on cricinfo -

Quote Originally Posted by Andrew Strauss
    "We thought we had done a reasonable job with the bat and also with the ball initially. We weren't expecting such an innings from Kevin O'Brien. Our WC dreams are not over yet, we need to set things right soon. Kevin O'Brien played really well and made the most of the powerplay. They deserve the victory, we can't do much but to lick our wounds. We have a couple of niggles, KP and Swann got injured today, hopefully they will be fit for the next game."
    Kevin O'Brien, meanwhile, said
    Quote Originally Posted by Kevin O'Brien
    "Not able to believe it, I am quite speechless. I got a bit of luck and things went my way. If we would have gotten out soon, it would have been a boring game for the supporters and so I decided to chance my arm, it paid off."
    Which seems to imply he said he chanced his arm, not Strauss.

Beat Holland and get a better nett RR than Bangladesh is now the task I think? Anything else is a bonus.
    Last edited by pineapple stu; 02/03/2011 at 4:32 PM.

672 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    Strauss on the other hand could have acknowledged that it was a magnificent innings by O'Brien, perhaps the greatest in wc history?
    Definitely the greatest. Matt Hayden's was the fastest century off 66 balls. O'Brien smashed his from fifty.
    Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?

well it was, according to bbc greatest and fastest http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/cricket/9410478.stm

161 Posts
    I agree. Strauss went from super smarmy to gibberish panic mode with numerous face palms. The"Chancing his arm" comment about sums him up.

161 Posts
    Didn't take that from what Strauss had said (though I wasn't listening for the whole thing). His comments are on cricinfo -

Kevin O'Brien, meanwhile, said

Which seems to imply he said he chanced his arm, not Strauss.

Beat Holland and get a better nett RR than Bangladesh is now the task I think? Anything else is a bonus.
    Strauss clearly said "he was chancing his arm" on Sky Pinapple Stu. I watched it live as did a few others on here. Then Atherton repeated it back to O'Brien when interviewing the MOM.

773 Posts
    Surely there's a joke flying around already about - Johnson , Mooney and O'Brien.......

Work is a real pain in the a$$ on a day like today - what a result!

1,912 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by OwlsFan View Post
    ANy chance some of your guys will now play cricket? We have a nice club in Sandyford
    Strictly here for the bandwagon, only.
    Unashamed cricket bandwagoneer, waving a plastic bat.

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    779 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Real ale Madrid View Post
    Surely there's a joke flying around already about - Johnson , Mooney and O'Brien.......
    Especially since their manager is Flower!
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

1,912 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    You had faith in Johnston but he was in and out quicker than a priest at a hoor house in the last game.
    At half time Ithought we would be lucky to get 100 runs but don´t even dream to throw that quote back at me
    The point, in case you missed it, is that you are chronically tuned into failure and pessimism in general.
    When anybody in their right mind is thinking we can win this, stand tall, we are going to do the most incredible comeback in WC history and against England, you are looking at where can we fail.
    Then when Trent comes in , you think of a situation where he failed, not the the other situations where he stood tall under extreme pressure eg. when he hit the boundary against Pakistan.
    OK?

217 Posts
    Great win, will Christy Moore have a song about this one?!
    https://foot.ie/forums/117-Kerry-FC
    A Championship: 4 years - 8 first teams - 0 financially ruined. First Division '14: 7 first teams.
    Opportunity lost for new clubs/regions to join the LoI family.

773 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by legendz View Post
    Great win, will Christy Moore have a song about this one?!
    Didn't Gift Grub do a cricket version of Joxer Goes to Stuttgart for the last world cup? Something about Roger and the chaps from Malahide? Can't find it for the life of me.

At half time Ithought we would be lucky to get 100 runs but don´t even dream to throw that quote back at me
    The point, in case you missed it, is that you are chronically tuned into failure and pessimism in general.
    When anybody in their right mind is thinking we can win this, stand tall, we are going to do the most incredible comeback in WC history and against England, you are looking at where can we fail.
    Then when Trent comes in , you think of a situation where he failed, not the the other situations where he stood tall under extreme pressure eg. when he hit the boundary against Pakistan.
    OK?
    I asked the question, in a rhetorical sorta way, can we do this do?! like obama to his supporters on the election trail? Can we do this?! Yes we can.

Ill admit i wasn't sure if we could. I'm a realist through experience of getting my hopes up too often, the other was timing as much as anything else, i was a few runs behind ye a good few and the 3 came out as i had originally written something else.

The point was understood geysir, don't worry those high doses of serotonin and rushes of excitement might have got the better of ye. But in general you are probably right!

It might be nice if that happened the odd time the other way around
    Last edited by paul_oshea; 02/03/2011 at 7:48 PM.

125 Posts
    i heard on radio that someone had €25 on ireland to win at 400/1 with PP when england finished scoring.
    lucky fcuker but fortune favours the brave
    Long Live King Kenny

An actuary mate of mine said some in betting exchanges were offering near to 2000/1.....

ya fortune in this case, but how many has that person put on at times like that and told no one - and for obvious reasons :d
    Last edited by paul_oshea; 02/03/2011 at 7:54 PM.

446 Posts
    Well done to all the lads. Especially Kevin O'Brien!
    And to all the optimists on here also....

Amazed & delighted.
    That's the strength of a United team.

Take note other sports....

Page 14 of 50 FirstFirst ... 4121314151624 ... LastLast