Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Linfield pull out of Setanta Cup

Quote Originally Posted by brendy_éire View Post
    If Linfield don't play this match it'll cost us the guts of £50k.
    And that's no in any way they're problem. i would hope your new board wasn't budgetting on playing in a competition they didnt qualify for and therefore wont miss the money they never had.

Come on brendy. Would you play a team that robbed you, liquidated and then reformed have way through the competition?

Setanta have clear rules about players being registered etc so saying they could just parachute people in mid-competition is rubbish. They also can't change theyre rules mid competition as all clubs and Setanta sign participation agreements for a certain competition

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    We all know its not a new club lads. New owners maybe, but thats it. Stupid pedantic point scoring as usual from the Northern clubs

I guess Setanta won't bother with another competition, as its clearly more hassle than its worth to some
    It is an entirely new entity Dodge and it's not pedantry.
    The FAI's own licencing rules are quite clear on it, the whole reason the process is in place is just to avoid scenarios whereby a club can run up a rake of debt, wind up while transferring ownership and start again with a clean slate.

To the supporters etc., it's the same club and that's as it should be, but there has to be a line drawn.
    Cork City: Making 'Dream Team' seem realistic since 2007.

380 Posts
    With the amount of postponed games in NI recently, and the forthcoming fixture congestion faced by Linfield, I suppose this was a relatively easy decision for the club to make. After all winning their domestic league is their primarily goal each season and with the club's last league win coming in November, I think it's fair to say that they need to focus on learning how to win games again and can do without the distraction of a competition that's on its last legs.

Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
    131 Posts
    And let's not forgot about the whole shenanigans with switching the first match of the current competition to Windsor from the Brandy, using the excuse of some minor Orange parade in Castlerock. It meant we didn't get our massive gate, which mightn't have helped much in the big picture, but could have at least paid the players a little bit.
    Who switched the first game?

The draw was made on 28th July 2009

The very same day the fixtures and dates were announced.

http://www.linfieldfc.com/latestnews.asp?nid=4412

I don't know what your talking about ref: "minor orange Parade in Castlerock"?

The annual RBP "Black Saturday" Parade was held on 29th August 2009 in Castlerock.

Linfield FC were scheduled to play St Pats in Dublin on that date - the fixture didn't happen because of St Pat's European commitments at that time.

At no time were Linfield FC scheduled to play Derry City on 29th August 2009.

Did Derry City request at any time that the fixture scheduled for The Brandywell on 27th February 2010 be brought forward to 29th August 2009?
    The Englishmen came over in the year 2005
    But little did they know that we'd planned a wee surprise
    Sir David scored the winner, and Windsor Park went wild
    And this is what we sang...

123 Posts
    who would have though it somebody screwing derry out of money,
    I wish i did not know then what I dont know now

230 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by micls View Post
    Come on brendy. Would you play a team that robbed you, liquidated and then reformed have way through the competition?
    But we're not a team that robbed Linfield. That's Linfield's reason for not playing us. We're a different club.
    Linfields fans are demanding that we pay them for the ticket money from the match at Windsor. At the same time they're saying the won't play us because we're a completely different club.
    They can't have it both ways. If we're a new club then Wellvan owes them the money, not us. If we're (sort of) the same club then we should pay them what we owe and they should play us in Setanta.

Quote Originally Posted by Not Brazil
    Who switched the first game?
    Linfield asked for it to be switched. Not getting into this argument again. I didn't care that the match got moved, it just meant we'd be playing Linfield in February instead. No bother.

131 Posts
    Linfield asked for it to be switched
    Let's be clear about this - are you claiming that Linfield were originally scheduled to play Derry City at the Brandywell on 29th August 2009?

131 Posts
    Linfields fans are demanding that we pay them for the ticket money from the match at Windsor.
    That's shocking.

Quote Originally Posted by Not Brazil View Post
    That's shocking.
    On this point brendy_éire is 100% correct.
    Your issue is with Wellvan, not the new entity, new 'Derry City' don't owe you a penny.

But that's also the reason why the new entity shouldn't be allowed to just slip in and have a shot at potential prize money from a competition that the old club were participating in.
    Cork City: Making 'Dream Team' seem realistic since 2007.

238 Posts
    So, if this game is not to be played and Derry had it factored into their 2010 budget, does this mean they will be cutting Kenny's spending power by around 30K to 40k?

Honestly it should never have come to this and it is proper order for Linfield to object.

The other question is, what if Cork do to the wire, what would happen to their results/place?

1,010 Posts
    They can't have it both ways. If we're a new club then Wellvan owes them the money, not us. If we're (sort of) the same club then we should pay them what we owe and they should play us in Setanta.
    But you can't have it both ways either.

If you're the same club, then pay them what you owe them.

If you're a new club (which you are, it seems) then you have no right to be in the Setanta cup and shouldn't be moaning about losing 50 grand from the game not going ahead.

131 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tiktok View Post
    On this point brendy_éire is 100% correct.
    Your issue is with Wellvan, not the new entity, new 'Derry City' don't owe you a penny.

But that's also the reason why the new entity shouldn't be allowed to just slip in and have a shot at potential prize money from a competition that the old club were participating in.
    Indeed.

Brendy fails to understand that Derry City cannot have it both ways either.

Linfield FC are owed circa £5,000 for tickets sold to Derry City FC for the game at Windsor.

It's a bit rich crying about losing out on £50,000.

257 Posts
    But we're not a team that robbed Linfield. That's Linfield's reason for not playing us. We're a different club.
    Linfields fans are demanding that we pay them for the ticket money from the match at Windsor. At the same time they're saying the won't play us because we're a completely different club.
    It should be for DCFC to decide who they really are.

In which case, they cannot decide to be a "new" club for the purposes of avoiding their (old club's) debts, but still the same "old" club for the purposes of remaining in the Setanta or getting an LOI Licence* etc.

Of course, if they cannot/will not make their choice, one might expect the FAI to make the determination, but curiously enough, that body seems reluctant to decide, too.

Consequently, so long as this issue remains unresolved by them, then they must be vulnerable to other clubs/bodies deciding they've had enough of this carry-on and determining for themselves, which is only what LFC are doing.

It is a bit of a novel experience for me to be sticking up for the Bloos, but in alll honesty, the FAI's representatives on the Setanta Committee messed the Glens around so much last year over the venue for the Final etc, that they have brought the whole competition increasingly into disrepute as far as IL clubs are concerned.

"As ye sow, so shall ye reap"...

* - Or am I still not allowed to mention such matters?

89 Posts
    Love the way the usual heads are claiming this was factored into our 2010 budget.

Wrong, as usual.

However personally I don't think we should be in the competition. The DCFC that participated in the games in late 2009 no longer exists and as such Linfield and Pats should play off for the right to progress.
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

89 Posts
    Linfield FC are owed circa £5,000 for tickets sold to Derry City FC for the game at Windsor.
    Perhaps you might need to direct a few questions to your chairman as to the contact between the two clubs on this very issue.
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

garyderry
    What fixture did Linfield FC not fulfil against Derry City in last years competition?

What fixture against Derry City did they pull out of earlier in this years competition?

I think you'll find that Linfield FC won the inaugural Setanta Cup, reached another final, and only failed to reach the last four on one occassion (last year) - hardly undermining it.

PS. Have you paid the money you stole from us yet?
    Something ive always wondered in the whole ticket fiasco with Linfield,
    If the money was stolen, as claimed by Linfield fans, then why is this an issue
    of unpaid money and not an issue for the PSNI ?

If someone was selling tickets on behalf of Linfield FC in Derry, and failed to pass that money over (which was probably not a small sum as I was at the game and there was a fair few Derry fans), then surely that is straight forward theft? The money never belonged to anyone except Linfield, and it certainly has nothing to do with anyone running the current setup.

Quote Originally Posted by EalingGreen View Post
    It should be for DCFC to decide who they really are.

In which case, they cannot decide to be a "new" club for the purposes of avoiding their (old club's) debts, but still the same "old" club for the purposes of remaining in the Setanta or getting an LOI Licence* etc.

Of course, if they cannot/will not make their choice, one might expect the FAI to make the determination, but curiously enough, that body seems reluctant to decide, too.

Consequently, so long as this issue remains unresolved by them, then they must be vulnerable to other clubs/bodies deciding they've had enough of this carry-on and determining for themselves, which is only what LFC are doing.

It is a bit of a novel experience for me to be sticking up for the Bloos, but in alll honesty, the FAI's representatives on the Setanta Committee messed the Glens around so much last year over the venue for the Final etc, that they have brought the whole competition increasingly into disrepute as far as IL clubs are concerned.

"As ye sow, so shall ye reap"...

* - Or am I still not allowed to mention such matters?

It's a bit of a Novel experience for me to agree with you EG, but you're spot on.

However Linfield cannot have it both ways either. They're saying that Derry Owe them money and they will not play a reformed team. Now we can only be one or the other. Either we are the Derry City who owe them money or we are new.

PS I think we should be turfed out of the competition.

1,529 Posts
    The Caveat is that the FAI seem to have made reaching settlements with Dungannon and Linfield prerequisite to getting a D1 license. It's a very small price to pay to avoid the A division in fairness.

Looks like il never get to see rovers play in the setanta cup i was really looking forward to it
    Ahhh

Quote Originally Posted by Mr A View Post
    The Caveat is that the FAI seem to have made reaching settlements with Dungannon and Linfield prerequisite to getting a D1 license. It's a very small price to pay to avoid the A division in fairness.
    Totally irrelevant in regards to the Setanta.

Plus Dungannon have already been taken care of.

Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast