Thread: Have you got any Irish in you?

No harm whatsoever with using 2nd or 3rd generation players provided they show commitment and want to play for us. Every country does it. Vieiri (raised in Australia), Hargreaves, Emmanuel Olisadebe( Can't even speak polish!), Klose(a pole playing for Germany-bet he's popular in his homeland). The list goes on. We are a very small nation and need these players. The English do it in all the sports they're rubbish at and i take great joy in listing all their foreigners whenever the "how many irishmen are in the irish team" discussion comes up.

It never hurt France, Thuram's from the French island of Guadeloupe in the West Indies. The French side also includes second-generation immigrants of North African or African origin - Marcel Desailly, Patrick Viera, Claude Makelele. French Armenians and even a Kanak from the South Pacific territory of New Caledonia. Zidanes parents are Algerian immigrants, Maybe we might begin to reap the benefits in a few years time with the massive influx of refugees we now have in Ireland.

Originally posted by brendy_éire
    Aye and aye. But the IFA often gets them at U21 level, then they don't change.
    There is a young lad McStay who changed, though it might have been the u19s he was playing for.

Chris Baird was asked to change but stayed.

The NI u21s are all but gone - they didnt enter the euro qualifiers due to funding, but they are playing a friendly against serbia in april.

Originally posted by nifan
    There is a young lad McStay who changed, though it might have been the u19s he was playing for.
    Indeed. Henry McStay from Lurgan was involved with the NI u-17 panel, but IIRC switched allegiances to the Rep before playing a game.

PP
    Semper in faecibus sole profundum variat

Maybe an idea would be that they have to have been raised in Ireland to play, or maybe sit some kind of test. I'm not entirely comfortable with people representing my country who don't know the first thing about it.
    I'd like to know how you propose to provide evidence of their residential address ...Utility bills? As for tests - You might have to knuckle down to the books a bit yourself Brendy, if the following's anything to go by...

Aye, I'm aware that there's been many great players who have played for us and have come from England. But don't ye agree that some of the players who play/have played for Ireland have only done so because they can't get on the England team. Was it Clinton Morrison who, when Amhrán na bhFiann was being played, said something like "I hope ours isn't as crap as this"? No harm to him, he's a decent player and all, but he didn't have a clue what he was at really.
    The incident you describe took place a full thirty years before Clinton won his first Ireland cap. The man in question, who incidently still tells the story suitably redfaced, was that Dublin born magnificent servant of Irish football -Joe Kinnear. He was raised most of his life in London, there was virtually no televised football and he simply didn't know the tune. Fair enough by me.

" I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

Originally posted by Lionel Ritchie
    The incident you describe took place a full thirty years before Clinton won his first Ireland cap. The man in question, who incidently still tells the story suitably redfaced, was that Dublin born magnificent servant of Irish football -Joe Kinnear. He was raised most of his life in London, there was virtually no televised football and he simply didn't know the tune. Fair enough by me.
    I thought that story was apocryphal, and rather than Kinnear, I'd heard it was Terry Mancini who came out with it...

PP
    Semper in faecibus sole profundum variat

Given the week thats in it, I just like to point out that many famous names in Irish history were not born on this island. St Patrick, De Valera, Connelly (James not David), Shane McGowan .....

Originally posted by nifan
    The NI u21s are all but gone - they didnt enter the euro qualifiers due to funding, but they are playing a friendly against serbia in april.
    They entered the Euro 2004 qualifiers, it's the Euro 2008 qualifiers that they're not entering.

Speaking of Plastic Paddies(See Below). Also i believe it was Terry Mancini who made the comment about our national anthem.

Kerr turns down Gallen offer

Brian Kerr has revealed that he received a letter from Queens Park Rangers striker Kevin Gallen notifying the Irish management of his availability for selection under a once-off Fifa rule change - but Kerr confirmed he would not be part of the squad for the forthcoming series of friendlies.

Gallen, who has strong Irish roots, famously turned down the chance to play for the country of his forefathers early in his career in order to throw in his lot with England.

However, his career failed to take off as he had been hoping for and, at 28 and plying his trade in the Second Division with the Loftus Road side, his chance of making the grade in the Three Lions has long since passed him by.

And Kerr hinted that he would not get the opportunity to force his way into the Irish side under the once-off rule change that allows those who have played for one country at up to and including under-21 level to change nationality - once they possessed a dual passport at the time of their original international debut.

"I have looked at several players who have been suggested as being eligible for us but the only one who has made a direct move has been Kevin Gallen who sent me a letter. We returned a letter saying we were well aware of him and I have watched him since then. He’s scoring goals in the Second Division but I’m not convinced that what I saw is better than what we already have."

Bolton Wanderers midfielder Kevin Nolan and Manchester City striker Jonathan Macken are others who may be eligible for a change of nationality, but as yet neither is believed to be close to making the switch.

246 Posts
    Originally posted by Lionel Ritchie
    The incident you describe took place a full thirty years before Clinton won his first Ireland cap. The man in question, who incidently still tells the story suitably redfaced, was that Dublin born magnificent servant of Irish football -Joe Kinnear.
    I was toul that it was Morrison.

Aye, might be difficult to prove where ye were raised, but a test could consist of basic things about Ireland. A kind of citizenship test, to see if the person wanting to represent Ireland actually know something about the country.

Morrison is a gimp.

Among his pearls of wisdom have been -

(on playing gaelic football in training)

I've never seen that game before

(on the Blarney Stone)

It's made of emerald

Who can forget the classic

Come and get me Sven.

People like him should be roundly booed when he dons the green shirt for having the gall to pretend to be Irish.

And the FAI's duplicity in all this should also be questioned.
    Work's Bogey

No what we should be aiming for. I know we've a fair amount of 'foreigners' playing for us at the minute, but I can't say I like having it this way. We should stick to having Irish born players only.
    Brendy hombre, I saw your post while out in Spain, but unfortunately I'd forgotten my password so I couldn't reply. Amigo, you need to broaden your horizons a bit. Travel a bit more, then you might realise that everyone with a manc or cockney accent doesn't dress up like action man and kick in people's front doors for a living.

What made you come out with this well worn old sh*te, FFS, when you see the number of 2G posters on this site? It's bad enough when someone comes out with this cojones from the 26C, but at least you can put it down to freestate indoctrination where someone like you, let alone us plastics should be denied Irish citizenship. But what's your excuse?

There's a simple test. It's called whether you are born in Ireland or have at least one parent or grandparent born in Ireland and therefore are entitled to an Irish passport. Yes we'll get w*nkers like Morrison who think our own ethnic minority are leprechauns. I'm sure he's come out with a few gems about British life too. But when you look at the fiddling and hypocrisy that goes on in every other country - good example is Jacques Chirac claiming that he can understand why Parisians (the French ones that is) hate foreigners because they are smelly and noisy (quoted while he was mayor of Paris circa late 80's/early 90s) and then wraps himself around them when they make up most of the side that wins the World Cup - probably most Irish people, just couldn't give a f*ck as long as Morrison and the like are knocking in the goals.
    This is the cooooooooooooolest footy forum I've ever seen!

Originally posted by Feech
    Morrison is a gimp.

Among his pearls of wisdom have been...Who can forget the classic. Come and get me Sven.
    This line reminds me of Michael Robinson, probably the most unqualified international we ever had (his mum, the poor soul had to get an Irish passport before he could). My first memories of Michael, as he prefers to be called, was seeing his mug in Match Weekly around October 1980 with the 'person most like to meet' (this was usually filled in with the Queen, the pope or some other notable layabout) as 'Ron Greenwood...on business.' So it came as a bit of a surprise to see Michael turn out in the green (well it was white) in Paris the same month.

I met Michael in Iceland in 1986 following our one and only trophy win in senior football and he was all this 'my boy's got a tricolour over his bed; I'm Irish (another Morrison classic); and I'm Irish but not in an IRA way of being Irish, know what I mean.' Lo and behold two years later I see Robinson in a Spanish football mag claiming that his international career was purely a flag of convenience, and that he 'was always English. Let's not forget that.'

I'm reminded of Robinson as I saw him on Spanish TV last week presenting the highly funny 'El Dia Despues' where his droll Leicester comprehension of Spanish is an asset. More credible of my own perception of him is the Spitting Image type puppet (should that be muppet?) of himself that presents its own Sunday show (the previous one I saw portrayed Aznar's successor (Rajoy) as PP leader, as a drunk, while the new Spanish PM is constantly having knives stuck in his back by his own party) although the credibility of the programme is somewhat reduced with Beckham's puppet talking Spanish quite lucidly.

Quote Originally Posted by lopez
    probably most Irish people, just couldn't give a f*ck as long as Morrison and the like are knocking in the goals.
    I give a fcuk.Whats the point in having a great team that doesn't represent the people of the country.Would there be any satisfaction in us buying in a team of Brazilians a la Quatar and winning the World Cup?I think not.
    International football should be an indication of how good a footballing country yous are,employing foreigners defeats the purpose.
    <insert witty remark>

Quote Originally Posted by Beavis
    I give a fcuk.Whats the point in having a great team that doesn't represent the people of the country.Would there be any satisfaction in us buying in a team of Brazilians a la Quatar and winning the World Cup?I think not.
    International football should be an indication of how good a footballing country yous are,employing foreigners defeats the purpose.
    Firstly, Morrison was not bought but qualified through blood. I can't say that I'm fond of people playing for Ireland who don't know anything about the place or have ever visited it. But you cannot compare him with either what is happening in Qatar, nor with Germany picking Gerald Asamoah or Sean Dundee, when citizenship is almost impossible to acquire for people born in Germany who haven't any German ancestry.

Morrison, whether you like it or not is entitled to Irish citizenship as he would of any country on the planet if he were to have a grandparent from there, although this often depends on the sex of the grandparent. It is him and Matt Holland that gets the most stick here on this question, but what do you expect? Holland is half English; Morrison has just one Irish grandparent.

This requirement of citizenship - 'Ius Sanguinis' - is paramount in almost every European country you find regarding nationality. In fact, Ireland is perhaps the only country left that still allows an unconditional 'Ius Soli' (place of birth) throughout the island to attain citizenship, something that by mid 2002 it wanted to change with Dublin's maternity hospitals being overwhelmed by foreigners.
    Quote Originally Posted by davros
    OK,Morrison is an easy target...just a Wandsworth homie after all.....still the fact he wants to play for Ireland,even in one game(& is Eligible!There'll be plenty more 'confusion' in 20 yrs.time when some of the current immigrant population,er shock,choose to pull on a Green shirt!).....makes him more of an Irishman,say than RMK,who had 'better' credentials.......& chose to throw the captaincy of his country,back in the faces of the fans'....being the spolit br*t he is......
    Exactly! Despite his fondness for England, he still turns up for Ireland games. Unlike Judas who gave up his country to play for a foreign side.

[QUOTE=Lopez]Morrison was not bought but qualified through blood[QUOTE]
    Wasn't disputing that mate,I wouldn't question Morrison's entitlement (although I would queston his motives).I just thought you were implying that the irish fans don't care who's in the green as long as were winning which I wouldn't agree...

Anyway on the original topic here are the official FIFA grounds for entitlment(amended earlier this month):

a) the player was born on the territory of the relevant Association;
    b) his biological mother or biological father was born on the territory of the relevant Association;
    c) his grandmother or grandfather was born on the territory of the relevant Association;
    d) he has lived continuously for at least two years on the territory of the relevant Association.

Doesn't mention any alteration to the rule of switching nationality so I presume it's going to remain.
    Last edited by Beavis; 22/03/2004 at 3:47 PM.
    <insert witty remark>

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts

Quote Originally Posted by brendy_éire
    Born in Derry, hence Irish born.

Aye, I'm aware that there's been many great players who have played for us and have come from England. But don't ye agree that some of the players who play/have played for Ireland have only done so because they can't get on the England team. Was it Clinton Morrison who, when Amhrán na bhFiann was being played, said something like "I hope ours isn't as crap as this"? No harm to him, he's a decent player and all, but he didn't have a clue what he was at really.
    Maybe an idea would be that they have to have been raised in Ireland to play, or maybe sit some kind of test. I'm not entirely comfortable with people representing my country who don't know the first thing about it.
    We I must admit when I first heard the Irish National Anthem I wasn't
    too impressed, however it does grow on you.
    Obvioulsy many people born in England or elsewhere will have had
    little chance to hear it.
    After all you only normally hear national anthems before major international
    games and very few Irish games are televised in England.
    You also hear it when say someone wins an Olympic gold medal but how
    often does that happen
    Is it in your record collection bye the way

And as you mention the Irish National Anthem may I remind you
    of a couple of lines from the chorus, as you appear not to know it

"Soldiers are we
    whose lives are pledged to Ireland;
    Some have come
    from a land beyond the wave"
    ---------------------

So no mention of plastic paddys their then.

Quote Originally Posted by tricky_colour
    ...Obvioulsy many people born in England or elsewhere will have had little chance to hear it.
    After all you only normally hear national anthems before major international
    games and very few Irish games are televised in England.:
    It used to be played a lot in Irish pubs late at night after a Chucky Oke. Also places like The National and The Galtymore played it at the end of an evening of dire music by some showband.

Quote Originally Posted by tricky_colour
    And as you mention the Irish National Anthem may I remind you
    of a couple of lines from the chorus, as you appear not to know it

"Soldiers are we
    Some have come
    from a land beyond the wave"
    ---------------------

So no mention of plastic paddys their then.
    Nice one. Brendy gone very quiet recently. He might know Sean MacStiofain though.

Fantastic point about the Anthem. Basically it comes down to making a decision and sticking to it. If someone chose England and one point then they should stick to it. Morrison doesn't want to play for us, he's just too poor for England, wants to further his career.

People say i shouldn;t support Ireland (i'm third generation) but i've always done so and that's it to me - it's that simple either you think of yourself as Irish or not.

By the way, Aiden McGeady at Celtic is one to look out for in the future. Up the Celts on Thursday

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts

Personally I am a second generation Irish, both my
    parents born in Ireland but with me born in England.
    When I was growing up I knew little of Irish football
    which didn't seem to exist to any extent as far as I
    was aware, I only became aware of Irish football in the
    Charlton era and I was hooked forever.
    Untill then I would have probably supported England
    (forgive me) as I didn't realise I had another option
    if I wanted to follow an International football team,
    or at least an international team which would ever
    be mention on television or in a newspaper.
    Now I love to see England get hammered except perhaps
    if they are playing Germany, but I am not even too sure
    about that anymore.

Obviously it is much more complex if you have duel or
    even multiple nationality and for many people the country
    you were born in would be an influential factor.
    Few people are 'throughbred' these days, are they to be
    excluded from international football?

For most people it is their 'long term' nationality
    which matters. I can well understand someone of India
    origin supporting India at cricket against England even
    though they born in England. Infact I would consider the
    a bit odd if they didn't.

Obviously making money is an important factor in everyone
    lives, I make 'plastic paddy' hating Keano *chose* to
    move to England basically through greed even though he
    could have had a decent career in Ireland.

Now any children he has will be 'plastic paddys' unless he
    does the 'honourable thing' and brings them up to
    support England (I am not aware he actually has any
    children though, but I could be wrong, can anyone
    inform me of the situation?).
    Anyway I think Roy is a great player so I do not want
    to knock him, nobody is perfect.

Perhaps they could change the words of the Irish National
    Anthem to apease the 'pureists'

"Soldiers are we
    No Plastic Paddys here
    from a land beyond the waves"

Incidently is the English rughy captain not half Irish?
    ie Lawrence Dallaglio, apparently he was the only
    'Englishman' who played well recently when the 'World
    Champions' got hammered in their own back yard at
    Twickenham by Ireland.
    (I have the entire match saved forever on video by the way)

I guess he would be a 'plastic Tommy'
    "Tupperware Tommy"? (with an Italian name )

Then there is drug smeared tennis player Greg Rudeski.
    (Polish Canadian?).

Mind you at least Dallaglio doesn't have a Bryne 'mullet' lol.

Here is a link about his decision.

http://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/sportt...name_page.html

You might have to cut and paste that I am afraid.

Sorry about the long post!!

I must say I love the new format of the site and I love all these
    faces. Especiall this one
    and this it brightens it up but there seems to be a limit
    to how many you can get in one post.