Thread: Celtic-Barcelona official thread

What connections do you have to Barca? Anyway, I'd much prefer to see a physical team, full of heart and no prima donnas go through.(celtic).
    Even if I did'nt support Celtic I'd still go for the likes of Neil Lennon(how much has he been through?Also former Gaa player) Alan Thompson and Chris Sutton (How have they not been given a chance by England?) Balde(Reminds me of a GAA player with his physical whole hearted approach to the game! even if he does'nt look like one )
    And I way prefer young David Marshall in goals compared to the likes of cocky cheating porto keeper (diving ridiculously in last years UEFA Cup final.). Might not be a top keeper(we dont really know ywt) but its great to see unknown young players get a chance. Plus I think like Lennon, McNamara, Pearson( I wont include Miller!) hes a tim through and through. Great to see fans of clubs playing for those clubs. Just like the great Paul McStay, never left celtic despite being head and shoulders above the rest of the team, and no chance of any silverwear most seasons.

Anyway Xworks what were ya thinking... Eclipse were the ones to go with!
    Anyway for me Celtic like Cork city wont go out of fashion.
    Celtic-the peoples choice.
    Last edited by RebelBhoy; 24/03/2004 at 11:43 AM. Reason: spelling

Quote Originally Posted by Macy
    My only beef with Celtic fans is the fact they think somehow it morally okay to support Celtic and morally wrong to support an English team.
    The team was founded by an Irishman and their main fanbase are Glaswegians of Irish descent. That's a good enough reason for any Irish to give them some support. Sounds like some anti-diaspora prejudice from certain quarters.
    For example, Manchester United have a strong history of Irish players and Irish support and certainly used to be considered a catholic club.
    Supporting a team because of its alleged religious identification. That seems to me based on sectarian bigotry.
    The whole Celtic support here is based on sectarian bigotry, IMO.
    Oh dear!

Not the greatest of Celtic fans here, and me and Davros have had our words on the subject although he always gets me a ticket when there it town, but here's to beating Barstadolona. If only for making the sick minority of lefty, separatist c*nts - who think it's 'cooooool' to interrupt a minutes silence in honour of some murdered fellow 'workers' and wave flags of a political party that does a deal with terrorists not to bomb their 'homeland' - that follow them cry in their collective produced cava, it'll be worth it.
    This is the cooooooooooooolest footy forum I've ever seen!

Quote Originally Posted by davros
    He's just being a sycophantic tw*t!Are you Alan Maybury?
    Eh?

Am I Alan Maybury. No wonder I dont support that team when ye have "fans" who retort like that.

Because I chose to support a Catalan team over a Scottish one?

The Catalans are fighting to protect their language just like us Irish. Irish Language Rights are very important to me. My father used to work with a man from the city. I met him once at a part my parents had. He told me all about going to their matches and how strongly he felt about his language etc. I've been keeping an eye out for them ever since. This was when I was 9 or 10. Seems just as good a reason to support a team as to support Celtic because they were founded by and Irish Christian Brother.
    Oh no not them again

Smile For SOC, up Celtic!

Quote Originally Posted by SÓC
    Grrrrrr.

Ah well at least Barca will hammer them in the Nou Camp.

Barca Abu!
    Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha!

And without Hedman, Douglas, Balde, Valgaeren, Hartson, Maloney........
    And with want away Miller and Head less chicken Sylla!

Overmars running at the Celtic defense should give me a fair few laughs.
    Agathe actually had more pace than him and got a tackle in anytime Overmars looked like doing anything.

No wonder I dont support that team when ye have "fans" who retort like that.
    If and when you hear someone racially abusing someone t the cross does that make you not follow city anymore? What when a few Barca fans interupt a minutes silence for 200 people? Still "keep an eye" on their results?

Com'on Barca! Good old Eugene McCormick or whoever in goals will be in for a treat.
    Dont know bout you but brave young 19year old David Marshall was my man of the match.

We Did It Lads!

HAIL ! HAIL!

WE'LL HOLD THE EURO CUP OVER,
    THE GREEN FOR LEAF CLOVER,
    TOMMOROW JUST YOU WAIT AND SEE!
    THE HOOPS ARE WINNING,
    THE CELTS WILL BE SINGING,

...at risk of being branded a biggot i'm gonna put the last line in brackets,

(TOMMOROW WHEN THE NORTH IS FREE!)

If anyone can get a different last line that you think fits then write off to the CSC's or post it on here

HAIL! HAIL! and here's to the treble..............

Quote Originally Posted by liam88
    HAIL ! HAIL!

WE'LL HOLD THE EURO CUP OVER,
    THE GREEN FOR LEAF CLOVER,
    TOMMOROW JUST YOU WAIT AND SEE!
    THE HOOPS ARE WINNING,
    THE CELTS WILL BE SINGING,

...at risk of being branded a biggot i'm gonna put the last line in brackets,

(TOMMOROW WHEN THE NORTH IS FREE!)

If anyone can get a different last line that you think fits then write off to the CSC's or post it on here

HAIL! HAIL! and here's to the treble..............
    'Tomorrow when the air is smoke free' ?

Respect to Celtic. The representatives of the Dutch nation...sorry, Catalan nation, will now have to concentrate on coming second best in Spain.
    This is the cooooooooooooolest footy forum I've ever seen!

Quote Originally Posted by lopez
    Respect to Celtic. The representatives of the Dutch nation...sorry, Catalan nation, will now have to concentrate on coming second best in Spain.
    Thanks P. You've made your allegiances clear here in the past, but you're man enough to congratulate us when we win. A sporting gentleman.

PP

(PS... my old man claims to like R***ers in order to wind me up. But what would he know? His own cousin was a GAA hurling Allstar in the early 80s, but he dissed him too to wind me up at the time. Enough said. )

PP
    Semper in faecibus sole profundum variat

Hey SÓC... laughing at you son.

PP - Villarreal here we come!

Overmars running at the Celtic defense should give me a fair few laughs.

4-1 to Barca with next years La Liga top scorer bagging one for his future club to at least allow the Celtic fans see Larson score one last time in Europe for them.

Who's the Celtic sub keeper? Eamon Collins?

What was that you were saying!? The best defensive display from any team I've seen for a long time

Hail! Hail!

Eh?
    Because I chose to support a Catalan team over a Scottish one?
    Barcelona also have more Catholic players than Celtic have. Another good reason to support them. Too many Proddies in the Celtic side. Which is why I support Hibs who once had a Catholics only policy that I'm very proud of. I'm too bigoted to support to that bastion of religious tolerance Celtic.

Quote Originally Posted by SOC
    Seems just as good a reason to support a team as to support Celtic because they were founded by an Irish Christian Brother.
    Celtic were actually founded by an Irish MARIST BROTHER, Brother Walfrid from Ballymote, Co Sligo. The Marist Brothers are a French order with no connection to Irish Christian Brothers except that they're both Catholic. There are Marist Brothers in Sligo, Athlone and Dublin. Brother Walfrid lived in Athlone for a while. The Marist Brothers also have strong connections with New Zealand rugby.

250 Posts
    quote of the eveningn newstalk 106 live radio commentary.in injury time at the end of the match and celtic have their first corner.
    commentator "i wonder will marshall come up for it"

Quote Originally Posted by dcnags
    1-nil to Celtic, good goal. Cross from the right by petrov, larsson headed it down to thompson and took it on a half volley from a little over six yards out. It was a great header by larsson, only a pity im witching it in irish. Don't have a clue what they're saying
    A Celtic fan who can't speak Irish. You're a disgrace. I thought all Celtic could converse as Gaelige with half of them having roots in Donegal and Mayo.

My support for Barca has nothing to do with the amount of Catholics on their team. Its all about the spirt of the club.

Ah for last night, bloody disgrace. They couldnt put the ball pasted an unexperienced keeper with all the talent. That missed 1 on 1. My god.

Even my father who has sent about 5 text messges in his life sent me a text last night slagging me.

How did Celtic end up in the UEFA Cup anyway? I though they get Champions League for 2nd in their league?

I hope Celtic go on and win the bloody thing now.
    Oh no not them again

How did Celtic end up in the UEFA Cup anyway? I though they get Champions League for 2nd in their league?

I hope Celtic go on and win the bloody thing now.
    We were in the champions league but came 3rd in our group, this puts you in at (round 3?) of the UEFA cup.

I hope we win the cup to
    HAIL! HAIL!

Quote Originally Posted by liam88
    We were in the champions league but came 3rd in our group, this puts you in at (round 3?) of the UEFA cup.

I hope we win the cup to
    HAIL! HAIL!
    a feicit yea Lyon wasnt it.

Ah well Barca will have to console themselves with winning La Liga. 6points and closing in fast on FC Franco
    Oh no not them again

Quote Originally Posted by Conor74
    Must admit to being slightly disappointed with the result, like to see Barca do well and hope they continue to close the gap on RM. A great club with a great tradition. Thought Celtic did very well last night and certainly adds to MO'N's impressive lists of Euro scalps.
    Yeah Glasgow Celtic were good last night & seems Barca could ahve done with their missing players more than Celtic.

Thought Barca would definitely win & meant weekend accumulator tripped up at first hurdle.

To be fair Celtics defense last night wasnt that great. they would have been hammered if it wasnt for the keeper. He made some great saves.

The only Celtic player to really impress last night, aside from the keeper, was Varga. He was excellent.

Celtic/Newcastle final could be fun.
    If at first you don't succeed, redefine success.

Quote Originally Posted by GWA
    To be fair Celtics defense last night wasnt that great. they would have been hammered if it wasnt for the keeper. He made some great saves.

The only Celtic player to really impress last night, aside from the keeper, was Varga. He was excellent.
    To be fair? You're taking the ****, right? From your above statement, you wouldn't know fair if it bit your nuts off. Our back line were superb, and contributed their share to a superb defensive performance. See your local optician.

Agathe - had Overmars in his pocket. Yer man put one one cross in the entire time he was on the field. Made to look decidedly average.

Kennedy - game of his life. Two saving tackles from the chipmunk otherwise we'd have lost two goals.

McNamara - an ordinary game by his standards. Harried Sergio Garcia out of the game whilst he was on the field.

Thompson - had nothing to do once he'd been deputed to left back, because the afforementioned Garcia couldn't find his way through the midfield.

And I haven't even touched on the superb Lennon, playing in the hole. More tackles than anyone else out there last night, and that's saying something.

We put them out. Eleven against eleven, and we did it. Get over it.

Quote Originally Posted by Dublin Bhoy
    T'was the stuff of legends. Every man who took the field in the Green and White put their heads where others fear to put their feet.

It warmed the heart to see so many Celtic shirts and scarves scattered throughout the Camp Nou. To hear 'The Fields' being sung with such passion at such a vaunted theatre is something that will last long in the memory.

Well done one and all. You did Ireland proud.

HAIL HAIL ! ! !
    Well said Dublin Bhoy! I'm sure that everyone hereabouts would agree with such fine sentiments...!

(sits back into trench, awaiting enemy gunfire...)

PP

Hail!

Quote Originally Posted by Dublin Bhoy
    I'm sure everyone who is proud to be Irish and of the great achievements that the Paradise club have brought to us will agree anyway....
    TO RIGHT! I@M WITH YOU LADS !!!!

HAIL! HAIL!