Thread: Tynan Going ( And who could blame him)

Tynan Going ( And who could blame him)

Reports on the evening Echo tonight say Tynan is going by mutual consent. Its a pity a talanted player can be let slip through the net and im sure given the chance he would have been good for the club and a real crowd pleaser. He was also a local lad which is always nice to see in the team. Its a pity Murphy dosnt like skillful players . I just hope the lad can move on and get over the dissapointment of not sowing us his ability. Im sure he wont have a problem finding another club.

I spoke to two players who told me Murphy and Freyne had a personell vendetta against Tynan( and other players in the squad ) and didnt give him a chance from day one. Bully boy tactics at its worse. Its a pity to see grown men Fuuuck up a young lads career over a short period of time.

Lets hope the same dosnt happen to any up and coming players, maybe Murphy can be sent on a personel and social development course. Also a How to talk intelligently to the press corse would be a good idea going on his recent performances.

Some very good points Cityx. But the thing you have to remember is that, because we are such a fickle bunch, it is not the right time to speak out against Gunther and the Freyne. Now we are winning. Wait until we start losing again, then we can start the campaign.

Everyone knows that Murphy and Freyne and the Cork City Board of Directors are a cowboy outfit. But for as long as we scrape the odd result or two, we'll be happy as the proverbial 'Larry'.

Can't agree with Cityx more.

Well I spose the obvious answer to a problem on th right side of midfield is to get rid of one of the better solutions to it. Gunther likes to play either Flanaghan and Anthony Buckley on the right, when it is patently obvious that both these players are wasted there. Both are central players or indeed can play a good holding job. However, we are here talking about a man who feels that the most natural winger we have should play in the central midfield.

I personally would like to see Tynan have play more games, I think he should be a regular, but thats not to be.
    If at first you don't succeed, redefine success.

well said cityx and others

and to think I was getting a slagging on another thread for saying Gunther was tactically inept.

the releasing of tony tynan is yet another long example to add to the long list.
    life is random

What Do You Know?

Originally posted by James
    well said cityx and others

and to think I was getting a slagging on another thread for saying Gunther was tactically inept.

the releasing of tony tynan is yet another long example to add to the long list.
    James you must have seen Tynan play a handful of games for City, not counting the U21 games. He is not a youth yet he has the physique of a teenager. He showed some nice touches when he came on with 10/15 minutes left in a game but often over ran the ball and lost possession. He wouldn’t last long if started a game and tried to play like that. We don’t need a greedy winger who can lose the ball so easily.
    He had chances to break into the first team but never took them and doesn’t seem to have improved as a player. To be competitive as a club we have to make decisions on players who don’t show signs of living up to their potential otherwise we’ll end up with a huge squad of bit-part players.

While I was enthusiastic about Tynan’s prospects when I first saw him, I’ve seen enough now to quell that enthusiasm!
    I wont shed a tear over Tynan. We need to buy a right-sided midfielder

Re: What Do You Know?

Originally posted by Barry's Tea

. To be competitive as a club we have to make decisions on players who don’t show signs of living up to their potential otherwise we’ll end up with a huge squad of bit-part players.

While I was enthusiastic about Tynan’s prospects when I first saw him, I’ve seen enough now to quell that enthusiasm!
    I wont shed a tear over Tynan. We need to buy a right-sided midfielder
    Listen! We presently have a squad of bit part players , and not one of these players had any individual skill like tynan possed. While you wont shed a tear over tynan leaving you certainly will moan and whinge about the lack of quality players in the squad. While your comments are genuine you do not know a lot about the game. If a player can create enthuasiasm for the supporters then a player has something good to offer and it is up to the coaches to get the best out of a player. Physique has nothing to do with skill , look at Michael owen , Robbie fowler and our very own Dennis Irwin, giants of men wouldnt you agree, but fantastic players, so please talk a bit of sense, and as far as i know Tynan is a teenager, I could be wrong. We had a great prospect in Tynan and my point was that he wasnt nortured or given a chance to play by Murphy once Mountfiled went and that is a fact. He was basically treated like shiiite and that is on good authority within the club. How can a player show theirr potential in a few matches if they are not given a chance , and Tynan wasnt so I cant see how you think he was, as he was out injured for most of last season . Anyway ,I will tell you why. He had no links whatsoever with Corkcity football club other then been poached by city when with his local Club Leeds. He probarly did not have any inside links and that is a strong factor within Cork City.( ie not a cousin of a cousin , Dave Barry Budgies friend etc etc) He didnt go to Murphys school of not so excellence in tramore road where half the team is emerging from, and he made the mistake of going on trial with English clubs, which everyone knows Murphy hates . He feels they are letting Cork City down so he treats them like shiite when they come home to teach them some sort of lesson. Tynan was basically given a raw deal.

He wasnt the first and certainly wont be the last. It has happened many good players in the past. All we can say is best of luck for the future, sorry things didnt work out with City

Ruthless Murphy tells Tynan to leave Leesiders

Cork City boss Liam Murphy has placed Tony Tynan on the transfer list after the 20-year-old failed to make a single appearance for City this season.

Tynan, who was on trial at English Premiership club Leicester City last season, spent time in China with Ireland's universities team at the World Student Games earlier this season, along with City defender Neal Horgan.

Horgan has re-established himself in the Leesiders' back four, but Tynan has found himself out in the cold and Murphy explained in no uncertain terms why he has been placed on the transfer list.

"Tony was away with the Irish universities team and felt he should go straight into our team," the Cork boss claimed. "I didn't - and I think it's better he looks for another club."

Re: Re: What Do You Know?

Originally posted by Cityx
    [B]
    If a player can create enthuasiasm for the supporters then a player has something good to offer and it is up to the coaches to get the best out of a player.
    Cityx, you talk a lot of sense. Would it be out of place for me to suggest that Liam Murphy is ****in useless - at managing players, tactics and PR. Great manager?

Interesting to see that Derek Mountfield is second place in Citynet's poll of best Cork City Manager.

Re: Re: What Do You Know?

While you wont shed a tear over tynan leaving you certainly will moan and whinge about the lack of quality players in the squad.
    I'm not one for moaning or whinging and I think that we have a lot of quality in the squad at the moment.

While your comments are genuine you do not know a lot about the game. If a player can create enthuasiasm for the supporters then a player has something good to offer and it is up to the coaches to get the best out of a player.
    I know a little about the game but I'm not a coach so I leave it to people who do, like Liam Murphy.
    The ball going into the shed creates enthusiasm for the supporters but it hardly means that Murphy is going to ask the players to hoof it in there every other week. You can be sure that if a player wants to learn then he'll learn with City.
    Tynan isn't the brightest crayon in the box and seems to be easily led. It's his own fault that he's not with a certain English Premier Division club now. It's also his own fault that he hasn't developed into a better player. Coming on for 15 minutes and making a few runs down the wing and in around the box doesn't qualify you as a quality player.

Physique has nothing to do with skill , look at Michael owen , Robbie fowler and our very own Dennis Irwin, giants of men wouldnt you agree, but fantastic players, so please talk a bit of sense, and as far as i know Tynan is a teenager, I could be wrong.
    You're comparing comparing Tynan to players from two of the top clubs in Britain! If he had an equal amount of skill to those players you've mentioned he wouldn't be quietly walking away from Cork City. He plays in a league where unfortunately strength is probably more important than skill.

We had a great prospect in Tynan and my point was that he wasnt nortured or given a chance to play by Murphy once Mountfiled went and that is a fact. He was basically treated like shiiite and that is on good authority within the club. How can a player show theirr potential in a few matches if they are not given a chance , and Tynan wasnt so I cant see how you think he was, as he was out injured for most of last season . Anyway ,I will tell you why. He had no links whatsoever with Corkcity football club other then been poached by city when with his local Club Leeds. He probarly did not have any inside links and that is a strong factor within Cork City.( ie not a cousin of a cousin , Dave Barry Budgies friend etc etc) He didnt go to Murphys school of not so excellence in tramore road where half the team is emerging from, and he made the mistake of going on trial with English clubs, which everyone knows Murphy hates . He feels they are letting Cork City down so he treats them like shiite when they come home to teach them some sort of lesson. Tynan was basically given a raw deal.
    A bit of a tale of hardship there!
    You're well off the mark though.
    Tynan was given a chance under Murphy but while he showed flashes of individual skill he never showed that he was a team player. His injury troubles are his own fault. If he hides injuries from the club how can they help him. His ankle has ruled him out of a few games but I haven't heard any news of him getting it sorted out. I don't think Murphy has any ambitions to destroy a player. The sad truth is that many young players think that they're too good for the LOI.
    I firmly believe that the manager at a club has to be a stern boss and the players have to do what he says just like I do what my boss says and pays me to do.

If Tynan is as good as you lot think then he'll go to a better club and make something of himself. If not then you can use your conspiracy theory to blame Cork City for not developing his talent. It's win win for the begrudgers!

Re: Re: Re: What Do You Know?

If Tynan is as good as you lot think then he'll go to a better club and make something of himself. If not then you can use your conspiracy theory to blame Cork City for not developing his talent. It's win win for the begrudgers!
    Tynan IS a good player, and with good management he could have a part to play at Cork City. But you are right in what you say about some young fellas thinking they are too good for the eL. The thing is, usually these type of player end up with nothing. Prime example tonight - T. Molloy.

Re: Re: Re: Re: What Do You Know?

Originally posted by neil
    But you are right in what you say about some young fellas thinking they are too good for the eL. The thing is, usually these type of player end up with nothing. Prime example tonight - T. Molloy.
    T Molloy has a goal against Cork City to his credit.
    This is far more than he deserves and I hope he never scores again. I'm not one to express personal feelings on forums but in the case of Molloy I'll make an exception.

With regard to Tynan, my hope is that Murphy wants to bring players to the club who are better footballers that the likes of Tynan and that surely would be a very positive thing.

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: What Do You Know?

With regard to Tynan, my hope is that Murphy wants to bring players to the club who are better footballers that the likes of Tynan and that surely would be a very positive thing.
    If there was better footballers then Tynan they certainly wouldntt be with Cork City as they do not know how to handle a skillful player. Anyway any player with skill would be only surpressed and does not fit into the current style of play of Cork City.

While I would agreee with Mr. T () in saying Tynan has yet to show that he is good enough, I would have to say that he has in no way shown that he is definitely not good enough. When he first came into the first team set-up last season he showed that he was not afraid to run at defenders, and he caused some of the better ones in the league some trouble, but IMO he also showed an amount of naivety in that he would often undo any good work he had done by giving the ball away. However, this is surely something that can be 'coached' out of him, is it not?

It is also true to say that over the years many players (not just in Cork either) have thought themselves too good for this league and in such cases the opposite is often true - it's not just ability that counts in this league, attitude has alot to do with whether a player is a success or not. But a more worrying trend for a City fan is the way in which some players are frozen out of the club, and I'm not just talking about the few that have suffered this fate this year either. Over the years I think we've all heard rumours and whispers about how such a player had left, not because of a lack of ability, but rather because of a personality clash. And I know it's a cliché but the club must be bigger than any individual (or gang of individuals as some might argue ).

[, but IMO he also showed an amount of naivety in that he would often undo any good work he had done by giving the ball away. However, this is surely something that can be 'coached' out of him, is it not?

Over the years I think we've all heard rumours and whispers about how such a player had left, not because of a lack of ability, but rather because of a personality clash. ). [/B][/QUOTE]

Hold on a second , every skillful player will give away the ball more times then he has success, but its that few times that work which cause the excitement. If you were to hold any player under the microscope you will see this. Do me a favour and the next match you are watching pick out who you think is the most skillful player and you will see what i mean. ( some feedback would be nice) For example 9 times out of 10 Ollie cahill will give the ball away but he will show some ability by being successful on more than one occassion. If you analysis any skillful player they will always give the ball away quite reguarly, that is the nature of their game. If a player can 10/10 times beat a player he would be the only one of his kind a footballing legend! You have to be realistic to this argument, it is simply unjust to think otherwise.

Regarding so called personality clashes I think Cork City has suffered this more than any other team in the LOI, reflecting bad mangerial or man mangement skills on a personell and compassionate level also. I would have to Completely agree with you on that excellent point.

Hold on a second , every skillful player will give away the ball more times then he has success, but its that few times that work which cause the excitement. If you were to hold any player under the microscope you will see this. Do me a favour and the next match you are watching pick out who you think is the most skillful player and you will see what i mean. ( some feedback would be nice) For example 9 times out of 10 Ollie cahill will give the ball away but he will show some ability by being successful on more than one occassion. If you analysis any skillful player they will always give the ball away quite reguarly, that is the nature of their game. If a player can 10/10 times beat a player he would be the only one of his kind a footballing legend! You have to be realistic to this argument, it is simply unjust to think otherwise.
    this is my point! some people are saying he always gave the ball away and whatever, but i was trying to make the point that, while he did give it away alot, surely he would learn (or could be taught) when to hold onto the ball, when to pass, when to take on a player, when not to, when to just take the ball into the corner, or whatever

Originally posted by joe

Yeah Joe ,wasnt getting heavy with you. On another note its Barrys tea who seems to have a lot of inside information, gets fairly annoyed when you have a pop at the management. If I was a betting man i would say hes involved in the club in some way or is very close to somone who is. Seems to know alot of facts for a man who lives in Dublin. Who are you Barrys Tea, reveal your true identity.

another thing there lads is that tynan used to play for mayfield utd not leeds as 1 of u suggested,

i should know as i played on the same team

i spoke to him recently and he told me that he was goin over to wrexham where his friend davey warren plays for them

davey warren also played for mayfield and if he ever comes back from england ccfc MUST sign him up,
    if u want an exciting player THERES ur man

Barry's Tea Revealled

On another note its Barrys tea who seems to have a lot of inside information, gets fairly annoyed when you have a pop at the management. If I was a betting man i would say hes involved in the club in some way or is very close to somone who is. Seems to know alot of facts for a man who lives in Dublin. Who are you Barrys Tea, reveal your true identity.
    If you read the programme you'd know who I am!

I've made this point before, only 90 minutes of football is played on the field. Most of the game involves the training ground and the manager sees a hell of a lot more of a player than the lads in the shed.

It's like the teacher telling the parents that their son is struggling with maths to which the parents reply, "Our son was great at maths in national school so you must be a crap teacher!, he does his homework every night and studies really hard."

Chances are that the teacher knows the student better than the parents.
    Sorry if that's confusing.

One Question

Originally posted by yan
    Tynan used to play for mayfield utd not leeds as 1 of u suggested,

i should know as i played on the same team
    How old is he?

Re: Barry's Tea Revealled

If you read the programme you'd know who I am!

I've made this point before, only 90 minutes of football is played on the field. Most of the game involves the training ground and the manager sees a hell of a lot more of a player than the lads in the shed.

Still dont know, enligthen us

It just seems you got a grudge against tynan. You knew alot about injurys etc which only someone with inside info would know. I just wonder how genuine you are in your comments. You seem to have a personal vendetta against the lad.

What i would finally say on the matter is that we lost a great player and I wish him the best in the future.

Seeing you know a lot about what happens on the training ground and behind closed doors maybe can you can fill us in on any further developments within the team. What happened last week in training etc. Info would be greatly appreciated.