Letter rip.
He's a box-to-box type. Strikes always hitting the post. He's been given plenty of cards for stamping. Yadda, yadda, yadda...
Letter rip.
fair play on the call up, never like to see a player injured and it's good inspiration to others with similar setbacks in their career early. Credit to him the way he worked hard to get back.
I'm sure trap will rate him highly, strong, fit, decent tackler and very committed. Should keep his place if he is getting some game time.
Unfortunately it seems he had a poor game today and Sunderland fans were very unimpressed with what they saw.
Presumably he'll get a start against Oman, can't see him having any involvement in the qualifier being behind 3 other CM's.
Edit: Just remembered Green is out too, why are we only bringing 3 CM's?
Paul Green might be absent but his 'mentalitee' will still be there harrying and acting like an extra man.
Meyler's introduction to the team
Obviously everyone wants to have a word with the new call-up and obviously the rte.ie LOI football show in particular wanted an interview with Meyler, who is a former LOI player, obviously. Interviewed on MNS last night. About 10 -15 mins in. Obviously.
http://www.rte.ie/player/#!v=10046003
Martin O'Neill reveals he's turned down loan offers for Meyler because he wants to keep him around:
Martin O'Neill has admitted he is now keen to keep David Meyler around after admitting he would loan the midfielder out in pre-season.
Meyler, 23, who won his first senior Ireland cap in the Republic's 4-1 win over Oman in midweek, has forced his way into O'Neill's thinking after looking destined for the Stadium of Light exit.
The central midfielder recovered from cruciate ligament damage towards the end of 2011 and was in and around the matchday squad for the remainder of the 2011/12 campaign.
However with a number of senior central midfield options available to O'Neill, the gaffer admitted that he would look to move the midfielder out on loan in order to get game time.
Since then though Meyler has featured prominently during pre-season and came on for the injured Lee Cattermole at Swansea City two Saturdays ago.
Speaking to The Sunderland Echo , O'Neill revealed he has since turned down loan offers for Meyler:
"A number of teams have asked me about him and I mentioned it to him, but ideally I would like him to play here,' confirmed O'Neill.
"At one stage he was almost going out on emergency loan where we would get him back after 28 days.'
The boss continued:
"He wouldn`t be averse to doing anything just to get games and if it`s games he needs in a while, we will see.
"But at the moment we need him around.'
Meyler has made just 14 Premier League starts for the Black Cats since moving to Sunderland in 2008 from his native Ireland, thanks largely to serious injuries suffered during his time here.
Read more: http://www.sunderland.vitalfootball....#ixzz26SqHQzEh
With Cattermole getting himself a holiday and O'Neill not very happy, is this the opportunity that Meyler needs to establish himself in the team?
I'd say Gardner is still ahead of him. It depends on if O'Neill would be willing to put O'Shea back out at full back or if he wants to persist with him in the centre.
signed for Hull City on loan until January 1st: http://www.hullcityafc.net/news/arti...an-441635.aspx
He was linked with Hull earlier in the year and O'Neill turned it down as he was needed for cover. Steve Bruce has always been a big fan. I can definitely see him playing for Sunderland again - he is well capable of making that side. As it happens he might be better off at Hull next year if they continue this run of form.
Sunderland are having a shocking run. I'd have to guess O Neill has very little mass on him given the sides run of late, yet he still wasn't willing to give him a go. If he is "well capable" of making that side why hasn't he??
Sunderland's midfield is absolutely terrible, I'll grand you that, but I am sure they will look to strengthen this area in January. This will move Meyler further down the pecking order unless they offload some of the poor players that are already rated ahead of him.
I'd back him to prove O'Neill wrong, I think he is picking worse at present but I am aware there may be green tinted spectacles involved there. He does need to be playing somewhere now though, again like Best, Brady, Andrews, it's a pity they have to drop a level. It is a bit of a mark against him that he wasn't deemed worth a run in the middle for Sunderland at present, it suggests O'Neil doesn't rate him or his style of play doesn't fit what he is doing there.
So your basically agreeing with me when i said he needs to play well at hull? To say he's well capable is pure speculation because unless you have watched them training you simply couldn't know due to lack of game time over the last 3 years and especially since injury. Frankly judging him on games against the like Oman is a no go for me.
No, I'm judging him based on his obvious ability from all the games I've seen him in over the years and the fact the alternatives aren't great players. I like Larsson but he looks very uncomfortable in the centre, Cattermole has never performed to his ability and Gardner is a Match of the Day player. It's strange he hasn't at least tried Meyler because they lack a proper athlete in the middle.