Thread: Squad 2010

Darren Kelly is a great signing, one of the best keepers we ever had.

Anymore Kildare players going to Monaghan?

Hi Guys.

Just wondering do ye have any info on Paul Whelan who has been linked with us - Sligo Rovers.

Loads of info on him. A truely talented young lad who has been with us since he was a child and lives just up the road from United's ground. A legend who made the first team at 16 or 17 years of age and celebrated 100 games for Mons at the start of last season.

Will be sadly missed by us if he moves on but our pride in him and what he should achieve will help heal that wound.

We love you Whelo we do!

Quote Originally Posted by Magicme View Post
    Loads of info on him. A truely talented young lad who has been with us since he was a child and lives just up the road from United's ground. A legend who made the first team at 16 or 17 years of age and celebrated 100 games for Mons at the start of last season.

Will be sadly missed by us if he moves on but our pride in him and what he should achieve will help heal that wound.

We love you Whelo we do!
    Cheers Magicme.

That's some reference. Sounds like if he does come to us our gates will receive a significant boost from Monaghan United fans.

Quote Originally Posted by Redie View Post
    Cheers Magicme.

That's some reference. Sounds like if he does come to us our gates will receive a significant boost from Monaghan United fans.
    Ha ha I doubt it! We love him but not enough to travel to Sligo to watch him especially when we cant get our fans to come out to our games!!! No he is a genuinely good lad and a great footballer. An asset to any club.

Mons confirm release of Whelan www.monaghanunited.com

22 Posts
    Disappointed that Whelo and Ronan McGann have left. That's three less locals in the first-team squad this season. Has Whelo signed for Sligo?

Quote Originally Posted by monsexile View Post
    Disappointed that Whelo and Ronan McGann have left. That's three less locals in the first-team squad this season. Has Whelo signed for Sligo?
    So are we exile! Good news though is that there are some of the local young lads who will really be pushing for a place this season.

No word on Whelo yet but I believe they think he is very good so hopefully soon, if not, am sure he will get someone else quickly as he is such an excellent player.

535 Posts
    Its not confirmed as of yet that David freeman is joining us.. He played for us in two preseason friendlies but hasnt played the last two... The club themselves were very surprised when I broke the news to them at the club dinner dance.. so I wonder has there being a heave behind the scenes telling him that he is not welcome to come back as I heard the mutterings last nite in Incicore..

Disappointed that Whelan is gone. The more local lads with a bit of quality on the monaghan team the better.
    Supporters get more attached to the team if local lads make up good numbers..

I know but you cant hold a good guy like Whelo back. He deserves a chance to go get some premier football. Totally agree though that its disappointing to lose him.

Hows Philly Hughes and McKevitt getting on?
    Ian Fosters Black & White army

The Home of football is oriel!

Hughes has been fantastic like I thought he would be. He was out injured there for a little while but he was great again Friday night (we beat Waterford United 1-0 did ya hear??? ) and even scored a hatrick against Tullamore Town to start putting his tally together. McKevitt is grand, just doesn't get much game as we are lucky to have some other great players in his position.

2,612 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Magicme View Post
    OUT

Aaron McCarey - Wolverhampton Wanderers
    MM - thought you might be interested. Aaron came on for the last 20 minutes in the friendly against Bohs today.

Yeah heard that was gonna happen. Delighted for him. How did he get on?

2,612 Posts
    not sure as i wasnt at it and details are a bit scarce. But he didnt concede anyway!!

462 Posts
    Another goalkeeper, Austin O'Neill, is he still with the club ?

462 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TheBoss View Post
    Another goalkeeper, Austin O'Neill, is he still with the club ?
    Also, what about Darren Kelly ?
    Last edited by TheBoss; 03/08/2010 at 11:42 PM.

Sorry both Darren and Austin left not long after start of season.

21. Thanks From: