Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Town announces new manager

622 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gufc2000 View Post
    All this thing about Galway fans being fickle is rubbish. No team likes losing their manager particularly to their rivals.

Tony Cousins had to go. He played horrible football, and had a huge budget, a big source of our crippling debts today. He also said that every player had to move to Galway, when he was going remaining in dublin himself. Most of the players were unhappy with this. It proved out to be a masterstroke replacing him with Kenna

The hatred towards Kenna was because he committed himself for the 2009 season, and got on the payroll for a month. He then walked when Pats job came around

The so called hatred towards Foster is not the opinion of all Galway fans. We are dissappointed that he has gone to Dundalk, but he hadn't a choice given the conditions he had to work in last year. Most of the hatred has materialised as a result of whats came out in the papers about arguements in the dressing room. I for one am thankful for Foster's work last year, he did a good job on minimal resources.

Now getting back on topic, Cousins should prove a good appointment for ye. A major hindrance for us in his spell was that not too many players were willing to come to Galway, whereas for ye, ye are alot closer.
    much closer to nothing the middle of no-where..........

1,104 Posts
    It's closer to Dublin which is what he meant.

122 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    Sorry didn't make myself clear, thanks

622 Posts
    yeah i knew that mate i'm hardly that thick give me some credit.. i was just making the point that longford is a dead zone i cant really think of any reason other than proximity to family or need of a job that would make this place an appealing proposition to live

Quote Originally Posted by Keen2win View Post
    How do you remember that?

I am a lot older than you think and have a memory of these sort of things!!

41 Posts
    The fact we have a manager who's last acheivement was getting a team relegated out of the league doesnt fill me with confidence. I'd rather have taken an unproven manager over someone who's been proven to be sh1te.

622 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RiffRaff View Post
    The fact we have a manager who's last acheivement was getting a team relegated out of the league doesnt fill me with confidence. I'd rather have taken an unproven manager over someone who's been proven to be sh1te.
    i just pray and hope he has learnt from his mistakes and is out to prove a point.
    There is not many managers out there that hav'nt done atleast 1 bad job

1,104 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Acornvilla View Post
    yeah i knew that mate i'm hardly that thick give me some credit.. i was just making the point that longford is a dead zone i cant really think of any reason other than proximity to family or need of a job that would make this place an appealing proposition to live
    True enough but nobody would expect the players or managers to be based in Longford as they'll be part time. A lot of players are Dublin based and Longford is handy enough really.

Money.
    I just sit down at the typewriter & start hittin the keys, just hittin the keys. Getting them in the right order though thats the trick, thats the trick.

Garth Merenghi

Gareth Cronin got Waterford relegated too before he came to us, so whats the difference in his appointment and cousins??
    None as far as I can see.
    If god wanted us to play football in the clouds he would have put grass up there!

122 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Tallanted View Post
    Gareth Cronin got Waterford relegated too before he came to us, so whats the difference in his appointment and cousins??
    None as far as I can see.
    Cousins got Kildare relegated into the A Championship, Cronin was in the Premier with Waterford.

Anyways, I don't think Cousins' stint with Kildare has a huge impact. He was only there for four games, and they had feck all points, and a squad that was clearly low on confidence and morale. If he had been there all year, I'd say something.

I wouldnt read anthin into his stint with kildare, not his squad he was only there a few games he wasnt gonna do miracles, I think he deserves a fair go with us and pass judgement mid season when he has a squad and we have played, he doesnt have much to do to improve on the last few managers we have had, 8th place is improvement on this season
    If god wanted us to play football in the clouds he would have put grass up there!

Best of luck to all in Longford with Tony Cousins & best of luck to the man himself.

I wonder did he talk to Goughie before taking the job?

He brought Jay O'Shea to Galway & Colin James did great when he left us for Fingal via Longford.

There was so much bile spewed in Cousins' direction when he got the boot. I thought it was in poor taste. I think everyone in Galway saw us heading through the trap door & big money was lashed out to players on Tony's say so. (It seems so long ago but this was pre-recession building boom Galway).
    Trust broke down & in fairness, the football on offer was a world away from what Foster gave us last season.

But the best of luck to all concerned
    Less Whining
    Less Moaning

What are YOU doing to make it better?

1,104 Posts
    Have some idea that gough and cousins fell out. Could be wrong on that. Anyhow we all seem prepared to give him a shot so good luck to him.

I'm not sure they necessarily are, but it'd be harsh to blame him for financial budgets. Managers will only work with the budgets they are given, and iirc most people could see Galway going full time was a nonsense, regardless of the results. Handy for the people in charge that it's the managers that get it in the neck.

In the heights of elation since 7.18pm 14/11/10
    Have some idea that gough and cousins fell out. Could be wrong on that. Anyhow we all seem prepared to give him a shot so good luck to him.
    Yep, they didnt have any falling out, but both were in for the job when Gough got it. Hope ye do something next season, always liked the trip to Flancare. Best of luck.

In the heights of elation since 7.18pm 14/11/10
    Heard that training will be held in Dublin, any truth in that?

Quote Originally Posted by Redkenrover View Post
    thats news to me.. Where did you hear this redkenrover?

622 Posts
    more importantly have we any players???

Quote Originally Posted by Redkenrover View Post
    Haven't heard one way or the other, but other managers have done that. I wouldn't be that bothered to be honest as most of the players likely to be dublin based, once it was near enough cost neutral.

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast