Although I will say that I'd be annoyed if I were a Wolves supporter who had travelled to Manchester the ones calling for his head are spouting rubbish
Are you being serious????? Please tell me that your not !!!
Mick made the right call - he knows his squads limitations and he knows he has to try and win the games against teams at their level. Even with a full strength side they would have struggled against united....if they beat burnley at the w/e he will be a hero again.
Its "fans" like the above that p*ss me off - were they saying the same things when he got them promoted or when he took over them and they were one of the favourites to be relegated from the championship and he turned them around..something martin o'neill called "THE MANAGERIAL FEAT OF THAT SEASON".
The man is an absolute legend - yes he makes mistakes, but last nite was not one of them. He has undoubtely proved himself to be a very good manager and i have no doubt with mick at the helm they will stay up this season. He may be blunt but he is honest and committed and is a very good man manager and does extremely well when given squads with limitations.
Fair Play Mick ....Keep up the Great Work
Although I will say that I'd be annoyed if I were a Wolves supporter who had travelled to Manchester the ones calling for his head are spouting rubbish
The point of playing in the EPL for a club like Wolves is to put yourself in a position where you will continue to play in the EPL, not so you can chat about how lovely Anfield is when you're back in the Championship the following season.
Anyway, in case you hadn't noticed, Wolves did actually play against Manchester United last night.
Cork City: Making 'Dream Team' seem realistic since 2007.
United had a poor enough team out as well - he may have got somehting from the game if he had hiss strongest selection start
Spot on....
he's picking his battles in order to get the best chance of points and survival, no point sending his first team out and watch them get turned over by Utd and have morale damaged after a few decent results.
Best to rest them and try to get points off Burnley, Alex Ferguson, Rafa Benitez and Arsene Wenger wouldn't crib about resting players until priority games... but if Mick does it he's worse than Hitler... get a life the lot of you!!!! that's smart management what he did... tough on the Wolves fans who travelled but if they have 3 more points come 4.45 on Saturday there won't be a word about this....
innit though??
Sorry .. but apart from the obvious attempt to wind people up .. saipan etc ... why is this in the Ireland forum?
Mick being asked by the Premier League Powers That Be to explain his team selection
I reckon he should tell them "it's my team, I'll pick whoever I want, and while you're at it, I'm not the first person to do it"
United VS Arsenal 16-05-2009
Van der Sar ,O'Shea ,Vidic ,Jonny Evans ,Evra ,Ronaldo ,Fletcher ,Carrick ,Giggs ,Rooney (Anderson ,89 ) ,Tevez (Park ,67)
Subs not used: Kuszczak,Neville,Berbatov,Scholes,Rafael Da Silva,
United VS Hull 24-05-2009
Kuszczak ,Rafael Da Silva (Eckersley ,60 ) ,Neville ,Brown ,de Laet (Possebon ,79 ) ,Nani ,Fletcher ,Gibson ,Welbeck (Tosic ,87 ) ,Martin ,Macheda
Subs not used Amos,Corry Evans,Drinkwater,James,
<EDIT>
Where were the same fans calling for his head last weekend after they won 2 games back to back in the Premiership for the first time in an age?
However, if they don't win against Burnley at home this weekend, it really will increase the pressure on him
It's not that mad anymore, even compared to what I remember. It used to be Christmas Day and St Stephens Day fixtures (local games, reversed on the next day). It does go back to when industry shut up shop, when the UK had industry and when football was a working class sport.
Like I said earlier, it's a manager’s prerogative, but I still don't get the logic really. The big four are playing midweek most weeks, whilst the Wolves wouldn't, and it's a bit disingenuous to compare a United/ Arsenal/ Chelsea weakened team to the wolves one imo.
For the record, it's not a "Saipan" issue for me - the Managers of the weaker teams that don't win much that do it in the UEFA Cup, League Cup and the FA Cup are just as feckin stupid in my opinion.
McCarthy knows there is no glory in relegation. He's experienced with Sunderland and will implement the best plan to ensure Wolves avoid the same fate.
Didn't he bring the already relegated Sunderland to Old Trafford a few years ago and get a big result to effectively kill off Utd in the league? Sunderland still went down.
Quoting years at random since 1975
An Eleven made up of Wolves' first team squad did compete with Manchester United.
A game of football still took place, a sporting event still happened.
Individual players might get the hump but they're not more important than Wolves' survival in the EPL. By sending a weaker team out, McCarthy may well guarantee that Wolves will continue to compette at this level next season.
And why in the name of God am I still posting in this thread?
Cork City: Making 'Dream Team' seem realistic since 2007.
Big 6 pointer vs Burnley at the weekend. More important to Wolves than trying to burst their b0llocks beating Man United having already done it 3 days previous vs Spurs.
LESS OF THE BULL NOW!