Thread: Rumblings

Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    He had a few discussions with the club apparently and they weren't in agreement on a few things. One of the issues, again this is what I was told, was that he had to do his UEFA A licence course in order to be allowed to manage next season under league rules he currently only has a B Licence. So now they're on the look out for a manager with an A Licence. He did a decent job whilst here so good luck to him in whatever he does next.

cheers longfordian.. I am sure it wasnt an easy decision for Gareth .. Hes strongly linked with the Shelbourne no two job ...

Posting as a town fan, it hurts me to see whats going on... Thats why I had to break the news to ye as ye are genuine fans like myself who care greatly about the club and are concerned about the way the club is going..I was concerned that there was no news coming out of the club over the last few weeks and I am pretty sure a lot of people are thinking the same way as me..
    Athlone are way ahead of us in preseason , I bet you they have a decent budget sorted out.. They have also made two great signings.. There is a depression in this forum from being town fans which will take a long time to sort out..

For the clubs sake I hope they are wise in choosing a new manager and get their act together off the field otherwise the bad feelings will continue.. I have no regrets about breaking the news on line as the true fan had a right to know. I have made wonderful friends with people on this forum and they deserve a voicepiece in whats happening..

Now I better watch my back..

1,104 Posts
    Don't be getting all depressed as a knee jerk reaction to this news. We'll probably have broken even or very near by the end of the year from what I've heard so I don't see why you say the club is in a mess off the field. That's more than a lot of other clubs will do. I'll agree that we need the right manager to come in quickly but I'm sure they have candidates in mind and let's face it they should be getting better and better at the interview process by now!. There'll be loads of players to be had pre-season doesn't start for two months or so. Relax and eat some mince pies or something . No point fretting. Nothing will be solved on here.
    Last edited by Longfordian; 11/12/2009 at 7:53 PM.

as said above off the field we are healthier than ever which is the most important thing. Theres people in the club voluntarily bendin over backwards to keep the club runnin and they are doin a smashin job. Certain people just like to bash the club at any chance given but they arent the fans we need. He cronin doesnt have an A license then thats good enough reason for him not to be stayin on. There are plenty of people in ireland with that qualification that could do a decent job. We dont need a household name we need someone who is enthusiastic about the club and the future. This could be a positive turning point for the club on and off the field.
    If god wanted us to play football in the clouds he would have put grass up there!

Smile

thats a fair enough point lads.. maybe there will be some gold at the end of this fog we are in at the moment..

44 Posts

Thats why I had to break the news to ye as ye are genuine fans like myself who care greatly about the club and are concerned about the way the club is going..I was concerned that there was no news coming out of the club over the last few weeks and I am pretty sure a lot of people are thinking the same way as me..
    Athlone are way ahead of us in preseason , I bet you they have a decent budget sorted out .. They have also made two great signings.. There is a depression in this forum from being town fans which will take a long time to sort out..

For the clubs sake I hope they are wise in choosing a new manager and get their act together off the field otherwise the bad feelings will continue.. I have no regrets about breaking the news on line as the true fan had a right to know. I have made wonderful friends with people on this forum and they deserve a voicepiece in whats happening..

Now I better watch my back ..
    Roll eyes...

622 Posts
    Any news on applicants for the job?

theres talk in sligo that des cawley is applying,he has his A licence. not much cash in longford these days,so its more than likely gonna be a rookie. philip coffey and ski mcgee are the other names ive heard through the grapevine.....god help de town.

Your just hearin the same names that went for it when alan gough got it too, im expectin it to be another surprise appointment that wont have been mentioned beforehand
    If god wanted us to play football in the clouds he would have put grass up there!

622 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Tallanted View Post
    Your just hearin the same names that went for it when alan gough got it too, im expectin it to be another surprise appointment that wont have been mentioned beforehand
    alan shearer.
    Joe kinnear?
    Hmm many former players is with a shout or could we get a decent old pro to be player manager??

The same names are always mentioned and none of them ever get it, thats all im sayin

Quote Originally Posted by Tallanted View Post
    The same names are always mentioned and none of them ever get it, thats all im sayin
    Ye kept that quiet..when did Alan Shearer and Joe Kinnear apply previously??
    Why are people who "need no introduction" always introduced?

ya thats true. maybe sean connor mite be your knight in shinin armour.

33 Posts
    Its the same names that were looked over the last time so I cant see us returning to them please God, they didn't get the job for a reason.

Now as to potential candidates what A league/U-20 managers have been doing well and might be seeking their first break into LOI Management ?

We need to think outside the box and the usual suspects. There is no money or feck all of it anyway to build a squad, its a win-win for an ambitious manager, do well and its shows he can get the most out the players, good coach etc.

I think, what we are crying out for is a Stephen Kenny Mk II unfortunately they dont grow on trees. Also I hope the club avoid paying wages for more Athlone rejects for the coming season.

Onwards and upwards sure we cant go lower !!!!

i heard too from someone that Cawley had thrown hit his hat into the ring.. I think Longfordian mentioned him earlier I would give Liam Kelly a chance.. Hes played for us before, managed in the Leinster Senior League,is hungry to succeed what more can you want?

Hopefully Kelly doesnt get it, not settin glebe north a light by all accounts

What about a Female coach? That would be nice & something a little different.
    Maybe an animal?? A Horse for example. Would look great on a sideline & if given backchat or didnt like an interviewer then its up with the hind legs & off with a face.
    I just sit down at the typewriter & start hittin the keys, just hittin the keys. Getting them in the right order though thats the trick, thats the trick.

Garth Merenghi

Isn't there enough long faces already?

44 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Macy View Post
    Isn't there enough long faces already?
    Sexist..

what about Philip Coffey? I am surprised he hasnt being mentioned yet. He did an excellent job when he was caretaker we were unbeaten in two games under him. He has being with the club twice in different spells.. He is a local manfrom up the road in Athlone /Roscommon .Hes well liked by the players ..plus as well he would be able to keep the majority of the squad from last season..I think it would be an excellent move to go local this time.The club would be saving themselves money too..He has a keen eye on the local scene too..

Interesting fact who was the last town manager to be from the midlands? answers by post please...
    Last edited by Martinho II; 15/12/2009 at 5:49 PM. Reason: worry

22 Posts
    what about Philip Coffey? I am surprised he hasnt being mentioned yet. He did an excellent job when he was caretaker we were unbeaten in two games under him. He has being with the club twice in different spells.. He is a local manfrom up the road in Athlone /Roscommon .Hes well liked by the players ..plus as well he would be able to keep the majority of the squad from last season..I think it would be an excellent move to go local this time.The club would be saving themselves money too..He has a keen eye on the local scene too..

Interesting fact who was the last town manager to be from the midlands? answers by post please...
    Mickey O'Connor?
    Marco Tardelli's red and black,
    Red and black, red and black.
    Marco Tardelli's red and black,
    He hates Athlone.