Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Sinn Féin leadership and the IRA

Originally posted by SÓC
    Ah Im not denying that more FF people have been caught, so far at least.
    So have you anything in reserve for that accusation? You're clearly implying that other parties have as many corrupt members as FF

Originally posted by Macy
    So have you anything in reserve for that accusation? You're clearly implying that other parties have as many corrupt members as FF
    Lets just say if the Irish Press was around there would be more scéals doing the rounds
    Oh no not them again

75 Posts
    Originally posted by SÓC
    Lets just say if the Irish Press was around there would be more scéals doing the rounds
    Surely if the Press was still around they'd have switched allegiance to the only remaining Republican party?

No One Likes Us, We Don't Care

Originally posted by SÓC
    It could be argued that the corruption started with the setting up of the Irish Press...

Originally posted by SÓC
    Ah Im not denying that more FF people have been caught, so far at least.

It would surprise me if they didnt have something solid that they were keeping in reserve or bluffing. Let SF stew. Adams has already made himself look like a fool. Either way its a very risky road to go down.
    1. "more FF people " ??? - 2 people from FG, NO ONE from any other party.
    2. "It would surprise me if they didnt have something solid that they were keeping in reserve"
    Are you serious?
    A government keeps serious criminal charges in "reserve"..
    For what?
    So that they can be used when they feel the time is right?
    As some sort of leverage?
    Is this not akin to some sort of blackmail?....A serious criminal activity?
    Are we a democracy or not?

Arrest Adams, McGuinness, Ferris and everyone/anyone else that they are accusing and bring charges against them.
    Otherwise shut up.

Originally posted by patsh

Arrest Adams, McGuinness, Ferris and everyone/anyone else that they are accusing and bring charges against them.
    Otherwise shut up.
    McGuinness and Ferris have admitted being in the IRA - no one needs to accuse them.

Adams is making a fool of himself.

Personally i dont like murderers of my fellow countrymen like these walking around. Not only murderes but drug-dealers, punishment beaters and god knows what else.

When I say something in reserve I mean perhaps the Gardaí are close to making a breakthrough.

Or even something which would not lead to criminal charges but leave SF comprimised. Politically they already have made Adams look very stupid.
    Oh no not them again

226 Posts
    Originally posted by Paddy Ramone
    Well actually the Nazi's economic poliies would have more in common with the left than the extreme right wing laissez faire policies of the PD's. The Nazi party were against transnational corporate powers and extreme nationalist while the PD's support globalisation and Americanization and are anti-Nationalist.
    The Nazis didn't have a lot in common with the left really. While some policies, such their public work schemes and benefits for workers may seem all well and good to socialists, it must be remembered that the Nazis also banned trade unions and strikes. They also threw many trade union leaders and socialists into prison without trial.

Originally posted by eoinh
    My, it only takes a few years for most terrorism to stop and peoples memories fade.
    Terrorism? Aye, I suppose someone had to use the word. Careful how you use it, eoinh. According to you then, it was 'terrorism' that created the Free State.

I would never vote FF in a million years but to label it as like the Nazi party is utter bumkin.
    But they have similar economic policies to that of the Nazis. That can't be disputed.

DO SOME RESEARCH OR READ A BOOK. THE NAZIS WERE THE MOST EVIL IDEA EVER TO BE FOSTERED ON THE WORLD. SO MANY PEOPLE SUFFERED THAT ITS ALMOST UNIMAGINABLE.
    The Nazis may have got a few of their policies wrong, such as Lebensraum (the acquisition of land to the east of Germany), Master Race theory, and their hatred of Communism, but that doesn't mean you can declare that everything they did was evil. They had many policies similar to those employed by many governments around the world at the present time, for example, the creation of public work schemes to build schools, hospitals and roads. Don't go saying stuff like 'The Nazis were the evil idea ever to be fostered on the world', it makes you sound stupid.

Originally posted by patsch
    Otherwise shut up.
    Completely agree. If SF are guilty of smuggling, kidnapping, etc, bring them to trial. Why would the Government withhold information about criminal activities? Would it not be a huge boost for their credibility, and a devastating blow to SF's, if they were able to secure a prosecution against someone like Adams or Ferris? It would set SF back years in electoral success.
    If McDowell cannot produce evidence to support his accusations, he should shut up and get back to doing his job.

226 Posts
    Originally posted by Conor74
    Nope, it was the sellout by Michael Collins...
    Aye, the sellout traitor himself used guerilla tactics in the War of Independence. But apparently these tactics are called 'terrorism' nowadays.

Originally posted by brendy_eire
    Aye, the sellout traitor
    btw the majority of people supported the treaty.
    btw2 he continued to support the IRA in the north after the treaty
    btw3 Dev and Co's problem with the treaty wasn't partition, it was with the oath.

226 Posts
    Originally posted by Macy
    btw the majority of people supported the treaty.
    btw2 he continued to support the IRA in the north after the treaty
    btw3 Dev and Co's problem with the treaty wasn't partition, it was with the oath.
    All irrelevant.
    Ireland should never have been cut up, it should have been all or nothing. Either fight on or simply stop the war and add it to the list of failed rebellions. If that had been done, we would have a United Ireland now, by way of a vote. Then on top of that he turned his guns on his fellow countrymen. And for what? Simplying following their desire for Irish independence, as was the goal, or so claimed, of Collins during the War of Independence. And sure didn't the Brits love him for it. Why do ye think they played the Last Post as his body was leaving on a ship from Cork.

Like it or not, he gave up the north in return for the Free State, he sold out us and all those who have fought for our freedom through the years. A traitor to the Irish nation.

(God Conor hi, now look what ye've started! )

The Nazis may have got a few of their policies wrong

LOL

Please go and visit Ann Franks house or Belsen Bergen.

Their Public Works programmes were a preparation for war. Building Motorways to the east and west for instance helped fasten the deployment of their armies.

Ifs and buts brendy_eire.

Then again if the PIRA said tomorrow that the war was over and gave up their weapons they get a United Ireland a lot quicker, but sure that it look as though they lost so they cant do that. At least when the Institutions are in place the Republic has some small degree of input into the North.

You say we'd have a United Ireland by vote? How would that work? A majority of people in one area imposing their will on the minority. Sounds familiar.
    Oh no not them again

All irrelevant.
    Ireland should never have been cut up, it should have been all or nothing. Either fight on or simply stop the war and add it to the list of failed rebellions. If that had been done, we would have a United Ireland now, by way of a vote. Then on top of that he turned his guns on his fellow countrymen. And for what? Simplying following their desire for Irish independence, as was the goal, or so claimed, of Collins during the War of Independence. And sure didn't the Brits love him for it. Why do ye think they played the Last Post as his body was leaving on a ship from Cork.

Like it or not, he gave up the north in return for the Free State, he sold out us and all those who have fought for our freedom through the years. A traitor to the Irish nation.
    Look, we could go round in circles here forever - at the time it was felt that some was better than all, and the fact that they tried to keep Ulster as the partition line rather than the 6 counties (to ensure a nationalist majority). If they'd just had another failed rebellion, we would've had several more since then and the Unionists in the 6 counties would still not play ball. You could argue we'd only be at the 1922 stage now, or recently, even further than the ever from peace. The only Irishmen that Collins turned his guns on were those that wouldn't accept the majority decision of the people - those who wanted to "wade through the blood of irishmen" to get their own way (all over the oath, not partition).

And sure didn't the Brits love him for it. Why do ye think they played the Last Post as his body was leaving on a ship from Cork.
    Think you're mixing up love with respect.

75 Posts
    Originally posted by SÓC
    Ifs and buts brendy_eire.

Then again if the PIRA said tomorrow that the war was over and gave up their weapons they get a United Ireland a lot quicker, but sure that it look as though they lost so they cant do that. At least when the Institutions are in place the Republic has some small degree of input into the North.
    Eh, the war has been effectively over since August 1, 1994 (with a brief resumption courtesy of John Major) and the IRA have complied with De Chastelain and the decommisioning body but whatever they do isn't good enough for the Unionists (and increasingly the media and establishment down here.)

As for the Institutions they were up and running until the Unionists collapsed them with the aid of the 2 governments. The Unionists want a complete surrender from the IRA. As I'm sure Brendy Eire will tell you that will never ever happen. The folk memory of the beginning of the troubles is too strong for the Nationalist community to allow a surrender.

But isnt that silly. Letting pride get in the way of progress.

If the war is effectively over why not call a spade a spade and say its over. No mention of the word surrender.

Say the war is over, decommission the weapons. Disband the IRA.

Wait for the Unionist reaction. They would have no choice, no choice what so ever but to share power with SF. From there its just a slippery slope to a United Ireland.
    Oh no not them again

75 Posts
    Originally posted by max power
    yawn yawn yawn, grow up and get on with your lifes, its this sort of rubbish talking that keeps the fires of hate burning on this island.........the past is the past, if you want to live in the past disconnect your electricity and sit in the dark while complaining about the evil british and how great and fault free us Irish really are.....
    Tell that to the families of the young men who killed themselves in Ardoyne...Tell that to the families of Rosemary Nelson, Robert Hamill and Pat Finucane, still looking for justice...Tell that to the people who have been effectively disenfranchised by the collapse of the Assembly...Tell that to the schoolgirls scarred for life by events at Holy Cross....Tell that to the residents of the Garvaghy Road....The list goes on and it's firmly in the present.

It's "Free State" attitudes like that which have us in the mess we're in. The people of the North were sold out in 1922 and we down here continue to wash our hands of our fellow countrymen and women. It represents a shameful stain on our national character.

blah blah blah move on...enjoy the dark
    Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........

All irrelevant.
    Ireland should never have been cut up, it should have been all or nothing. Either fight on or simply stop the war and add it to the list of failed rebellions. If that had been done, we would have a United Ireland now, by way of a vote. Then on top of that he turned his guns on his fellow countrymen. And for what?
    Can we have a ''what if ?'' thread when you all get bored of this one ?

Adams speech last week was brilliant but he's asked for this by his ridiculous attitude, likewise McGuinness.
    EL grounds are like good episodes of The Simpsons, no matter how many times you see them they're still funny

while workin the the north of Ireland i have been followed to the border by a car and told not to return next week to work, while traveling to other gigs my company provided us with yellow number plates so our cars would not stand out, the war is over eh ??? this is the sort of rubbish that i'm on about, move on and life youe life and not other peoples.....
    Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast