A swiss roll?

200 Posts
    Maybe we might be the invited team for the Copa America in 2011 instead of Japan. Fifa are kicking up a fuss about non-South American teams playing in the South American Federations tournament - (2 teams are always invited from outside South America, one is always Mexico, the other usually Costa Rica, but sometimes USA or even Japan). In 2001 Argentina and Canada opted out so there were 3 invitees (Mexico, Costa Rica and Honduras). I could see Blatter pulling strings and getting us an invite. It's in Argentina, which would be a fantastic place to watch the team play in an international tournament.

161 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by cfdh_edmundo View Post
    Maybe we might be the invited team for the Copa America in 2011 instead of Japan. Fifa are kicking up a fuss about non-South American teams playing in the South American Federations tournament - (2 teams are always invited from outside South America, one is always Mexico, the other usually Costa Rica, but sometimes USA or even Japan). In 2001 Argentina and Canada opted out so there were 3 invitees (Mexico, Costa Rica and Honduras). I could see Blatter pulling strings and getting us an invite. It's in Argentina, which would be a fantastic place to watch the team play in an international tournament.
    That would work. But this is Blatter. I give some sort of slieveen credit to Del boy for undermining our position with the UK media. But they had their own agenda anyway. We are still doing fine with the rest of the world. I work with loads of Europeans and Americans and they broadly support our(FAI) stance(especially Danes and Italians who HATE Blatter). Keep the spotlight on him. But don't give him a photo op John Delaney.
    Last edited by Noelys Guitar; 04/12/2009 at 1:07 AM.

I wasn't so sure about messing with seedings, but in theory I'm warming to it (not saying I believe it will happen, no harm in dreaming). Simple, sensible solution. Ireland and France swap pots. Ireland to pot 1 for the next WC qualifying campaign, France to pot 3. France punished, Ireland rewarded. The incident then would at least have had some consequence, since it currently appears absolutely nothing will come of it. Wouldn't involve screwing any other team either, except hopefully France getting a tough group and missing the next WC. We'll never get this one back, but we're hoping to savor a sense of justice some day!

170 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by boysingreen View Post
    Simple, sensible solution. Ireland and France swap pots. Ireland to pot 1 for the next WC qualifying campaign, France to pot 3. France punished, Ireland rewarded...Wouldn't involve screwing any other team either
    The other teams in the group with effectively two top seeds would likely feel 'screwed'?

Wink

Quote Originally Posted by brendy_éire View Post
    I think I'd be happy with a box of chocolates, and maybe a nice wee card.

Would the card come in a brown envelope?

a decade of the rosary
    Bring back the plank

Quote Originally Posted by amaccann View Post
    To my mind the fairest solution that doesn't tread on people's toes would be to promote Ireland up the seedings for the next couple of qualification draws (Euro & next World Cup).

It'll cost nothing to do, with minimal disruption or noses getting put out in the other associations (although if Ireland got promoted to 1st / 2nd seeds, it might mean someone else being demoted).

I'm surprised no one - especially the FAI - never mentioned this idea before because it seemed to me to be the most realistic and smartest solution for everyone.
    If we were made second seeds we'd mysteriously draw the team that lose out in the third pot.

I think we should be allowed to choose our own group for the next 3 qualifying campaigns.

That would be amazing. Sitting in Beunos Aires and going to see Ireland playing a competitive game in the River Plate stadium.

Steve Finnan back in the squad because he's the only one that can say "por favour"

60 Posts
    Now that would be fantastic, with the emphasis on fan! While I'd normally sneer at such ideas and "compensations", jaysus, it's the Copa America! We'd get destroyed on the field, but at the same time we'd get destroyed off it too

Apparently there are questions over Mexico and Japan being able to play in it, according to wiki. Who knows.
    That question was less stupid, though you asked it in a profoundly stupid way.

Help me, Arthur Murphy, you're my only hope!

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    I bow to no one. bar Bluebeard and Mr A

I am sorry but all I can do is laugh , now about 18 swear words come to mind .............

cud u imagine the craic if we won the copa america!
    i think confederations cup is a more likely option though

Its time for us all to step away from the madness now. Be gone, madness.

Lets summarise what has brought us to this:

We played brilliantly.
    We should have won it within the 90 minutes.
    We were cheated in the concession of a goal.
    We failed to equalise.
    We won't be at the World Cup.

Blatter can shove his moral compensation.

Both team and supporters should absorb all of this injustice and hurt and begin to try and turn it into our motivation for next time. What don't kill you - makes you stronger.

FAI would do us all a great service by telling FIFA to shove their moral compensation - as these f*ckers wouldn't understand what is morally right if it booted them up the hole.
    Quoting years at random since 1975

2,796 Posts
    I'm largely with Wolfie though I think the FAI should try and obtain as nmuch political capital as possible.

I'm amazed that people think a change in our seeding is a possibility. It'd make a mockery of the concept and it'd affect other teams. It's just not going to happen. Stop deluding yourselves.

52 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    I'm largely with Wolfie though I think the FAI should try and obtain as nmuch political capital as possible.

I'm amazed that people think a change in our seeding is a possibility. It'd make a mockery of the concept and it'd affect other teams. It's just not going to happen. Stop deluding yourselves.
    Yes a seeding upgrade is not fair to other countries. The ONLY way that would be fair is if Ireland and France swopped seedings.
    "Jacques Santini...will be greeted in every dugout of the country by "one-nil, one-nil" - Clive Tyldsley, 89th minute of France-England June 13, 2004.
    "Ooooohhhh Nooooooo" Bobby Robson 91st minute.

Quote Originally Posted by Wolfie View Post
    Its time for us all to step away from the madness now. Be gone, madness.

Lets summarise what has brought us to this:

We played brilliantly.
    We should have won it within the 90 minutes.
    We were cheated in the concession of a goal.
    We failed to equalise.
    We won't be at the World Cup.

Blatter can shove his moral compensation.

Both team and supporters should absorb all of this injustice and hurt and begin to try and turn it into our motivation for next time. What don't kill you - makes you stronger.

FAI would do us all a great service by telling FIFA to shove their moral compensation - as these f*ckers wouldn't understand what is morally right if it booted them up the hole.

Actually Wolfie , whatmakes it all the worse is WE DID win it within the 90 mins ...we conceded the goal in extra time ....Extra Time in itself was an injustice ...we didn't enjoy extra time in Dublin to get that equaliser for example.....it was enevitable that they were going to score with another 30 mins added to the clock......what you mean to say is we should have been out of site after the 90 mins so as not to let it get to extra time!.that's the big injustice along with the obvious aberation

30 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    I'm amazed that people think a change in our seeding is a possibility. It'd make a mockery of the concept
    Just like rewarding cheats makes a mockery of FIFA Fair Play concept, so they have form

But I reckon it will be some sort of investment or grant to compensate for some of the revenue the
    FAI will miss out on by not being in the World Cup.
    Last edited by Ash; 04/12/2009 at 1:38 PM.

30 Posts
    Jebus, talk about adding insult to injury ... just got this email ...

Dublin, 4th December 2009 For immediate release

FIFA World Cup™ Trophy Tour by Coca-Cola to visit Ireland

Details were announced today, Friday December 4th, of the inclusion of Ireland
    as one of the destinations for the "FIFA World Cup™ Trophy Tour by
    Coca-Cola". The trophy will visit 86 countries during a nine month journey in
    anticipation of the 2010 FIFA World Cup™ Finals in South Africa. This will be
    the first time the FIFA World Cup™ trophy has visited Ireland. It will spend a
    total of four days in Ireland including a stopover in Belfast, Northern Ireland.

Quote Originally Posted by Ash View Post
    Jebus, talk about adding insult to injury ... just got this email ...

Dublin, 4th December 2009 For immediate release

FIFA World Cup™ Trophy Tour by Coca-Cola to visit Ireland

Details were announced today, Friday December 4th, of the inclusion of Ireland
    as one of the destinations for the "FIFA World Cup™ Trophy Tour by
    Coca-Cola". The trophy will visit 86 countries during a nine month journey in
    anticipation of the 2010 FIFA World Cup™ Finals in South Africa. This will be
    the first time the FIFA World Cup™ trophy has visited Ireland. It will spend a
    total of four days in Ireland including a stopover in Belfast, Northern Ireland.

Jim Bowen will be the guest of honour.

"Here's what you could have won. Right lads, send it back".
    Quoting years at random since 1975

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast