Page 5 of 9 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast

Thread: Brazil friendly?

Quote Originally Posted by lopez View Post
    Still, this is great news for me.
    No! The Brazilians and Arsenal get it instead. Perhaps I haven't seen the worst of the Grab All Association as many of yous have, but if it came down to money, I'd rather see it stay in Ireland.
    Brazil would have been paid anyway and I doubt that Arsenal would charge anything like the same level of rent as the GAA.

57 Posts
    Never been to the Emirates and it is one ground I'd love to see.

Still sceptical and doubt if the figures add up.

Brazil played Italy there last year and tickets were readily available. A colleague planned to go but it got too expensive. If I recall correctly tickets were really expensive.

229 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BYCTWD View Post
    Brazils fee is Brazils fee. The issue is paying the bigots €1.25m for use of the hall, plus they get all the merchandise and food concessions.

I would assume part of this is a negotiation ploy to bargain the grand wizards in D3 down. If not, let the FAI fleece the Lahndon footballing public and use the money for the grassroots.

Everyone wins, except the GAA, so everyone wins twice.
    Including the Irish footballing public and travelling support? Why would you want this to be the case?
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    1,001 Posts
    Please keep up. This friendly is explicitly about revenue generation for the FAI.
    No need for such a condescending tone, Im well aware of the need to raise funds through friendlies but why is this one friendly specifically about revenue generation.We will probably have about 4 or 5 friendlies before the next qualification campaign,one of which will be a sellout for the visit of Argentina to the reopening of Lansdowne.
    I made a reference to the Ivory Coast who could be an interesting option for a friendly in my opinion and I think they would be a decent draw with the likes of Drogba in the team.There would probably be about 50000 tickets sold for it if held in Croker due to the block booking system so they wouldnt be losing money in such a friendly.
    Its really not that complicated!!!

Quote Originally Posted by gspain View Post
    Never been to the Emirates and it is one ground I'd love to see.

Still sceptical and doubt if the figures add up.

Brazil played Italy there last year and tickets were readily available. A colleague planned to go but it got too expensive. If I recall correctly tickets were really expensive.
    From £35, but that's probably for the two seats up the furthest corner.

http://www.arsenal.com/news/news-arc...brazil-v-italy

If there is one place where money on the turnstiles is king, it's Arsenal. What can you expect from a club who were proud that they would be bringing in more money through the paying public than any other football club in the world, when the Emirates was first open.
    This is the cooooooooooooolest footy forum I've ever seen!

544 Posts
    Brazils fee is Brazils fee. The issue is paying the bigots €1.25m for use of the hall, plus they get all the merchandise and food concessions.

I would assume part of this is a negotiation ploy to bargain the grand wizards in D3 down. If not, let the FAI fleece the Lahndon footballing public and use the money for the grassroots.

Everyone wins, except the GAA, so everyone wins twice.
    the fai and irfu made a fortune out of playing in croke park despite the rent. its funny that you acuse the GAA of being bigots given the tone of this post

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Razors left peg View Post
    why is this one friendly specifically about revenue generation.
    (a) Because it's against Brazil; that's why you play Brazil and
    (b) Because the FAI are screwed financially and badly need lots of money coming in.

544 Posts
    They would have made more if the games were played in London/Glasgow/Manchester, so I fail to see your point.
    really? how many attended the recent friendlies in london and how many attended the friendlies in CP? Id say the craven cottage attendances were about a third of CP.

do you really believe that we would have had more than say 30,000 at any of our recent competitive matches if played in the cities you mention?

229 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jbyrne View Post
    really? how many attended the recent friendlies in london and how many attended the friendlies in CP? Id say the craven cottage attendances were about a third of CP.

do you really believe that we would have had more than say 30,000 at any of our recent competitive matches if played in the cities you mention?
    I dont know the answers to what the FAI made out of each game. But in fairness you have only taken one side of the equation i.e. the income.

Rent / Running Costs of Croke Park vs. Craven Cottage - I'd hazard a guess that the difference is massive.
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

Im pretty sure the Emirates is the most expensive football ground in the world so i doubt they'll cut the FAI a better deal than the GAA would. Maybe the new wembley would be an option.

192 Posts
    On the RTE Sports Awards John Delaney has just confirmed that the Brazil game is on but venue not decided (either Dublin or UK).

He also said that FIFA wanted to give us a Fair Play Award at their gala tomorrow but the FAI turned it down. Good decision - it all sounds a bit patronising.
    "There's man all over for you, blaming on his boots the fault of his feet" - Samuel Beckett, Waiting for Godot

What Fair Play did we show!!!!! We were cheated by a complete lack of fair play by France and there after by FIFA. We didn't show fair play and let FIFA **** off with this stupid patethic gesture on their part.

2,771 Posts
    put Bohs into the Group stages of the Champions League. Its the only reasonable solution/compensation left for Irish football.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

Seriouslly thought skstu, something like that would be deadly.

Quote Originally Posted by EastTerracer View Post
    FIFA wanted to give us a Fair Play Award at their gala tomorrow but the FAI turned it down. Good decision - it all sounds a bit patronising.
    Should have agreed to take it & then refused to accept it on the night. At the press conference after Delaney could have told them all that 'really they have asked this' while raising his eyebrows and laughing manically and patronisingly a la Blatter!
    Last edited by eaststand85; 21/12/2009 at 9:36 AM. Reason: Spelling.

214 Posts
    I went to Brazil vs Sweden at the Emirates and it was packed. Crap atmosphere mind.

I reckon it is entirely a negotiating ploy. If GAA play ball, the game will be in Croker. If not, it won't. The FAI are super cash strapped and are going for the revenue maximisation approach and I applaud them for it. If they fail, what happens next?
    Superdave to the resc....

Can you wait til I finish my pint? Or else...

3,500 Posts
    will the 6 nations not interfere with the availability of Croke Park?

3,491 Posts

57 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SuperDave View Post
    I reckon it is entirely a negotiating ploy. If GAA play ball, the game will be in Croker. If not, it won't. The FAI are super cash strapped and are going for the revenue maximisation approach and I applaud them for it. If they fail, what happens next?
    I think you might be right but seems like the FAI have takena fee from Kentaro so they'll do the deal. I hope that is the case anyway.

The GAA deal is €1.4 million minimum or 26% of the gate which ever is the higher. The MillStad dropped their rent to 15% to attract events to Cardiff. The Emirates must be doing deals too given the matches they have hosted. The GAA would appear to not need events like the MillStad do so may well not budge. They might like to see the FAI get some negative publicity for denying children their dream of seeing Brazil play.... Crap I know but watch for the stories. RTE will wheel out the guy that calls himself Alan Hunter when they want to make fun of football fans.

I hope the FAI are not taking a gamble on this because the figures just don't add up for me to have it in Croke Park. Min guarantee €1.4 million, most tickets at €40 (same prices according to JD until 2012). Brazil's match fee is apparently €750,000.

Page 5 of 9 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast