Thread: Brazil friendly?

446 Posts
    Hmm.
    And we thought you were 'Irish'.

Play against a real team or country, rather than a glorified theme park or some fragmented part of a dysfunctional kingdom.

Why not v.a 'British XI' ??

Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
    131 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ArdeeBhoy View Post
    Hmm.
    That's right - you'll see for yourself, what with thousands of Northern Ireland fans wearing green IRISH Football Association shirts, with it's, very IRISH, Celtic Cross on the front of it, when we visit

Looking forward to it.
    The Englishmen came over in the year 2005
    But little did they know that we'd planned a wee surprise
    Sir David scored the winner, and Windsor Park went wild
    And this is what we sang...

446 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Not Brazil View Post
    That's right - you'll see for yourself, what with thousands of Northern Ireland fans wearing green IRISH Football Association shirts, with it's, very IRISH, Celtic Cross on the front of it, when we visit

Fine. And they won't even have that strange 'Ulster' flag with them. It'll be that dodgy 'apron', whose colours they strangely don't play in!

'Football for All', hmm. Still it will look like we're playing a British XI after all.

Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
    131 Posts
    Fine. And they won't even have that strange 'Ulster' flag with them. It'll be that dodgy 'apron', whose colours they strangely don't play in!
    Lot's and lots of them.
    The Englishmen came over in the year 2005
    But little did they know that we'd planned a wee surprise
    Sir David scored the winner, and Windsor Park went wild
    And this is what we sang...

446 Posts
    So not 'Irish' then.

Will you be one on such an occasion?

386 Posts
    Not Brazil;

I think it is highly likely that we will field a second string side for the Celtic Cup and this will have a negative impact on attendances. I understand that getting one over on us is important for the average NI fan but tbh, and from a personal perspective, I don't feel any real sense of rivalry with NI. I suspect that what rivalry exists between the two teams is confined to those from NI and the border regions. To put it another way, it's equally important to me to beat Scotland and Wales as it is to beat NI. And if somebody came along and offered us the choice between Euro 2012 qualification or Celtic Cup success, I know which option each ROI fan would chose.

446 Posts
    Personally would have preferred the World Cup even though it's run by a shower of c***s.

The 'Celtic Cup' is a pointless irrelevance whilst the Euros have so many teams now, it's barely worth the qualifiers.

Otherwise if it has to be a friendly, away in Finland or Sweden, or v. as glamorous a team as possible, which none of our neighbours (or us) will ever be described as.

192 Posts
    Hmm.

Play against a real team or country, rather than a glorified theme park or some fragmented part of a dysfunctional kingdom.
    Quote Originally Posted by Not Brazil View Post
    Lads, can you jump back to the right thread - this one is supposed to be about Brazil, not the same internecine dispute which is being covered elsewhere...
    "There's man all over for you, blaming on his boots the fault of his feet" - Samuel Beckett, Waiting for Godot

446 Posts
    Fair enough.

Though some fool mentioned the 'Celtic Cup'....

57 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BYCTWD View Post
    Lads, this is aboout cold hard cash. What team can the FAI bring in that will raise the most revenue. And thats Brazil, so suck it up.

I can't see how it will generate that much cash for the FAI.

€1.4 million minimum rent of Croke Park.

Match guarantee for Brazil is €500,000-€1 million.

Setup costs in hosting a game

Tickets for friendlies are €40 & €55 (mainly €40 apart from lower main stands)

I can't see a 3rd friendly v Brazil in 6 years attracting more than 50,000-60,000.

An away friendly with a promise of a return match in the Aviva or a guaranteed fee would seem to make more sense.

57 Posts
    You forgot selling the tv rights back to Brazil.

Croker will be full for the Samba Boys, make no mistake. The only other teams I can see that would do so are the Brits, Spain, Germany and possibly Italy and Argentina. We will exclude France for the moment.

If you stick the match fee and tv rights into the equation, Brazil are probably the best money spinner.
    It wasn't full the last time. The Waiting List have just got letters telling them they won't be getting tickets for the Aviva and I can't see too many wanting to go.

I wasn't aware of Brazil being that big a tv market. A wednesday afternoon kickoff in a developing country is hardly big money.

57 Posts
    Timing was bad the last time with Givens in charge.

They can sell Brazil playing all over the world and the domestic market is huge.

You are arguing for the sake of it.
    Brazil play lots of friendlies all over the world. I can't really see us v Brazil being more attractive than say Holland v USA & France v Spain which are both on that evening.

I'll go anyway and I would if we were playing Burkino Faso but frankly it doesn't excite me in the least. Argentina in August is far more attractive to me although that is partly because I've never seen Messi play live.

I also think it is a big financial gamble.

Frankly if we don't play away friendlies in March and May now we never will.

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    1,001 Posts
    The thoughts of paying 50 bucks to watch Lucas play for Brazil doesnt excite me at all.I'll almost definately go because I'll have to get the block booking ticket either way but I would prefer a team we havent played so recently. Spain would be good but maybe someone like the Ivory Coast would be interesting.
    I do think the coming friendlies before the Euros will be very worth while and interesting to watch just to see how much Trap can develop the squad
    Its really not that complicated!!!

i wudnt mind a friendly against a lesser team along the lines of austria or finland, so our players can have a bit of time on the ball and learn to put away the poorer teams with more ease. if we play brazil , they will have 75% of possesion and it will only be an exercise in defense for our boys.

Quote Originally Posted by gspain View Post
    I can't see how it will generate that much cash for the FAI.

€1.4 million minimum rent of Croke Park.

Match guarantee for Brazil is €500,000-€1 million.

Setup costs in hosting a game

Tickets for friendlies are €40 & €55 (mainly €40 apart from lower main stands)

I can't see a 3rd friendly v Brazil in 6 years attracting more than 50,000-60,000.

An away friendly with a promise of a return match in the Aviva or a guaranteed fee would seem to make more sense.
    I think FIFA may be covering Braziil's fee as part of the compensation deal the FAI are after following the France debacle.
    Honest! I am not a secret Tim nor a closet Sham - I really am a Seagull.

229 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Superhoops View Post
    I think FIFA may be covering Braziil's fee as part of the compensation deal the FAI are after following the France debacle.
    Sounds like Financial Compensation to me, though Blatter said that was out of the question.

You are not suggesting Blatter is not true to his word are you?
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    1,001 Posts
    Yes, this is the same sort of moneyspinner for the FAI as Brazil would be....
    The friendlies arent just about making money, its about developing the squad
    Its really not that complicated!!!

3,500 Posts
    the game could be played in England to cut costs, according to this morning's Independent: http://www.independent.ie/sport/socc...n-1974130.html

386 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979 View Post
    the game could be played in England to cut costs, according to this morning's Independent: http://www.independent.ie/sport/socc...n-1974130.html
    Sweden played Brazil in the Emirates last year in front of a full house so there is a demand in London to see Brazil play.

Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979 View Post
    It becomes a de facto away game. Brazil have played at least two 'home' games at the Emirates: They don't seem to play any friendlies in Brazil anymore. If Brazil are up to facing us, they'll get a better crowd at the Emirates than against Sweden. There are a lot of Brazilians in London, but sadly too many Brazil fans are made up of the pretentious glory hunters that support Manchester United, Liverpool or Nottingham Forest even though they couldn't point to any of these places on a map, let alone been, lived, born or have a granny from there.

Still, this is great news for me.
    So we raise tons of money and the Gah see none of it? Good.
    No! The Brazilians and Arsenal get it instead. Perhaps I haven't seen the worst of the Grab All Association as many of yous have, but if it came down to money, I'd rather see it stay in Ireland.
    This is the cooooooooooooolest footy forum I've ever seen!

Page 4 of 9 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast