Page 7 of 8 FirstFirst ... 5678 LastLast

Thread: Raf gone to Bohs

I wish him the best too, his goals this season kept us up, but I wish the whole situatuion was sorted out by now. The longer it goes on the the the harder it is for us to move on. There are more important things happening at the Showgrounds then Rafs imminent departure.

best of luck to him,but if he starts playing around against us i.e diving and all that he deserves to be abused.

Quote Originally Posted by Red4Eva View Post
    He's not our best player, Gavin Peers is. If Peers had left I would have been heartbroken but respected his decision because he's never given less than 100% for us and didn't disrepect the club, his manager and his team mates by throwing a hissy fit in July to get out of the club and then talk up moves to other clubs constantly in the media since then.
    I agree but that all that has been tarnished in my opinion by the change in attitude this season. I'm not saying good riddance or I hope he fails I'd just rather have players who are 100% committed to Sligo Rovers.
    This.

he was fantastic for us last season, nobody is disputing that. the lads who have followed the team to home and away games have seen his change in attitude, every friday or saturday night of the season...his cockyness, giving out to others for mistakes he made and so on. he NEVER had that attitude until this season, he was a legend to everyone. nobody had any problems with him. since July he has changed and has tarnished his reputation with alot of the supporters. He was a great player for us down through the years, and was a massive part in our cup run and league survival.

nobody is saying anything different to that. We all love Sligo Rovers, and any supporter would give anything to be in the position he is in, top scorer the bit o'red, a hero with the supporters, but he has thrown it back in our faces and shown a lack of respect IMO. grabbing the crest/kissing the crest, whatever, its the same thing....he gave an interview after the game, when supporters were sitting in the stands in tears, stating that he was probably looking for another club.

he should have had a bit of respect for the people who have supported him and the team, sang his name every week, and paid his wages. can't wait to see the love the bohs fans show him if he dosn't settle in straight away

So he should stay at Sligo Rovers for the duration of his career because the fans love him? Football is his job at the end of the day. He has to look out for number one no matter how he feels about the club, same as any of us do in our own careers.

I completely understand why people are hurt by this, but I think the lad deserves our respect having been such a great player for us for so long.

He's not our best player, Gavin Peers is.
    Fair point

as i said before id rater be guaranteed my wages for the year than going near a ticking time bomb

Quote Originally Posted by CF1989 View Post
    he was fantastic for us last season, nobody is disputing that. the lads who have followed the team to home and away games have seen his change in attitude, every friday or saturday night of the season...his cockyness, giving out to others for mistakes he made and so on. he NEVER had that attitude until this season, he was a legend to everyone. nobody had any problems with him. since July he has changed and has tarnished his reputation with alot of the supporters. He was a great player for us down through the years, and was a massive part in our cup run and league survival.

nobody is saying anything different to that. We all love Sligo Rovers, and any supporter would give anything to be in the position he is in, top scorer the bit o'red, a hero with the supporters, but he has thrown it back in our faces and shown a lack of respect IMO. grabbing the crest/kissing the crest, whatever, its the same thing....he gave an interview after the game, when supporters were sitting in the stands in tears, stating that he was probably looking for another club.

he should have had a bit of respect for the people who have supported him and the team, sang his name every week, and paid his wages. can't wait to see the love the bohs fans show him if he dosn't settle in straight away
    is it not better for all parties that he is gone then? good luck to him, but the club always has and always will be bigger then him. I'm goin to have a few euro on Amond to be the leagues top scorer and when I'm goin to collect next year Raf will be a distant memory

I thought Raf was a fantastic footballer for us. He was an entertainer. I take the point a few of you made regarding his performances post July. In hindsight you have point. Looking positively, I believe Amond will score as many as Raf, but won't be as entertaining. Best of luck to Raf. Amond will be every bit as effective. Runnin down the wing hear the Rovers sing : Viva Amondo....
    Níl aon tinteán mar do thinteán féin.

Adios Raf.Will have a pieces on the trust site sometime today or tomorrow as too much to put in one post. But basically ****es me off when I herad Raf talk of the chance to play European football was a major factor, **** up it'll be 4 games at max and who's to say he'llbe playing in them.If Bohs offered €500 a week and european football would raf have gone.Dont think so.

lads saying Raf owes us nothing is bull. Remember he was winger come right full till cookie made him the player he was. Cookie said a long time back his only worry with raf was he didnt realsie how good he was but when he did would if effect him. Well it seems it did.

We're all ****ed because we would have prefered to see hims stay as he is a quality player, cant blame us being mad.... but gimee the committment of Danny Conor Peers Keane and Blinkhorn any day.

Adios Raf....More to come

good luck to him....lets just move on and forget about raf and look to the future!

Again, may be in the minority but I wish Raf all the best. There's a rake of ifs and buts about what he shoulda coulda achieved but at the end of the day he scored a lot of important goals for us over the years so cheers and good luck to him. That said, I hope he scores a few own goals against us next season...
    Keep on keepin' on.

Quote Originally Posted by LondonRover View Post
    Again, may be in the minority but I wish Raf all the best. There's a rake of ifs and buts about what he shoulda coulda achieved but at the end of the day he scored a lot of important goals for us over the years so cheers and good luck to him. That said, I hope he scores a few own goals against us next season...
    Agree , he will probably get a nice signing-on fee and will be one of the highest paid barmen in Dublin and get plenty of opportunity to play a bit of football as well at bohs , if it works out he gets a few medals if not he will be welcome back and would probably get another signing on fee.

Quote Originally Posted by red_away View Post
    good luck to him....lets just move on and forget about raf and look to the future!
    Totally agree with you it is just boring now post after post on Raf. one last thing though was he out of contract or will we get a fee?

Quote Originally Posted by Well Red View Post
    Totally agree with you it is just boring now post after post on Raf. one last thing though was he out of contract or will we get a fee?
    Out of contract.

Wink

Quote Originally Posted by Well Red View Post
    I've heard from a very capricious source that Bohs have offered Rovers €500,000, but the club will hold out for €750,000.
    Whats that comin' over the hill

It's the Monster,

The Cookie Monster!

Quote Originally Posted by sligorover View Post
    As a matter of interest when was the last time a rovers player scored as many in a season as Raf did this year?

He's a massive loss to the club no matter what way you look at it. If it wasn't for Raf's goals we'd be looking at first division football next season. How anyone calling themselves a fan of any football club can be happy to see their best player leave is beyond me.
    its a good question.. Padraig Moran was very prolific for ye in the nineties so I would hazard a guess it would be Padraig.. Ash would probably know the answer for that one considering hes his favourite player of all time??

lads mya be woring but is the transfer embargo still on Bohs

Cool whats the story with Raf now???

Is raf gone or not now???

And if he is its time to let him go and concentrate on replacing him, instead of being bitter about him leaving. you have to remember he is out of contract so no he owes noting to Sligo Rovers and only has to look out for the best deal for himself and Rovers have to do the same for themselves. They have 11 first team players, subs, an A team, coaching staff and office officials to give contracts to as well and not just be worrying about paying over the odds for one player, hes going to get stuck in no mans land with no team wanting him if he doesn't decide quickly on what he is doing.
    Also Rovers should set a deadline on him accepting their contract or Raf and other players wont have any value on them as a club if theres always an open door for them.

so what's going on with Raf, are they trying to call the FAI's bluff?
    Whats that comin' over the hill

It's the Monster,

The Cookie Monster!

Page 7 of 8 FirstFirst ... 5678 LastLast