Thread: Derek Foran

Derek Foran

On trial with Hibs according to the Mirror today...

surely not? he's one of the worst centre halves in the league of ireland

Quote Originally Posted by CF1989 View Post
    Obviously not if he's on trial with Hibs, who in fairness are head and shoulders above anything in the League of Ireland.

Not a chance he's even close. Foran is quality and would easily fit into any side in the league bar bohs imo.
    I'd love to invent a time machine then go back in time and win the lottery, buy new players and a stadium. Time machines are brilliant aren't they- Ian Holloway

Very easy for someone who doesn't watch him week in, week out to say.

Sligo fans think Gavin Peers is brilliant but I've only seen him give one or two good performances over the years and I wouldn't rate him highly. However, Sligo fans have seen more of him so they'd be in a better place to judge.

Anyway, it would be great for Derek if he got a chance over there. I think he's a top player and he's still a young lad so who knows how much more he can learn.
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

Foran is decent anytime I've seen him in fairness...wouldn't easily walk into any team bar Bohs though as Hulsey has said but still good.
    Quote Originally Posted by superfrank View Post
    Sligo fans think Gavin Peers is brilliant but I've only seen him give one or two good performances over the years and I wouldn't rate him highly.
    I finally saw why Sligo fans are always raving about Peers.

Nothing gets past you sligoman.

If that was the game against Bohs, he had a cracker but I've seen him have a lot of average games too.
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

Nothing gets past you sligoman.
    Gwaaaaaaaaan the moderator! My hero

Peers is probably the most under rated defender in this league. Hes better than Foran by a country mile and would fit into any team in this league. He's solid,reliable and can score goals, what more do you want out of a defender ?
    Last edited by sligofan4ever; 30/11/2009 at 3:29 PM.
    Coleman for Ireland

Quote Originally Posted by sligofan4ever View Post
    Peers is probably the most under rated defende rin this league. Hes better than Foran by a country mile and would fit into any team in this league. He's solid,reliable and can score goals, what more do you want out of a defender ?
    Peers is a good solid and reliable defender, no doubt about that. You seem to be forgetting that Foran is still a teenager and is only in his 2nd season of League of Ireland football. Peers has a good 4/5/6 years experience on him. Give Foran 4/5/6 years playing experience before you say whos better.

As i've said, Peers a is a solid and reliable defender but he lacks the height of the best defenders in the League and i've seen him get beaten in the air a lot, not the pacest of defenders either.

You're boht right. If you want a centre half for now, Peers is great. If you want someone who could be super in 3/4 years time Foran is the choice

Nice to see a product of Pats schoolboys do well. Shame he couldn't get a look in with us last year

Hope he gets a contract and does well over there, cant believe he is only 20, he can only get a whole lot better.
    www.braywanderers.ie (Club)
    www.braywanderers.com (supporters club)
    Sharks are as tough as those football fans who take their shirts off during games in England in January, only more intelligent.

Thumbs up Foran with Hibs.

Obviously you have not seen too much of him.He is probably one of the best up and coming centre halves in the L.O.I. and still only 20 with 2 years experience at the top in Ireland..

473 Posts
    Best of luck to Derek with his trial. I'd love to keep him on at Bray, but he seems a genuine and decent lad, and if he can make it at a big club like Hibs, and I say he's good enough to, then fair play to him.

36 Posts
    i heard Derek Foran has signed for Shels

he never went on the trial due to injury

They have apporached him, nothing signed though according to the lad himeslef.

Rumour on our forum today that he's signed and the source was "the man himself".

No official confirmation though.

38 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by GlasnevinRed View Post
    Rumour on our forum today that he's signed and the source was "the man himself".

No official confirmation though.
    Excellent signing for ye, best defender we had last season, hope he stays injury free and has a good season .