Page 13 of 23 FirstFirst ... 31112131415 ... LastLast

Thread: Ireland ask FIFA to be 33rd team in WC

1. Keane did handle the ball several times in the match, sometimes deliberately, sometimes accidently, but at all times he was punished for it, and you can be sure if he had scored a goal as a result it would have been disallowed.

2. I accept that the ref did not deliberately swing it for France. A combination of factors happened. He was unsighted by the malee of players in the penalty area, however having said that, he was very poorly positioned. I also think Henry took advantage of this poor positioning. The linesman was also probably watching for an offside and after that, that players who were returning from offside weren't interfering with play. Handballs in the penalty area are very rare, whereas offsides happen almost every attack, so he was focused on the offside.

3. While I am able to move on, the way I will always see the result is that France could not score a legitimate goal over 120 minutes and had to nick one illigimately. Henry showed no fair play, there are litterly tons of examples if you look up youtube of players holding up their hands when the ref gives a bad decision and saying to him immediately that it wasn't a penalty or a free or a yellow card.

4. It's ironic that while most people have moved on, the people who are still obsessed with this and dragging the issue up are those who keep saying the FAI are an embarrassment and all that. Maybe it's time for the 'move-on' brigade to actually, you know, move on themselves.
    Last edited by Emmet7; 02/12/2009 at 10:13 AM.

446 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Absinthe View Post
    Fifa, favour the big teams, for example with the Groups for Qualifying, the seeding of those groups, and now the Seeding of the play-offs. (I agree you were shafted there).

But all this Fifa won't listen to us becasue we are small is just balls. Can anyone give an example in Football history where the result of a game has been declared null and void because of a decision on the pitch?

This is why the FAI as being viewed as idiots, they are not only asking for something that is logistically impossible, they are asking for a favour that no one else would ever or has ever asked for. Not even the English.

There is no conspiracy, the officials didnt see it, the goal stood and you are harshly out of the world cup. As I keep saying, thats football.
    Don't know who or what you are, but this is mainly nonsense. Especially when you keep saying 'we' and 'you. Not to mention factually incorrect.

Deal with FIFA's incompetence before you slag Ireland....

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Emmet7 View Post
    and you can be sure if he had scored a goal as a result it would have been disallowed.
    Really?

Whats the Lotto numbers for tonight Nostradamus?

Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy View Post
    Really?

Whats the Lotto numbers for tonight Nostradamus?
    I'm moving on.

I have nothing to say on France V Ireland again. Goodbye.

Quote Originally Posted by Emmet7 View Post
    I'm moving on.

I have nothing to say on France V Ireland again. Goodbye.
    Waving the white flag?
    What a wonderfully French way to end your participation.
    Cork City: Making 'Dream Team' seem realistic since 2007.

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Scooby Doo View Post
    Nobody asked you to moan for two years. The snide comments you made were misplaced.
    And yes I do think that Ireland IS a great place, with some notable flaws but what country doesn't. Anyway grow up and consider some contributions of worth for next time rather than turning your nose up at those who offer differing opinions on fairly significant matter in world football.
    You must be one of those top civil servants i keep hearing about

Enjoy the world cup, I know I will anyway............................................ ..................

3,489 Posts
    Is Davy Keogh not a Bohs fan? Hazy memory of meeting him after a match in Dalymount once.

(Agree other than that obviously)

82 Posts
    Is Davy Keogh not a Bohs fan? Hazy memory of meeting him after a match in Dalymount once.

Reminds me of the banner the lads displayed in the Faroes to celebrate Davy's flight being unable to land due to fog and him missing the match

3,489 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy View Post
    Reminds me of the banner the lads displayed in the Faroes to celebrate Davy's flight being unable to land due to fog and him missing the match
    I was ridiculously hammered at the start of that match (weather sobered me up fairly quick though ) - remind me again? Do remember a banner alright.

Did he say hello?
    Cork City: Making 'Dream Team' seem realistic since 2007.

1,928 Posts
    Never a truer word, I have never come across a LOI fan moan ad nauseum about the injustice of a bad decision affecting their club, an outrageous undeserved defeat due to a cheat or moan about the FAI administration of the league. The good fellowship of the LOI clubs and aspiration to win on the field of play is evident to all. Their good grace coming from a superior intelligence is an example to all people who aspire to be called supporters.

544 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BYCTWD View Post
    A leprechaun suit wearer who gets to 6 games a year and reckons they are a 'charachter' and an expert on football and ridiculed by those who are actually involved in football. See Davy Keogh as an extreme example of the phenomenon. Generally lacking the actual football experience and intellegence to chalk a bad decision down and move on. Which LoI fans have no choice but to do.
    what blinkered delusions of granduer LOI fans have. Davy Keogh is heavily involved in junior football week in / week out in this country as are a lot of other posters here. to me that contributes far more to real football in this county than a LOI supporter sitting in a stand somewhere patting himself on the back for being a "real fan"

82 Posts
    I was ridiculously hammered at the start of that match (weather sobered me up fairly quick though ) - remind me again? Do remember a banner alright.
    Quote Originally Posted by tiktok View Post
    Did he say hello?
    From memory, it was a hastily prepared banner that said something along the lines of
    "Where the f**k is Davy Keogh?....... On the [47] bus"

57 Posts

Pretty sure he is - seen his famous flag in Dalymount a few times for League games.

Just think what the course of events might have been if Ollie Byrne (RIP) had been the CEO of the FAI and this had happened under his leadership.

Kom Igen, FCK...

544 Posts
    But it is telling that most people still bleating on about this are the barstoolers.

Its a legitimate point.
    sorry but how on earth do you know what their involvement in Irish football is?

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2009/1202/blatters.html

i think that proves the point i was making, the fai realise that people haven't seen through blatter and are making them and the country looks like fools. Good to release this statement and also the point about "commercial or otherwise" i.e. seeding done to ensure adidas etc dont miss out.

A leprechaun suit wearer who gets to 6 games a year and reckons they are a 'charachter' and an expert on football and ridiculed by those who are actually involved in football. See Davy Keogh as an extreme example of the phenomenon. Generally lacking the actual football experience and intellegence to chalk a bad decision down and move on. Which LoI fans have no choice but to do.
    Good that the Ole Ole'rs have people like you to inform them and set them straight.

Maith an fear.

3,489 Posts
    Main thing that press release does for me is confirm that the FAI did moot the possibility ofa 33-team World Cup. Morons.

(And Blatter's a moron too)

2,796 Posts
    Excellent reponse by the FAI.

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2009/1202/blatters.html

i think that proves the point i was making, the fai realise that people haven't seen through blatter and are making them and the country looks like fools. Good to release this statement and also the point about "commercial or otherwise" i.e. seeding done to ensure adidas etc dont miss out.
    Strong and dignified response by FAI.

Blatter's deliberate attempts to belittle our situation is despicable.

In hindsight, any request regarding the 33rd team, no matter how informal should not have arisen - but Blatter's ploy to use this to discredit us is infuriating.
    Quoting years at random since 1975

Page 13 of 23 FirstFirst ... 31112131415 ... LastLast