Page 10 of 23 FirstFirst ... 8910111220 ... LastLast

Thread: Ireland ask FIFA to be 33rd team in WC

20 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post
    Two wrongs don't make a right

Blatter is a clown, always has been, so I don't see why you are all getting offended at him laughing at such a ridiculous idea as us being the 33rd team

The Irish indigination and bitterness has pretty much out-stripped the English in terms of going over the top in their petty grudges.

Everything from boycotting Gilette, to Henry's death threats, to peeing yourselves with excitement when Bilbao boo Henry (SHOCK HORROR an opposing team use a situation to boo the other teams player), to how over the top the vast majority of you have been, to all those Facebook groups, to threatening legal action against FIFA, to demanding a replay, to pretending that no Irish player has ever cheated, to Damien Duff, to this 33rd team nonsense, and that's all it is

You should all be ashamed, you've made us worse than the English at this. I'm sure the Sun and the Daily Mail are considering moving their HQs over here in light of this hysteria
    and on and on he goes....
    Shock horror people get annoyed when they are cheated out of the World cup!
    I have to say I find your little Ireland "oh god what will the neighbours think of us" attitude quite amusing.

Lads that say we are making fools of ourselves are yet saying we should drag them through the mud. It hasn't in the past made a difference, it wont in the future, so you lot are even more annoying and naive than delaney asking for a place at the world cup. Blatter is making a mockery of us on the world stage and although some on here are smart enough to read between the lines im not so sure others are or are afraid to upset the apple tart(as bertie says).

Whats really annoying is people thinking we are fools for asking yet expect us to "drag him throught he mud". We have no power, nothing we do or say carries weight beyond the british isles. Its up to bigger nations to take the cause for us. But i cant see that happening.

FAI DELEGATION

Turty Tree Mr. Blather??...ah you will, ah go on, go on, go on, go on......

ps. as embarassing as this is, I am astonished to hear the likes of John Motson say on BBC a week after the game that the Irish are completely wrong in all their outrage and need to get over it NOW, they probably would not have won anyway!

Astonishing for one of the main men who continually refer to the legend Maradona's handball.

And, in fairness to Irish football fans, none threatened the life of the Swedish referee etc. Compare that to Engerrrland’s exit from Euro 2004 and Chelsea’s exit for the CL where the referees needed round the clock security because of death threats.

The English are real hypocrites, but I guess that is not news to anyone!

3,489 Posts
    I wonder how broke are the FAI that they're this desperate to receive World Cup cash?

We have no power, nothing we do or say carries weight beyond the british isles. Its up to bigger nations to take the cause for us. But i cant see that happening.
    I think your right on this Paul, and its the crux of the matter. If a big team had been in our position then, more than likely they would demand a replay and then insist on a replay and then apply pressure to FIFA and other countries to support them. We dont have any favours to call in or any serious clout on the world stage to do this.

It looks like what has happened is that the FAI were trying to explore all possible options of action. However Blatter has simply hoodwinked Delaney & Co. and made them look foolish by highlighting the 33rd team request. The credibility of the Irish search for redress is now gone and with it any sympathy from other nations.

57 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Scram View Post
    And, in fairness to Irish football fans, none threatened the life of the Swedish referee etc. Compare that to Engerrrland’s exit from Euro 2004 and Chelsea’s exit for the CL where the referees needed round the clock security because of death threats.
    Incorrect with the Chelsea incident - Øvrebø left on his scheduled flight booked in the lead up to the match, and his hotel was only changed due to there being an overbooking problem with the original hotel (this information comes direct from the horses mouth).

And as for direct threats - untrue as well:

Oslo police said there were no threats against Ovrebo in Norway but decided to place police patrol at his residence to keep the calm during a period of "intense media interest".

"This is not a police matter for the time being," Oslo police spokesman Joern Jorgensen said.

"Because of media interest at the (Oslo) airport, he was escorted home by police. There is also a patrol at his home," Jorgensen said. "There have been no threats, but if anything happens we are ready."
    As I recall from the Oslo FK (our County Football Association) - Tom Henning was back in work as usual on the Friday morning - and was back on Tippeligaen duty on his next regularly scheduled game the following Saturday.

Anyway - by the by - still doesn't really excuse the fact that the Law Authorities have been conducting investigations into death threats made to Henry by some Irish supporters
    Kom Igen, FCK...

Quote Originally Posted by Spanner View Post
    I'm sad to say it but this is just getting funnier....Bono...?!?! ffs!
    I think he was asked the question because Drogba was beside him at the time when they where doing that charity thing together
    Pull my finger!!!

544 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Réiteoir View Post
    You know how farcical this has become and how low everything has sunk when Bono comes out and makes a statement in support of the "33rd team" idea - but it ends up sounding like he's appealing for cash for starving Africa
    he didnt "come out" with a statement. he was asked a question and he answered it. so what?

The Police are in the process of investigating death threats made over the past few weeks - so it is true.
    so why are the police investigating then? should they not just make contact with you as you know already?

Anyway - by the by - still doesn't really excuse the fact that the Law Authorities have been conducting investigations into death threats made to Henry by some Irish supporters
    and you can also tell them where they were from?! tell us, what happened to shergar? you could save the cops a lot of time with that one
    Last edited by jbyrne; 01/12/2009 at 1:25 PM.

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    As Brady says,

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2009/1201/bradyl.html

Blatter was totally disrespectful. The guy is a hypocrite of the highest order. A few sycophants to laugh at his put down and people say that we are the "laughing stock of Europe" because of this. Because Blatter scoffs at us, we are a laughing stock. I didn't realise there are so many Irish people who take their lead from Blabber.
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

exactly owlfan, you can really tell the naivety here among some people masquearding as fans and some who plainly dont care.

The only problem I see, is a lot of people outside ireland aren't seeing blatters comments in the way we would hope. They are just hearing his comments, not listening and digesting what he is saying, and more importantly doing, if ye get me. So whilst I agree with yerself, peepee and geysir, unfortunately here in England they aren't seeing what we would expect the more astute informed reader to see i.e. nothing beyond his actual remarks, diverting attention away from the real issues.

544 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    The only problem I see, is a lot of people outside ireland aren't seeing blatters comments in the way we would hope. They are just hearing his comments, not listening and digesting what he is saying, and more importantly doing, if ye get me. So whilst I agree with yerself, peepee and geysir, unfortunately here in England they aren't seeing what we would expect the more astute informed reader to see i.e. nothing beyond his actual remarks, diverting attention away from the real issues.
    i think most football fans in the world know exactly what blatter and the fifa top brass are like so i wouldnt be too worried about our reputation to be honest. everyone has seen the incident, many have commented on it, the french themselves are disgusted with the way they qualified and everyone is aware of the lack of / poor fifa response. they have now also seen the degrading way blatter has dealt with us

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Scram View Post
    FAI DELEGATION

Turty Tree Mr. Blather??...ah you will, ah go on, go on, go on, go on......!

"I hope you all like my blue jersey. It's modelled on the French. I find it so funny that Ireland should ask to change the rules for the World Cup when I changed the rules for the play offs? I think it is really funny that people blame the the referee when FIFA lead by me has refused to have video technology. Did I ever tell you I cheated in a Junior game to score a goal? Now where is my document on the "Fair Play" initiative? It's time to get out of this ill fitting outfit and prepare to ridicule in public any country which should dare to challenge FIFA. I won't mention France. I'll just laugh at the Irish and give them the red card. They are after all the guilty party in this for refusing to bow to FIFA.
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

Just here at work i had a lot of lads the first few days afterwards saying a disgrace etc, though it happens etc. Feeling sorry for Ireland etc.

Now though since that thing they are like get over it, move on etc. They aren't reading into what he is actually doing, but think we shoud let it go. Its getting overshadowed by the fact that they think we aren't getting over it, and losing sight of the fact that blatter is a cnut. When I actually took time to explain a bit more it was clear to them, but most are just seeing what we have said as "get over it its done now".

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by razor View Post
    What? the handball injustice or the one on one he missed to send us to the World Cup?

They were right to laugh cos this whole 33rd country sorry mess is laughable.
    but now that Bono is behind it we're pretty much there

i'm mortified, what a laughing stock we are.
    Definitely, more things to be worried about in this country at the moment with floods and all the corruption.
    Ireland is a joke of a country and the reaction to this football match was embarrassing to say the least
    The international section of foot.ie looks like it has been taken over by a gang of school kids who have just discovered the game. Its football, it is always like this, get over it and move on FFS. Just cause you cant have your big **** up in SA or wave your plastic hammer, or sing ole ole till the cows come home.................
    Blatter was right to make a fool of the FAI. It was a bloody joke, a Father Ted moment.

544 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bennocelt View Post
    Just cause you cant have your big **** up in SA or wave your plastic hammer, or sing ole ole till the cows come home.................
    what a pathetic generalisation

67 Posts
    Just cause you cant have your big **** up in SA or wave your plastic hammer, or sing ole ole till the cows come home.................
    Quote Originally Posted by jbyrne View Post
    what a pathetic generalisation

Was thinking the same thing. Sad individual

or sing ole ole till the cows come home.................
    .[/QUOTE]
    what do you sing at ireland matches?

Quote Originally Posted by jbyrne View Post
    i think most football fans in the world know exactly what blatter and the fifa top brass are like so i wouldnt be too worried about our reputation to be honest. everyone has seen the incident, many have commented on it, the french themselves are disgusted with the way they qualified and everyone is aware of the lack of / poor fifa response. they have now also seen the degrading way blatter has dealt with us
    I think you're giving the general football supporting public too much credit. This will look to the world as the idiot Irish trying to get in through the back door because they don't understand the rules. It's now obvious that Blatter used ideas thrown around in a private meeting to discredit the FAI. If Delaney doesn't know how Blatter operates, and how politically manipulative the man must be to have reached the top job in a very corrupt FIFA, then he really should resign. He is too naive to represent this country. He should have concentrated on the 5 officials issue and pointed out the unfairness of the seeded teams extra advantage in playing the 2nd leg at home in the EURO 2012 play-offs. That is an issue that might unite the smaller countries together to challenge Blatter on. But he blew it.

446 Posts
    Definitely, more things to be worried about in this country at the moment with floods and all the corruption.
    Ireland is a joke of a country and the reaction to this football match was embarrassing to say the least.
    Blatter was right to make a fool of the FAI. It was a bloody joke, a Father Ted moment.
    The phrase 'cabbage-eating surrender monkey' springs to mind.

Presuming you 'support' Ireland?

Have you not read about the antics of Blatter & the FIFA?? And their condoning of cheating eg. SB & Houllier's latest comments. Not to mention years of corruption or match-fixing, FFS.

The FAI may look foolish, but at least they have a load more credibility than those FIFA crooks. And any national FA should now stand up to those bent hypocritical fools.

544 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BYCTWD View Post
    The split does seem to be along those lines. The LoI fans seem to want to move on, the Ole Ole's are still jumping up and down about it.
    what is an ole ole?

Page 10 of 23 FirstFirst ... 8910111220 ... LastLast