Page 1 of 23 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Ireland ask FIFA to be 33rd team in WC

Ireland ask FIFA to be 33rd team in WC

Blatter says request will be discussed on Wednesday. Bit of a joke I think, we would have only got a draw if Henry hadn't handled. Makes us look like a joke

Source - SSN
    Hunky Dorys Park - could be worse, we could be going to Old Trafford every other week

Totally ridiculous at this stage

82 Posts
    But everybody loves the Irish.........

What is this country coming to? Naive in the extreme.

Embarrassing

253 Posts
    Who cares what it looks like, if they're not gonna give us a fair chance to compete for a spot, then giving us a spot is fine. Nobody asked for a free ride, all we asked was for a fair chance to compete for a spot.
    Eirebhoy's "We Love You" Chant. RIP:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V7UfSbASyrQ

253 Posts
    From RTE:

With a replay ruled out, Blatter claimed the FAI had subsequently requested to be included as an extra country at the World Cup.

'Naturally they were unhappy with what happened and asked very humbly whether they could be team number 33,' said Blatter.

'I will bring it to the attention of the executive committee but if we do that, we will also have to bring in Costa Rica.'

The Costa Ricans believe they too were eliminated unfairly - this time by an offside goal scored by Uruguay - but Blatter's tone suggested it was inconceivable FIFA would add any more countries to the 32-team finals next year.
    http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2009/..._blatters.html
    Eirebhoy's "We Love You" Chant. RIP:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V7UfSbASyrQ

id take it.

it would actually bring back some credibility in the "fair play" slogan.

I am simply cringing at this stage. It cant and wont happen. We are being made to look like fools now from the foreign media

Quote Originally Posted by Celdrog View Post
    Blatter says request will be discussed on Wednesday. Bit of a joke I think, we would have only got a draw if Henry hadn't handled. Makes us look like a joke

Source - SSN
    Do you not agree it's a far bigger joke that France are in the World Cup on the basis of a guy practically throwing the ball across the goalmouth to another player?

The only joke in all of this is that France cheated their way to the world cup, and are laughing at the poor dumb Irish who don't know any better. The integrity of the game, and the integrity of the World Cup has been destroyed, by a few people looking to earn extra cash from TV deals.

We know FIFA care nothing about the integrity of the game, so it's left to genuine true supporters to stand up for the integrity of the game.

Basically we were kicked between the legs by FIFA with the seedings and we were kicked between the legs by Henry/Hansson/FIFA over the goal that never was, and yet you have people saying "It's grand, we should get over it, it would be embarrassing to complain".

Where is the pride of all the people who say such things? Imagine if we said to the English when they ruled Ireland, it's grand, don't worry about it, it's getting embarrassing to complain at this stage.

This goal will be as wrong in 50 years as it was the night of the match. In 50 years people will look back and say, Ireland were cheated, and some people did nothing about it.
    Last edited by Emmet7; 30/11/2009 at 11:01 AM.

155 Posts
    The neck of Delaney gets bigger and bigger

Jesus if FIFA give bonus world cup places on based of referee errors then all bloody 200 teams would have right to claim a place in tournament

chew on your sour grapes Delaney, what goes around comes around

112 Posts
    Oh God. Can we not let it go? It's getting absolutely desperate. From the world on our side to the world laughing at us.
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

Embarrassing beyond belief...

30 Posts
    Read somewhere that Costa Rica are looking at this situation and if Ireland are
    #33 they will look to be #34 as they were knocked out by an offside goal from
    Uraguay

Everybody feels aggrieved at what happened but once the replay suggestion was nailed, that's it.

Desperate Delaney making a total donkey of himself and the country; he should move on and admit those madly priced Vantage club tkts needed to be vastly reduced!

130 Posts
    I think this request was made in the few days following the game. In fairness to the FAI, if they did nothing, there would be complaints as well. Its not going to happen but like the replay was worth a try at the time.

At least the words Blatter used this time are more acceptable i.e. use of the word cheating!

“How can it happen that all over the world, through tv cameras, we have seen through a cheating handball that a pass was given for a goal?” said Blatter.

“Everyone is asking what is and what isn’t fair play. The highest crime in football is touching the ball with the hands.”

Read more: http://www.breakingnews.ie/sport/bla...#ixzz0YLPBeKZS

I agree that this is getting a bit ridiculous but no more ridiculous than that clown Blatter being the fat controller of world football - how ridiculous is that.
    I also take exception to his comparison of our case to Costa Rica
    Regarding the Republic's case, the president added that Costa Rica, who also believe they were unfairly denied a place in the finals - this time because of an offside goal from Uruguay - would also have to be acknowledged if extra places are discussed
    In Costa Rica's case there is no allegation of deliberate cheating - it was a simple refereeing error, not deliberate cheating

Quote Originally Posted by Ash View Post
    Read somewhere that Costa Rica are looking at this situation and if Ireland are
    #33 they will look to be #34 as they were knocked out by an offside goal from
    Uraguay
    we could just playoff against costa rica for the phantom non-existant 33rd spot.

it would have to be a neutral venue - i suggest either Atlantis or that island in Mortal Kombat.

its embarrassing - its over and that should be that

417 Posts
    This is getting ridiculous. Wins over Cyprus and one goal against france in 200 minutes do not make a World Cup Team.
    No Somos muchos pero estamos locos.

52 Posts
    Whats wrong with us, going as the 33rd team? I'd take it like a shot!

I think this could be on the cards!

SA here we come!

Page 1 of 23 12311 ... LastLast