Totally ridiculous at this stage
Blatter says request will be discussed on Wednesday. Bit of a joke I think, we would have only got a draw if Henry hadn't handled. Makes us look like a joke
Source - SSN
Hunky Dorys Park - could be worse, we could be going to Old Trafford every other week
Totally ridiculous at this stage
But everybody loves the Irish.........
What is this country coming to? Naive in the extreme.
Embarrassing
Who cares what it looks like, if they're not gonna give us a fair chance to compete for a spot, then giving us a spot is fine. Nobody asked for a free ride, all we asked was for a fair chance to compete for a spot.
From RTE:
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2009/..._blatters.htmlWith a replay ruled out, Blatter claimed the FAI had subsequently requested to be included as an extra country at the World Cup.
'Naturally they were unhappy with what happened and asked very humbly whether they could be team number 33,' said Blatter.
'I will bring it to the attention of the executive committee but if we do that, we will also have to bring in Costa Rica.'
The Costa Ricans believe they too were eliminated unfairly - this time by an offside goal scored by Uruguay - but Blatter's tone suggested it was inconceivable FIFA would add any more countries to the 32-team finals next year.
id take it.
it would actually bring back some credibility in the "fair play" slogan.
I am simply cringing at this stage. It cant and wont happen. We are being made to look like fools now from the foreign media
Do you not agree it's a far bigger joke that France are in the World Cup on the basis of a guy practically throwing the ball across the goalmouth to another player?
The only joke in all of this is that France cheated their way to the world cup, and are laughing at the poor dumb Irish who don't know any better. The integrity of the game, and the integrity of the World Cup has been destroyed, by a few people looking to earn extra cash from TV deals.
We know FIFA care nothing about the integrity of the game, so it's left to genuine true supporters to stand up for the integrity of the game.
Basically we were kicked between the legs by FIFA with the seedings and we were kicked between the legs by Henry/Hansson/FIFA over the goal that never was, and yet you have people saying "It's grand, we should get over it, it would be embarrassing to complain".
Where is the pride of all the people who say such things? Imagine if we said to the English when they ruled Ireland, it's grand, don't worry about it, it's getting embarrassing to complain at this stage.
This goal will be as wrong in 50 years as it was the night of the match. In 50 years people will look back and say, Ireland were cheated, and some people did nothing about it.
Last edited by Emmet7; 30/11/2009 at 11:01 AM.
The neck of Delaney gets bigger and bigger
Jesus if FIFA give bonus world cup places on based of referee errors then all bloody 200 teams would have right to claim a place in tournament
chew on your sour grapes Delaney, what goes around comes around![]()
Oh God. Can we not let it go? It's getting absolutely desperate. From the world on our side to the world laughing at us.
'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'
Embarrassing beyond belief...
Read somewhere that Costa Rica are looking at this situation and if Ireland are
#33 they will look to be #34 as they were knocked out by an offside goal from
Uraguay
Larry Be Wyse
www.acsportsimages.com
Everybody feels aggrieved at what happened but once the replay suggestion was nailed, that's it.
Desperate Delaney making a total donkey of himself and the country; he should move on and admit those madly priced Vantage club tkts needed to be vastly reduced!
I think this request was made in the few days following the game. In fairness to the FAI, if they did nothing, there would be complaints as well. Its not going to happen but like the replay was worth a try at the time.
At least the words Blatter used this time are more acceptable i.e. use of the word cheating!
“How can it happen that all over the world, through tv cameras, we have seen through a cheating handball that a pass was given for a goal?” said Blatter.
“Everyone is asking what is and what isn’t fair play. The highest crime in football is touching the ball with the hands.”
Read more: http://www.breakingnews.ie/sport/bla...#ixzz0YLPBeKZS
I agree that this is getting a bit ridiculous but no more ridiculous than that clown Blatter being the fat controller of world football - how ridiculous is that.
I also take exception to his comparison of our case to Costa RicaIn Costa Rica's case there is no allegation of deliberate cheating - it was a simple refereeing error, not deliberate cheatingRegarding the Republic's case, the president added that Costa Rica, who also believe they were unfairly denied a place in the finals - this time because of an offside goal from Uruguay - would also have to be acknowledged if extra places are discussed
its embarrassing - its over and that should be that
This is getting ridiculous. Wins over Cyprus and one goal against france in 200 minutes do not make a World Cup Team.
No Somos muchos pero estamos locos.
Whats wrong with us, going as the 33rd team? I'd take it like a shot!
I think this could be on the cards!
SA here we come!