Page 11 of 23 FirstFirst ... 91011121321 ... LastLast

Thread: Ireland ask FIFA to be 33rd team in WC

Quote Originally Posted by bennocelt View Post
    Definitely, more things to be worried about in this country at the moment with floods and all the corruption.
    Ireland is a joke of a country and the reaction to this football match was embarrassing to say the least
    The international section of foot.ie looks like it has been taken over by a gang of school kids who have just discovered the game. Its football, it is always like this, get over it and move on FFS. Just cause you cant have your big **** up in SA or wave your plastic hammer, or sing ole ole till the cows come home.................
    Blatter was right to make a fool of the FAI. It was a bloody joke, a Father Ted moment.
    For real mate? Granted there have been some passionate/angry/even somewhat 'overboard' suggestions in the last few weeks but it is only natural considering the great injustice that was done to the team we are all so proud of and who most would follow to the ends of the earth to support. Your generalising, patronising and extremely bitter above post serves no purpose other than to show up your own ignorance. Seems like you yourself is having difficulty 'getting over it'.
    P.S. Your 'joke of a country' comment says an awful lot about you...

i presume an "OLE OLE" is someone who doesnt have the time nor interest in supporting their local LOI team every friday ie. 95% of irish fans.
    have some sense bennocelt
    Last edited by dan o d; 01/12/2009 at 3:15 PM.

544 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dan o d View Post
    someone who doesnt have the time nor interest in supporting their local LOI team every friday ie. 95% of irish fans
    thanks for the clarification. is it only fridays or does it apply to other days of the week?

LOI teams normally play on fridays

Quote Originally Posted by bennocelt View Post
    Definitely, more things to be worried about in this country at the moment with floods and all the corruption.
    Ireland is a joke of a country and the reaction to this football match was embarrassing to say the least
    The international section of foot.ie looks like it has been taken over by a gang of school kids who have just discovered the game. Its football, it is always like this, get over it and move on FFS. Just cause you cant have your big **** up in SA or wave your plastic hammer, or sing ole ole till the cows come home.................
    Blatter was right to make a fool of the FAI. It was a bloody joke, a Father Ted moment.
    What a load of rubbish. If Ireland is such a "joke of a country", why do you bother posting on this forum?

Blatter stayed quiet for almost a fortnight and has taken advantage of an opportune moment to make a joke out of the situation and deflect attention away from his own association. He's shown utter comtempt for a small football nation, FIFA's own ideal of fair play, and changed the rules when it suited him, so don't tell us he was right to make a fool out of the FAI.

544 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dan o d View Post
    LOI teams normally play on fridays
    all hail the LOI supporter.... the real supporter of our national team

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    Just here at work i had a lot of lads the first few days afterwards saying a disgrace etc, though it happens etc. Feeling sorry for Ireland etc.

Now though since that thing they are like get over it, move on etc. They aren't reading into what he is actually doing, but think we shoud let it go. Its getting overshadowed by the fact that they think we aren't getting over it, and losing sight of the fact that blatter is a cnut. When I actually took time to explain a bit more it was clear to them, but most are just seeing what we have said as "get over it its done now".
    We arent going to SA we should get over it.

The fact that we should still be pushing for video evidence/retroepctive punishment if missed by the ref etc is the POINT. The fact that this has been overshadowed by the ludicrous request for a 33rd spot - is the embarassing bit as is the fact that fans cant see it.

The fact that Blatter is a cnut is hardly stop press news - you dont get to a top job in IOC/FIFA without being one.

You’d wonder why Delaney requested to be the 33rd team thou wouldn’t ya; I’m always suspicious where he’s concerned……..maybe he’s mounting some legal challenge or something……

Ridiculous now; we need to have some dignity and stop clutching at straws it’s OVER.

While I would not criticise the FAI for asking, it was never going to happen.

However there should be some punishment imposed by FIFA. What is the maximum ban for unsporting conduct? Any chance of a six (or seven) game ban for Henry from competitive fixtures?

446 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Newryrep View Post
    The fact that we should still be pushing for video evidence/retroepctive punishment if missed by the ref etc is the POINT. The fact that this has been overshadowed by the ludicrous request for a 33rd spot - is the embarassing bit as is the fact that fans cant see it.

The fact that Blatter is a cnut is hardly stop press news - you dont get to a top job in IOC/FIFA without being one.
    Agreed, except it's a question of approach. The FAI are a bit silly but it's a question of using any approach to try to embarrass Blatter/FIFA. If it works to even the slightest degree, should be happy enough with that.

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    There are 2 issues here really:

(a) Ireland looking for the 33rd spot.

(b) Blatter's public ridicule of it.

As regards (a), it was never going to happen and the FAI must have known this. I wonder why did they mentioned it therefore unless they saw some opening.

I am not of the "get over it" brigade but I am of the "move on" - there is a sharp difference between the two. I will never get over it but I will move on. People should not confuse the two. The FAI should now move on. They have explored every avenue. All doors are shut.

As regards (b), Blatter's reaction was a disgrace for reasons I have already mentioned. ALong with Keane, Dunphy and O'Herlihy, he's off my Christmas card list forever. I suspect he'll lose a lot of sleep over that.

How far the FAI want to further provoke Mr. Blabber is interesting. Does FIFA control UEFA? If so we will never get a major game at Aviva Stadium beyond the Europa Cup Final. It's a risky tact to take.
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

57 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jbyrne View Post
    what a pathetic generalisation
    Much like some on here boldly declaring that the whole of FIFA are "Corrupt"
    Kom Igen, FCK...

Quote Originally Posted by Doire Abu View Post
    I think you're giving the general football supporting public too much credit. This will look to the world as the idiot Irish trying to get in through the back door because they don't understand the rules. It's now obvious that Blatter used ideas thrown around in a private meeting to discredit the FAI. If Delaney doesn't know how Blatter operates, and how politically manipulative the man must be to have reached the top job in a very corrupt FIFA, then he really should resign. He is too naive to represent this country. He should have concentrated on the 5 officials issue and pointed out the unfairness of the seeded teams extra advantage in playing the 2nd leg at home in the EURO 2012 play-offs. That is an issue that might unite the smaller countries together to challenge Blatter on. But he blew it.

Everything you say would make sense if what Blatter says is actualy what happened at that meeting.

However why are people ignoring what is in the official FAI statement which Blatter conveniently ignores, the requests for extra officials, punishments for cheats etc.

Is it quite possible that in the private discussion that Blatter may have suggested sure we could consider a request to give a wild card similar to what Livewrpol got in the champions league a few years ago.... or is it possible that maybe it was a suggestion that maybe FIFA would look good if this was examined etc....

I personally would prefer to hear Delaneys side of what happened in a supposedly private meeting before passing judgement.

One thing is sure Blatter has no credibility at all, and anything he says should be taken with a inch of salt, I mean he has basically said Henry was right to handle the ball.
    Fair Play died Nov 18th 2009, Stade Francais.

[/QUOTE] ALong with Keane, Dunphy and O'Herlihy, he's off my Christmas card list forever[/QUOTE]

whats wrong with bill o herlihy??!!

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ArdeeBhoy View Post
    What's hypocritical about getting them to address the issue of cheating and match-fixing, or do you really think these don't matter??
    Two completely separate issues.

The rules should be amended as soon as possible to apply to future events, but the rules as they applied on the day must stand. Therefore no replay, no 33rd place....

To take a different view in my view is hypocritical in the extreme as you are favouring the application of a certain set of rules supporting our own circumstances, whilst at the same time ignoring another set of rules that do not help our cause.

Also, whilst the facts may be that a huge decision went against us and FIFA are a bunch of corrupt muppets (I tend to support both views), one is not necessarily associated with the other. Both can be true, and yet not be linked.

Quote Originally Posted by Newryrep View Post
    We arent going to SA we should get over it.

The fact is we dont know what happened in the meeting, all we know is Blatter broke a confidence and that shouldnt come as a surprise, so all anger should be directed at him.
    Fair Play died Nov 18th 2009, Stade Francais.

john delany knows that the introduction of video evidence isnt going to make up for the millions of euros the fai would have recieved had we made it to the world cup

446 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy View Post
    Two completely separate issues.

The rules should be amended as soon as possible to apply to future events, but the rules as they applied on the day must stand. Therefore no replay, no 33rd place....

To take a different view in my view is hypocritical in the extreme as you are favouring the application of a certain set of rules supporting our own circumstances, whilst at the same time ignoring another set of rules that do not help our cause.

Also, whilst the facts may be that a huge decision went against us and FIFA are a bunch of corrupt muppets (I tend to support both views), one is not necessarily associated with the other. Both can be true, and yet not be linked.
    Fair enough but they're also making up the rules as they go along....

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Scooby Doo View Post
    For real mate? Granted there have been some passionate/angry/even somewhat 'overboard' suggestions in the last few weeks but it is only natural considering the great injustice that was done to the team we are all so proud of and who most would follow to the ends of the earth to support. Your generalising, patronising and extremely bitter above post serves no purpose other than to show up your own ignorance. Seems like you yourself is having difficulty 'getting over it'.
    P.S. Your 'joke of a country' comment says an awful lot about you...
    So what, I am not going to be crying over it for the next year or whatever, move on.
    All ye guys here moaning, the fact is Ireland are not in the World Cup. End of story

Sorry Ireland is a great place, how silly of me to think otherwise!

Quote Originally Posted by Greenforever View Post
    Everything you say would make sense if what Blatter says is actualy what happened at that meeting.

However why are people ignoring what is in the official FAI statement which Blatter conveniently ignores, the requests for extra officials, punishments for cheats etc.

Is it quite possible that in the private discussion that Blatter may have suggested sure we could consider a request to give a wild card similar to what Livewrpol got in the champions league a few years ago.... or is it possible that maybe it was a suggestion that maybe FIFA would look good if this was examined etc....

I personally would prefer to hear Delaneys side of what happened in a supposedly private meeting before passing judgement.

One thing is sure Blatter has no credibility at all, and anything he says should be taken with a inch of salt, I mean he has basically said Henry was right to handle the ball.
    I'd agree with most of that, Blatter completely ignored the official release from the FAI, exonerated Henry, and I would trust him as far as I could throw him, which considering the number of free dinners the cnut has had, that's not far. But I was taking what was reported in the Examiner today attributed to Brady.

“He’s a bit of a loose cannon. He’s an embarrassment to FIFA,” Brady told Sky Sports News.

Explaining the decision to approach FIFA and ask to be included in the World Cup draw, Brady revealed the FAI knew the request was likely to be dismissed.

He said: “I think when we asked for that we knew there was very little chance of that happening.

“We asked because we wanted to have them respond in a measured way, and see what they had to say.

“After all Mr Blatter was responsible for the (match) official.

“He didn’t say anything about the appalling mistake the official made to miss a blatant handball.”

Page 11 of 23 FirstFirst ... 91011121321 ... LastLast