Page 6 of 9 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast

Thread: Rovers make official complaint to FAI about Bohs spending practices

"Conway accepted the schoolboys outlay was steep but said the club forked out 60,000 in 2008 on kitting out teams"

If the net cost to Bohs of running the schoolboys was only 20K, then why is he admitting the "outlay was steep"?

Did Bohs declare the 110K raised by the schoolboys section in their main accounts as income alongside 130K spent in the area as expenses.

Or did they just declare the net 20K subsidy to the schoolboys as an expense?

If any club had an 110K extra income on the books would entitle them to spend an extra 65% of 110K = 71K on first team players wages and in effect help bypass the spirit of the 65% rule!

bhs

Quote Originally Posted by LukeO View Post
    Basic breakdown of 130k here http://foot.ie/forums/showpost.php?p...&postcount=109 . A more detailed version will be available to FAI (not to a Foot.ie trial by keyboard warriors, though) if they have not seen it already, that is.
    There is no point in using logic in your arguments with all the rumours & bulls**t been thrown around (Unmoderated I might add!).

As previous posters said Rovers have used the media for a bit of PR to show themselves as an example to everyone & get a dig at their rivals Bohs.

Quote Originally Posted by blackholesun View Post
    Did Bohs declare the 110K raised by the schoolboys section in their main accounts as income alongside 130K spent in the area as expenses.

Or did they just declare the net 20K subsidy to the schoolboys as an expense?

If any club had an 110K extra income on the books would entitle them to spend an extra 65% of 110K = 71K on first team players wages and in effect help bypass the spirit of the 65% rule!

bhs
    I've already said the 110k was included in other headings that weren't specific to the schoolboys section but that separate accounts specific to the schoolboys section are available to the FAI if they have any query in relation to its income/expenditure.

Bypass the spirit of the 65% rule? ALL income counts towards the 65% rule.

Quote Originally Posted by wexfordned View Post
    As previous posters said Rovers have used the media for a bit of PR to show themselves as an example to everyone & get a dig at their rivals Bohs.
    Yeah, and Bohs tried to stir up a nice racism story on Rovers looking for points deduction/matches behind closed doors. Ye are as bad as each other.

Nothing will happen to bohs anyway, the only hope is that the FAI tighten the 65% rule so much that this accusation can't be levelled anyway. That's no doubt a forlorn hope, but still.

Quote Originally Posted by BYCTWD View Post
    Why should I believe you over other Bohs fans? Seriously?
    Don't then.

82 Posts
    The thread will go round in circles until the FAI come out and say something definitive.

To do that, they will have to prove that Bohs went beyond breaking the spirit of the legislation, and actually broke the rules. This will be difficult, but not impossible.

I've no problem with Rovers dragging it into public view, as the worst case scenario is that the rules around application of the cap gets tightened up going forward.

I'm not particularly bothered by the Rossiter allegation as I know it to be untrue but it just shows the double standards in how things are moderated here. It's a serious allegation which effectively accuses Bohs and Mark Rossiter of fraud, all based on unfounded rumours. If Bohs/Rossiter were that way inclined, they could easily sue Foot.ie for allowing such allegations appear and, worse, for not taking them down.

Bahhhh...

75 Posts

Foot.ie!

Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    are the moderators actually going to start moderating here?

Rovers themselves say they have NO EVIDENCE yet everything and every accusation under the sun is being thrown at Bohs here. From Derry (ha!), Dundalk (ha!) and Rovers fans (jaysis) and one particularly nasty Waterford fan.

Absolutely brutal.

Why dont people just let this run its course - if we are guilty of something Rovers (and the fact that theyve gone to the media with this) have ensured it will be discovered sonner or later. If we are not guilty, then this will die its death.

Who said Rovers Leaked it Philip Quinn is a lifelong Bohs Fan and I wouldnt put it past the Bohs Board or Certain Members from Leaking this to try and make Rovers look the Villians in this.
    We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"

More shoddy moderating, allowing an unfounded lie to be presented as fact. Mark Rossiter has one contract - for playing.

As for the jump in figures, the state of our youth section pre-08 is explained in a link in my post on the previous page. The breakdown for schoolboy expenditure in 08 was roughly: 70k to Umbro (40k on training gear, 20k on match kits and 10k on equipment), 40k on Youth Development officer (which in the previous year was included under the technical staff heading) and 20k to DCU. The 110k income from the schoolboys section comes from subs, kids paying for kit, separate shirt sponsorship, summer soccer camps, UEFA grant etc. As far as I know the income side is not filed under a specific schoolboy section heading (instead sucked into different appropriate income headings) but there are schoolboy section-specific accounts which I'm sure will be made available to the FAI.

Not getting my knickers in a twist, I've explained to the best of my ability all the unfounded allegations thrown at the club (here: http://foot.ie/forums/showpost.php?p...3&postcount=96 ). Why I bothered, I'm not so sure. I'm just very disappointed with Shamrock Rovers on this one. I respected the professionalism and hard work of their board, but this is just pettiness. Our accounts have been available (and on the Rovers message board!!) since February, if they really thought we had a case to answer, they would have brought our figures to the attention of the FAI then. I'm certainly not bricking it either, there is no case to answer.
    Quote Originally Posted by Leejo View Post
    Primary school? Jaysus nice touch mate.

Right, thanks for re-posting your original post and completely ignoring my point. Now I'd like to restate my point that Rossi is on a part time contract.

Research: http://www.bohemians.ie/component/jo...yer&p=1&pid=19 Pay particular attention to the last line of the first paragraph, notice the word part time.

More research: http://www.sligoweekender.ie/news/story/?trs=mhcwsngbkf

It's commonly known Mark is on a part time contract, if he was receiving no financial reward for playing football he would be classed as an amateur, no? He is legally allowed to play football part time, not full time. Once again I ask what's the problem there?

No one is saying Mark does or doesn't get paid for a coaching role but to say he ONLY gets paid for a coaching role as a means of avoiding the 65% salary cap is pure and utter tripe. Possible slander?

But then again you probably know more about my club than I do...

You mean none of them? Yet.*

*I added in the "yet" before someone else did, I'll remove once the figures are released and it is shown that we are legally under the 65% SCP
    I certainly dont want to slander mark rossiter but i am getting very mixed responses here. Does anyone know if he has a contract for coaching with bohemians football club?

Would it not be great if Sligo employed chris turner and raf cretaro as coaches for the coming season and then we could really make our club successful but in time bankrupt?

Not saying that bohs would do something like that

A small piece in today's Irish Mail saying that Bohs officials attended a meeting with the FAI on Wednesday night in Abbottstown and linking it with the story on Rovers raising the issue of Bohs accounts.

Maybe the FAI are looking into it?
    A transient, horrible, fantastic dream,
    Wherein is nothing yet all things do seem:
    From which we're wakened by a friendly nudge
    Of our bedfellow Death, and cry: "O fudge!"

Ambrose Bierce

60 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy View Post
    The thread will go round in circles until the FAI come out and say something definitive.
    In that case, Ladies and Genltemen, I give you the future of the thread.
    That question was less stupid, though you asked it in a profoundly stupid way.

Help me, Arthur Murphy, you're my only hope!

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    I bow to no one. bar Bluebeard and Mr A

Quote Originally Posted by sligored View Post
    I certainly dont want to slander mark rossiter but i am getting very mixed responses here. Does anyone know if he has a contract for coaching with bohemians football club?
    He doesn't. Whether you choose to believe me is up to you.

Absolutely love this thread, the indignation of Bohs fans is hilarious. All the more so when you think back to the mock outrage, feigned hysteria and their mass campaign to have Rovers punished (fined, docked points, kicked out of Tallaght, behind closed doors, relegated, etc etc) for alledged racism.

I do see where they're coming from claiming that this stems from Rovers bitterness, but when you consider the above, its more enjoyable to laugh at them than side with them.

To me, its blatantly obvious there is something amiss with the Bohs figures. Their fans posting here would be better off saying nothing, as they're coming off worse by a mile.

I don't like the idea of clubs squealing on eachother but if the means justifies the end, then so be it.

I think whoever said the thread is chasing its tail had it right. Shamrock have had their spiteful day and no racism-minimising equivalence with the SARI-endorsed complaint is going to change that.

I also agree that Bohs fans are on a hiding to nothing trying to reason with a baying mob when unsubstantiated allegations are tolerated. (Sorry Luke. I know you've been playing a blinder .)

Where we should have discussion, we now have farce. It's up to the FAI now to give the penalty or else card the diver.

Quote Originally Posted by Macy View Post
    If there's nothing to it, why are the Bohs fans getting their knickers in such a twist? Even if there is something to it, does anyone expect the FAI to act? tbh, the most telling part is that, to me anyway, it looks like bohs fans are actually bricking it...
    Erm, no. To me it's all about defending the reputation of my club who have had crazy accusations accused of them. I look forward to an honest apology to all those who have said that Bohs have cheated and cooked the books.

How are you getting mixed responses? I refuted your ridiculous claims that he ONLY gets paid as a coach and told you for a fact that he is on a part time contract and that I genuinely didn't know if he is contracted as a coach as well as a player. Since then Lukeo has come out and said he has one contract - as a player and I'd be very inclined to believe him, he'd be in a better position to answer than me and he'd be very much a man in the know.

Nice try on getting the thread closed. The 'allegation' came from other Bohs fans. You are asking the mods to make a call on one Fact! over another Fact! from the same supporters.

If you can clarify one way or the other, please do.
    Allegation http://foot.ie/forums/showpost.php?p...1&postcount=80. That's funny, I always thought Sligored was a Sligo Rovers fan. Must be his name and avater that threw me though.

Show me a post where a Bohs fan says in simple terms Mark Rossiter get's paid as a coach not a player.

Edit - Before you go ahead and point the finger at me, my post here http://foot.ie/forums/showpost.php?p...5&postcount=81 does not say he is only paid as a coach not a player. It says he might be paid as a coach AND a player, it was a rumour I heard and chose to neither ignore nor deny it. It has since been brought to my attention by someone who would know (not Lukeo) that he has one contract - as a player.
    Last edited by Leejo; 27/11/2009 at 1:45 PM.

He is paid big money for coaching instead of wages- another way of avoiding the 65% cap.
    So you posted saying he's getting paid as a coach as if it was fact and now you're asking does anyone know if he has a coaching contract?

So obviously you're just guessing then?

So you posted saying he's getting paid as a coach as if it was fact and now you're asking does anyone know if he has a coaching contract?
    It works for Shamrock. Just make the allegation. Mud will stick.

3,491 Posts
    I don't think anyone is asking you to close it, but some moderation would not go amiss. How you can allow unfounded posts claiming that Mark Rossiter is paid as a coach/barman/ballboy stay up is beyond me. He is paid as a player - end of.
    Fair enough on the Mark Rossiter point. I'm not around mostentimes this weekend so don't have time to go through the thread in full detail. You should know by now to report any post with which you have a problem rather than whine in thread, where it'll get missed.

However, while the questions are valid in general, any more speculation on whether Mark Rossiter is paid for coaching or playing or running the bar or whatever will be deleted unless it's backed up. I trust that's a fair compromise.

Quote Originally Posted by LukeO
    Yes they did, BohsPartisan got an infraction for this:
    "John83 - that's a ridiculous implication to take from what I said. Its the fact the Gardaí treat fans like cattle that's the problem. I'm aware you won't have that problem at UCD seeing as there are so few of you so it would be hard to understand." In short, for saying that UCD have a small fanbase.
    Nope, he got an infraction for dismissing John83's post purely because he was a UCD fan, which is against the rules. Perhaps you should read up on them.

Quote Originally Posted by BohDiddley
    It worked for Shamrock. Just make the allegation.
    What allegation have Rovers made?

Nice try on getting the thread closed.
    I'm not trying to get the thread closed by any stretch of the imagination. All I asked for was for some moderation. Allegations should not be allowed to be presented as fact.

Page 6 of 9 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast