Page 7 of 12 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast

Thread: 2009 Cup Final - Mid and Post-mortem

1,104 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sligofan4ever View Post
    Chances are the buses back to Sligo have been more lively than any form of celebration SF fans have had yet.
    The players have probably all gone their separate ways as well. Again I can only think back to how I felt and the night that was had by players, fans and directors etc all together in 2003 and I think it's come a bit easy to the Fingal fans. Those posting on here anyway. It's as if it's no more than they should expect. I suppose when you have seen the bad times you learn to appreciate the good all the more.

61 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    The players have probably all gone their separate ways as well. Again I can only think back to how I felt and the night that was had by players, fans and directors etc all together in 2003 and I think it's come a bit easy to the Fingal fans. Those posting on here anyway. It's as if it's no more than they should expect. I suppose when you have seen the bad times you learn to appreciate the good all the more.
    Just because you dont know about it doesnt mean that there isnt any

What are you trying to say with your " It's as if it's no more than they should expect "

61 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Red&White Rover View Post
    Could someone please show me where Rovers fans are saying we deserved to win because we had more fans? Where is this sentiment coming from?

If you were there, you'd see what I mean when I say it meant nothing to the Fingal fans and I'd imagine anyone else who was there (bar the Fingal supporters on here) would back me up.

Also I have to say you come across as incredibly bitter towards Sligo Rovers. I think you may be the one who needs to build a bridge.
    Again that comment is unfounded and dont use the word bitter as you may get an infraction

Quote Originally Posted by brendy_éire View Post
    I'm not exactly a fan of having another Dublin club in the League, but what Fingal have achieved in the space of two years is amazing. Coming from nowhere to gain promotion within two years and winning a cup in the process. It's really something.
    Is it really amazing though ? The clue is in the fact that a club with next to no support week-in week-out manages to have the likes of Eamon Zayed, Stephen Paisley etc on its books. I wonder how they managed that.....?

So no - it's not amazing. It's money. And it's an unsustainable club that bears an uncanny resemblance to the Dublin City experiment. Granted - Fingal are making genuine efforts to tap into their locality, but it takes years to build-up a fan-base for a football team. I doubt Fingal's friendly property backer will continue to throw money at them until they do.

Compare Fingal to Wexford Youths and you'll see the difference between a new club that is genuinely building-up slowly and one that is just using someone else's money to try to fast-track that which can't be expedited. It's difficult to see anything other than a car crash in Fingal's future at some point.

The Lep,
    RW comes on here and gives a ****ing honest, considered, gutted response and you go all smug about it. WTF?

Would you have been gutted yourself if you lost today?
    I doubt it.
    In tears?
    Hardly.
    Would you celebrate well if you won?
    Evidently not.

Please leave us the **** alone and quit talking ****e.

100 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by WoodquayBoy View Post
    The fans of the future
    It's not as if they are the only club without juvenile fans.
    You've got no fans.

Quote Originally Posted by The Lep View Post
    There have been plenty of goals scored from the off after a goal. My point being that only the real sligo fans stayed behind to show respect to their players for the work they put in .
    A lecture on how to be a 'real' football fan.

From the follower of a makey-uppy footballing franchise that's been in existence for barely two years

For everything else in life there's Mastercard...

Im absolutely gutted here!But would like to say congrats to Fingal really thought this one was ours.But thats football.I have one question Is it true that fingal county council is funding ye?

Also just to point out that even do we didnt win on our european trip this season we were severly capped by the Fai at the start of the season I dont think been beat 2-1agg is disgrace.If had what was our finishing team then I think results would have been different.
    Also want to say "That I go to all games in a season and for no other reason then I had kids that were frozen after the game I was not willing to hang round any longer then need be.

Also we had alot of sunshiners there today that will use todays game an excuse not to go week in week out and will turn up just at next big game.
    Till d End!

61 Posts

Talking

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve View Post
    Is it really amazing though ? The clue is in the fact that a club with next to no support week-in week-out manages to have the likes of Eamon Zayed, Stephen Paisley etc on its books. I wonder how they managed that.....?

So no - it's not amazing. It's money. And it's an unsustainable club that bears an uncanny resemblance to the Dublin City experiment. Granted - Fingal are making genuine efforts to tap into their locality, but it takes years to build-up a fan-base for a football team. I doubt Fingal's friendly property backer will continue to throw money at them until they do.

Compare Fingal to Wexford Youths and you'll see the difference between a new club that is genuinely building-up slowly and one that is just using someone else's money to try to fast-track that which can't be expedited. It's difficult to see anything other than a car crash in Fingal's future at some point.
    What does it matter, we just won the cup

61 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve View Post
    A lecture on how to be a 'real' football fan.

From the follower of a makey-uppy footballing franchise that's been in existence for barely two years

For everything else in life there's Mastercard...
    Another great post from the man himself

You arnt in a position to be talking about makey up now are you

61 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Shiba View Post
    Im absolutely gutted here!But would like to say congrats to Fingal really thought this one was ours.But thats football.I have one question Is it true that fingal county council is funding ye?

Also just to point out that even do we didnt win on our european trip this season we were severly capped by the Fai at the start of the season I dont think been beat 2-1agg is disgrace.If had what was our finishing team then I think results would have been different.
    Also want to say "That I go to all games in a season and for no other reason then I had kids that were frozen after the game I was not willing to hang round any longer then need be.

Also we had alot of sunshiners there today that will use todays game an excuse not to go week in week out and will turn up just at next big game.
    No, fcc are not funding the club. They are assisting in other ways.

21 Posts
    The only sligo fans i have respect for and it kills me to say it is those in the far corner of the east stand that stayed and showed their respect to the sligo players until they left the pitch after collecting the medals. Those that turned their backs on their players after the effort they put in are not true fans. There was plenty of fans in red there today that never seen sligo play before or has no intention of doing so unless its a big game so look closer to home before posting silly comments about Sporting Fingal.
    You were unlucky today and won nothing this year but whats done is done and its now time to regroup and come out fighting come march all nice and refreshed and bright eyed and bushy tailed for the season ahead.
    Im sure sligo will be stronger next season and could push for a euro spot.
    I am probably posting on here longer than your club are in existience. Come back and post when you become wiser.

61 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SligoBrewer View Post
    The Lep,
    RW comes on here and gives a ****ing honest, considered, gutted response and you go all smug about it. WTF?

Would you have been gutted yourself if you lost today?
    I doubt it.
    In tears?
    Hardly.
    Would you celebrate well if you won?
    Evidently not.

Please leave us the **** alone and quit talking ****e.
    Gutted ? yes
    In tears? maybe not
    There isnt a set law on how and when to celebrate and read a previous post on that subject.

Leave you alone? what are you on about? I could say the same to others on here that constantly have childish digs about fingal. I posted in favour of sligo yet all that comes back is the same all rubbish that has been posted about sporting fingal over and over again and im supposed to agree with it? Am i not like you and your fellow supporters allowed to respond to negative comments about my team that has just won the cup? If you dont like negative comments about your club then please dont post any about others and then play the victim when you dont like the response. Im not here to have a pop at anyone or their club unlike others who seem to enjoy putting us down.

61 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by red bellied View Post
    I am probably posting on here longer than your club are in existience. Come back and post when you become wiser.
    What has the length of your stay on here got to do with anything?
    Last edited by The Lep; 23/11/2009 at 12:35 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by total hoofball View Post
    I don't see any level of animosity for the likes of Wexford Youths

This country is on its knees because of the cosy relationship between politics and developers

Sporting Fingal are funded by Gerry Gannon, a property developer, a Fianna Fáil benefactor and a member of infamous Anglo Irish Bank 'Golden Circle' that is inevitably going to cost taxpayers millions. it is not ethically appropriate that this man is funding Fingal County Council's football franchise when this country has been economically and socially devastated by political and developer relationships.

That is why Sporting Fingal are hated.
    Educate yourself on the facts. And then we might talk.

1,104 Posts
    Just because you dont know about it doesnt mean that there isnt any

What are you trying to say with your " It's as if it's no more than they should expect "
    That's what I asked you, is there any celebration, meaning could you not have gone to it instead of coming on here?. Im trying to say that from the posts of fans who were there and from your posts it's coming across that you don't feel the same sense of jubilation and ecstacy that comes with having had to wait and to work for success. That's been a pretty universal feeling I'd reckon when a team wins its first important trophy. Anyhow, that's all I'm going to say on it. Enjoy the win, you don't know how long it could be before your next.

Finally got true all the posts. Im pretty ****ed right now so excuse any spellings. What a great night for our club. It was so important we won tonight for the future of our club. We had a decent suport tonight and it was great to see. Fair play to Sligo, what a good team and great support you have. Hopefully we will get there some day.

Thank you to fingal for giving me my best nigth of football. To all the negative posters. Who cares. We won the cup and are promoted. Get over it.

SFFC ARE WE ARE WE ARE WE

61 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    That's what I asked you, is there any celebration, meaning could you not have gone to it instead of coming on here?. Im trying to say that from the posts of fans who were there and from your posts it's coming across that you don't feel the same sense of jubilation and ecstacy that comes with having had to wait and to work for success. That's been a pretty universal feeling I'd reckon when a team wins its first important trophy. Anyhow, that's all I'm going to say on it. Enjoy the win, you don't know how long it could be before your next.
    If you bothered to read the thread then you would get your own answers.
    If you stood next to me at the final whistle then you would know how i felt and that feeling hasnt left me . Keep at it, you are doing well.

What does it matter, we just won the cup
    Correction - you just bought the cup.....

Another great post from the man himself

You arnt in a position to be talking about makey up now are you
    Our club doesn't even exist any more, and yet we still have dramatically more fans than your fabricated franchise.....

Keep teeing them up for me there big man.

Page 7 of 12 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast