Page 10 of 12 FirstFirst ... 89101112 LastLast

Thread: 2009 Cup Final - Mid and Post-mortem

Quote Originally Posted by The Lep View Post
    Shels fan? that explains a lot of your posts
    That one was most probably correct Lep. What has he to gain from telling lies?
    What have I to gain by saying the same thing as HB?

We wouldn't be making this up for the craic.

33 Posts
    Went to the game yesterday, picked up a ticket from the Umbro Store an hour before kick-off.

Fair Play to all the fans who withstood the weather 'til the end, for me that was the biggest credit of the day.

Though Fingal had the best of the first half and could have got more from the penalty appeals to Alan Kelly. But of the rain is in your hair, that's very distracting.
    For Sligo's first goal it looked like a Sporting defender handled the ball on or over the line before pushing it onto the inside of the post? Maybe Maher?

Enjoyed the second half, as predicted on this forum both sides tried to play football even though the weather was horrible.

Liked the mats in the technical area.

Best moment, UCD AFC (1984) coming out at half-time to the applause of the crowd.

I learnt that Liam Buckley is an Official Sporting Fingal Legend!!!
    " I'll go right up to here,
    it can't possibly hurt.
    All they will find is my
    beer and my shirt."

433 Posts
    Some rant there...!
    Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

112 Posts
    Deleted it for obvious reasons.
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

You friends with the tooth fairy and santa as well?
    Go away, the big boys are talking son.

Shels fan? that explains a lot of your posts
    Really? What posts are they? The 2 in this thread because i'll explain them if requested, as i stated to Lamper. Me being a Shels fan won't help in explaining them at all.
    Last edited by Hairy Bowsie; 23/11/2009 at 10:49 PM.
    They always cheat, they always lie
    **** Delaney and the FAI

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dunny View Post
    Some rant there...!
    damn missed it

112 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Hairy Bowsie View Post
    Go away, the big boys are taking son.
    Less of the trolling please. Keep it on topic folks.
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

33 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dunny View Post
    Some rant there...!
    Quote Originally Posted by Pauro 76 View Post
    Deleted it for obvious reasons.
    Quote Originally Posted by bennocelt View Post
    damn missed it
    Oh Thank God! I thought it was my own post the other two were talking about.
    " I'll go right up to here,
    it can't possibly hurt.
    All they will find is my
    beer and my shirt."

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve View Post
    Our club doesn't even exist any more, and yet we still have dramatically more fans than your fabricated franchise.....
    How can a club that doesnt exist have more fans than anyone? how can you support a team that doesnt exist
    Very easily - as you well know.

Meanwhile - how can you support a team that was only pulled out a County Council-owned magician's hat 2 years ago....?

61 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SligoBrewer View Post
    That one was most probably correct Lep. What has he to gain from telling lies?
    What have I to gain by saying the same thing as HB?

We wouldn't be making this up for the craic.
    I beg to differ.

61 Posts
    Very easily - as you well know.

Meanwhile - how can you support a team that was only pulled out a County Council-owned magician's hat 2 years ago....?
    Are you for real? So you support a team that doest exsist? do you all sit looking at an empty field imagining the match?

I'm giving you the benefit of the doubt that you really are that stupid, so I'll explain.

The season is finished. No clubs are playing at the moment.

When the next season starts, hopefully we'll be in the league again. If not, then we should be back after a year or so.

But as no LOI teams are playing any football at the moment, there's none to watch.

And even if Derry fans were staring at an empty field imagining a match, it'd still be preferable to being Fingal players staring at an empty stand and imagining a crowd....

genuine question for the fingal fans i heard there were a fair few kids team down on fingal tickets so in short two parts to this 1 is it true(i know of at least one team of u10's there cos i work with that teams manager so dont say none)and 2 if it is true did the kids or their clubs pay for the tickets or were they freebies?

actually second part of that leads me on to a general question,are you allowed give away freebies for a cup final??

61 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by marinobohs View Post
    Clumsy more than intentional by the keeper but thought it was a penalty to be honest. Must say I thought Kelly did well as ref yesterday, he kept the game flowing and did not chase the limelight (as has sometimes previously occurred)
    Thats what i thought as well, it was an unlucky penalty to give away but maybe it it was justice done after sligo got away with a penalty in the first half. I though the ref had a good game as well, and wasnt card happy. Boco was good down the wing as well and it could have been diffrent if raf hadnt gone off.

They weren't free as such. The club payed for them and then gave them away free, and handed back what they couldn't give away.
    Last edited by Hairy Bowsie; 23/11/2009 at 11:01 PM.
    They always cheat, they always lie
    **** Delaney and the FAI

Quote Originally Posted by stamullendrog View Post
    genuine question for the fingal fans i heard there were a fair few kids team down on fingal tickets so in short two parts to this 1 is it true(i know of at least one team of u10's there cos i work with that teams manager so dont say none)and 2 if it is true did the kids or their clubs pay for the tickets or were they freebies?

actually second part of that leads me on to a general question,are you allowed give away freebies for a cup final??
    Rows of kids in the stands identical tracksuits were occasionally visible on TV. So either North Dubliners have an extremely homogenous fashion sense or there were youth teams there.

As for giving tickets away for free - you could roll them up into a big spiff and smoke 'em to your hearts content, so long as you gave the FAI the money for them.

Rows of kids in the stands identical tracksuits were occasionally visible on TV. So either North Dubliners have an extremely homogenous fashion sense or there were youth teams there.

As for giving tickets away for free - you could roll them up into a big spiff and smoke 'em to your hearts content, so long as you gave the FAI the money for them.
    i suppose what i was getting at really was did fingal take a hit to make it look like they brought a good crowd

61 Posts

I dont understand your first question,. NDSL teams got allocations of tickets to sell, how they sold them i dont know.
    There was a good few kids teams at the final as i could see but i cant tell you whether they were given free tickets or they bought from their allocation.
    Maybe the kids that played the half time penos might have got free tickets for themselves but i wouldnt know for sure.

second question,
    I cant see why you cant give away freebies for a final if you bought the tickets in the first place. It would be like me giving away a ticket i didnt want and not charging for it.

61 Posts
    i suppose what i was getting at really was did fingal take a hit to make it look like they brought a good crowd
    No, i wouldnt think so but if they did then it may have worked in our favour after the win if our home attendances ( not taking in the away fans ) are a lot higher next year.

I'm giving you the benefit of the doubt that you really are that stupid, so I'll explain.

The season is finished. No clubs are playing at the moment.

When the next season starts, hopefully we'll be in the league again. If not, then we should be back after a year or so.

But as no LOI teams are playing any football at the moment, there's none to watch.

And even if Derry fans were staring at an empty field imagining a match, it'd still be preferable to being Fingal players staring at an empty stand and imagining a crowd....
    Now you have said your piece. Feel better? Lets move on.

What an end to our season. Cheers for any of the compliments lads. Its nice for a change.

Im sure sligo fans feel a bit down after what happened, I know it would have killed me. Fair play to your singing section who stayed well after it was necessary, to cheer your team

On a different note. What a great manager yous have. Seen his interview today. He is a credit to your club. No bitterness from him and no excuses. Great to see. Honesty in a sport that has been knocked for it this week. At least its still alive in our little but great league.

Our two clubs put on a good show and it was a good advertisement for the league.

Page 10 of 12 FirstFirst ... 89101112 LastLast