Ya good luck to the lads!Just heading out the door now!
let us bring the cup home. hope everybody enjoy's the occasion & show the league what supporting a team is all about. best of luck to paul, gerry and players.
Ya good luck to the lads!Just heading out the door now!
Whatever the result lets show.... what Sligo Rovers means......Cmon the bitored
I hope the lads play to their ability and ive no doubt they can win! for the likes of Peers, Cretaro, Ventre, Boco etc i would love to see them win it, they deserve it , Cook also!! A good game and 3-1 rovers!! CMON THE BIT OF RED!will be brilliant atmosphere!!
Going to be attempting to watch/listen to this in a dodgy internet cafe in Rajasthan - probably the only time in my life I'll ever truthfully say "I wish I was in Tallaght".
Come on the Bit o' Red!
"Even if the wind stops to blow
Even if the sea ceases to flow
Even if the sun ceases to rise
The name of Sligo Rovers will shine and shine forever like the morning star glittering in the sky."
"No penalty"
Just back. In shock after that. We were poor I thought. Not one player you could say really had a good game.
Magnificent support. Looked savage with the massive banner moving across the stand at the start.
Fingal were worth their win I thought. We switched off after Cretaro had to go off and thay created as much as we did, probably more.
Penalty may have been debatable but no major injustice was done.
Was a ****e day for football (in more ways than one)
Sad day but we'll have our chance again. Let's hope we don't have to wait as long.
Heart broken it was there for the taking, just hope all those Sligo supporters get home safely, conditions were brutal for the fans and your heart goes out to them. We have the best fans in the country and we deserved a bit more than we got but fair play to Fingal for taking their chances.![]()
just want to say that sligo fans were a credit to the club today and i can only hope the someday fingal will get such support. extra time would probably have been fairer to both teams who at least attempted to play football and it really could have gone either way. until next season
Shattered. So near and yet so far.
I thought we didnt play well in first half but improved a lot at start of second. Penalty dubious but Fingal took chances well.
Sligo support tremendous. Any chance we can build on this and ensure it is not 14 years before we get back to Final again.
Cmon the bitored.
just back am very dissapointed. my heart goes out to the fans especially the ones in the north stand. i feel that fingal were sharper & defo our midfiled lacked bite. for me keane & doyle were our best players. but i won't be critical it was a great cup run. hopefully we can go into next season with a clean bill of health financially but we will have to cut cloth according to measure. tallaght is a lovely stadium when full but i think the fai should learn from their mistakes & play the cup final two weeks earlier. also the ticket debacle still ranks with me, i blame the fai. for a crowd of 8100 that turned out today (in extremly bad weather conditions) they should never have put us through the mill. we had 6500 supporters ther today who travelled far & wide and show that the league & fai cup have genuine support in soccer stronghold such as sligo. i'll say no more
Devastated, Shocked, Depressed and then Jedward get voted out of the Xfactor, worst day of my life.
Seriously though it is not time for recriminations - no matter what happened today I was delighted we were in the final - devastated to lose but proud to get there given the season of ups and downs we had.
Red Arrow - I was in the North Stand to say it was awful would be an undertstatement. We had to send two kids and their mum to the Hotel for warmth at half time the young lads were frozen and soaking wet. They are Super Reds and go to all the home and some away games and as you say it rankles with me also that they were out in the elements whilst some (many?) less frequent followers were in nice shelter in the stand.
Last edited by Guts&Glory; 22/11/2009 at 8:47 PM. Reason: Red Arrow reply
Was in the West Stand myself, Right on the corner flag.
Devasted, We were nowhere near good enough to win a cup final today. Richie Ryan should leave the club after that performance. Doyler had a good game in fairness to him. We seemed to lose it when Raf came off. I would have brought on Turner for him but Meenan came on and did well in fairness. The wind had a major effect aswell. Was sitting right beside the Fingal fans and they were pathetic. 10 of them sung I'd say, and the rest were 6-12 year olds. Fair play to the singing section, Could hear ye throughout.
We blew it completly.
I don't think I've ever felt this bad...such a let down after waiting for so long.
Heartbroken, our support was bloody fantastic. A few tears at full time after waiting so long and to lose in injury time. Such a bad week with what happened Wednesday.
Now I'm just wet, cold and depressed. I think I sprained my ankle too.
Safe trip home lads.