Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Cup final

all the clowns here saying ryan is a great player, best passer and all that bull i hope ye have finally woke up. he is crap. ventre is limited at best. he should never have been captain. cash, ventre ryan, kelly and kendrick were pure muck. kendrick was lucky not to give away a peno. i know the weather was a big factor but too many players froze and were not effective at all. i konw i will get people here saying now that giving out bout them does not help but lets face facts we had the cup in our grasp and they threw it away. after all the effort of going to game and being froze its a pity certain players didnt put in that effort themselves. im sick today, absolutely sick. this has been a hard year as a rovers fan but i will be back again for next season as the pain will have eased shortly. i for one hope cash, ryan and kendrick wont be taking my money as a paid player.

Quote Originally Posted by rovers100% View Post
    all the clowns here saying ryan is a great player, best passer and all that bull i hope ye have finally woke up. he is crap. ventre is limited at best. he should never have been captain. cash, ventre ryan, kelly and kendrick were pure muck. kendrick was lucky not to give away a peno. i know the weather was a big factor but too many players froze and were not effective at all. i konw i will get people here saying now that giving out bout them does not help but lets face facts we had the cup in our grasp and they threw it away. after all the effort of going to game and being froze its a pity certain players didnt put in that effort themselves. im sick today, absolutely sick. this has been a hard year as a rovers fan but i will be back again for next season as the pain will have eased shortly. i for one hope cash, ryan and kendrick wont be taking my money as a paid player.
    I agree with you about Ryan, but why Cash ? sure he didn't set the game alight yesterday, but since August he's been a consistant player and works his arse off, this and Bohs away are the only bad games hes had since August AFAIK, he'd still make a good impact sub IMO.
    Coleman for Ireland

Absolutely gutted. Haven’t been as disappointed with a Rovers defeat since we lost to Bohs in the final in 1970 with the same scoreline. Honestly I never thought I could possibly be as disappointed again.
    Yes the weather was brutal but it was the same for both sides. Personally I’d have chosen to play against the wind in the first half and have the advantage of playing into the Rovers end in the second. It was always going to be a case of which team would suffer the less with nerves and with Fingal having the upper hand in the experience department I guess it was inevitable they would finish the stronger. With six or so minutes remaining I was certain we had it, but there still remained a niggling feeling of doubt which I suppose comes from supporting the Rovers for so long when one always expects the unexpected. If only Morrison had converted that great chance from ten yards then things would have been oh so different. The penalty incident devastated me, 1978 all over again! 30 minutes of extra time seemed the likely outcome and then bang – our hearts were broken.
    Looking around prior to my departure the look on the faces of the sea of red said it all. The manner in which our supporters took defeat really spoke volumes for our club. My heart really goes out to the players but when we consider the damage this defeat has cost not only financially but also in the prospect of attracting top quality players only time will tell how bad this loss will be for the club. This morning Raf has already being quoted as saying it was his last game in a Rovers shirt. Already down 25K as runners-up, not qualifying for Europe and the loss in appeal to better players coming to us really makes for worrying times.
    Like all supporters on here this defeat has numbed me, a shocking way to finish the season. As Cookie said in his TV interview no one remembers the loosing finalists, hopefully we can pick up the pieces over the coming months, regroup and come out the end of this dark time a stronger and better outfit. We have been around for a long time and with support such as yesterday’s we’ll be around for a long time to come. Come on the Bit O’ Red!!!!

Who else could have been captain but Danny V? Peers hates being captain. Danny V always takes charge when O' Grady is out and the players normally respond to it.

Also calling us all clowns, good one. Grand saying it behind a username.

Anyways, couldn't give a ****e what you think. Too gutted to care.

151 Posts
    Lets face facts, guys. We rode out luck so much on our way to the final that it seemed our name was on the trophy. But SF have better players than us, technically, and Eddie Gormley wasn't far wrong when he said they're a top four Premier team. Added to that, we didn't play at all in the first half and we had, in Kendrick and Ryan, two players who are not worthy of a Rovers shirt and I hope I never see them wearing one again. Raf has turned into a Robbie Keane with the arm waving and shouting at refs and it would be interesting to see how he would operate out of his comfort zone.
    Unless we get a centre half, left full and striker to play off Blinkhorn, next season will be a struggle again, Turner or no Turner.

If you're in the penalty area and don't know what to do with the ball, put it in the net and we'll discuss the options later

FORM IS TEMPORARY, CLASS IS PERMANENT

Quote Originally Posted by avvenalaf View Post
    Lets face facts, guys. We rode out luck so much on our way to the final that it seemed our name was on the trophy. But SF have better players than us, technically, and Eddie Gormley wasn't far wrong when he said they're a top four Premier team. Added to that, we didn't play at all in the first half and we had, in Kendrick and Ryan, two players who are not worthy of a Rovers shirt and I hope I never see them wearing one again. Raf has turned into a Robbie Keane with the arm waving and shouting at refs and it would be interesting to see how he would operate out of his comfort zone.
    Unless we get a centre half, left full and striker to play off Blinkhorn, next season will be a struggle again, Turner or no Turner.
    A fully fit Butler will fit the left back position nicely.
    People are going on about Keane being a liability sometimes, what we need is someone incase Peers does go. Can't think of to many defenders we could get, but if I was to choose, i'd like to see something like a straight swap with Bohs for Ken Oman. As for strikers, I dont know who e could bring in. We've signed Chris Turner so dont think there may not be another surpise signing this season.
    Coleman for Ireland

Quote Originally Posted by smellyfeet View Post
    Its even funnier considering they've only been around for two years
    Coleman for Ireland

Quote Originally Posted by sligofan4ever View Post
    Its even funnier considering they've only been around for two years
    Exactly. How do some of these reporters get jobs at all
    If you're in the penalty area and don't know what to do with the ball, put it in the net and we'll discuss the options later

FORM IS TEMPORARY, CLASS IS PERMANENT

Quote Originally Posted by smellyfeet View Post
    Exactly. How do some of these reporters get jobs at all
    These reporters do **** all research on LoI, but you'd expect better for a report of The Cup Final, but this is ane wone, fcuking up after 4 or 5 words into the thing!
    Coleman for Ireland

we are all gutted but people here said ryan was quality when he has been a major disapointment....hence why he is dropped to subs bench reguarly this season. user name rovers100% real name colin hennessy i dont hide behind username if ya ask me my name i will tell you. sorry bout the clown insult maybe that was out of order. im just very frustraded today. on another point i think it was a disgrace having final in tallaght as people paid 20 yo yo's for their kids and thet were froze in uncovered stand. i was in the east stand and was froze to death and the covering did not even keep the rain off us and i was half way up the seats. as for who else could have been captain, for me i would have put raf. a lot of people have turned on him this year but i would have liked a local lad. boco either isnt he benin captain or maybe im wrong. our midfield was non existent there yesterday richie and danny were shown up for what they are, limited footballers but at least ventre tries and covers ground. iwatched the game again today and zayed ran straight for kelly for the penalty. he was going down one way or the other the cheat. cant understand why boco let a right footed player turn on to his right foot for inswinging cross for the second goal. boco had a quiet game by his standards.

We've only ourselves to blame.

Quote Originally Posted by Inside Man View Post
    We've only ourselves to blame.
    Out of curiosity, were you actually at the Final for the team you supposedly support or did you not come because you predicted we would lose anyways would've been the first time you'd have been right about something since you have joined though.
    Coleman for Ireland

As far as I remember not long after the 1983 Final the club ran into terrible financial problems. Lets build from this defeat. Its how you bounce back from knocks that is the real test. The support that is there for the bitored should give the club the encouragement to be ambitious as well as prudent

Quote Originally Posted by sligofan4ever View Post
    A fully fit Butler will fit the left back position nicely.
    People are going on about Keane being a liability sometimes, what we need is someone incase Peers does go. Can't think of to many defenders we could get, but if I was to choose, i'd like to see something like a straight swap with Bohs for Ken Oman. As for strikers, I dont know who e could bring in. We've signed Chris Turner so dont think there may not be another surpise signing this season.
    I don't think Keane is the problem to be fair. Since we lost Brush and Kelly has stepped in we have been indiscisive at the back. He is dodgey imo and the two centre halves are on edge for 90 minutes not knowing whats goin to happen next. I think Keane has been a great signing, he is commited and honest and I would like to think there is more to come from him. We were unfortunate to loose Raf when we did as we looked to be on top and were between a rock and a hard place with the substitution, I did think it was a negative move at the time though.

And fair play to Liam Buckley for his comments after the game. Gracious in victory and made the bitter pill we had to swallow yesterday just that tiny bit easier. Michael O Niell should take a leaf out of his book!

Sinking in now, watching MNS, nearly in tears. So hard to take. Never a penalty. Don't want to slag Cook but i don't understand why we went to 4-5-1. Stick Morrsion up there beside Blinkhorn! We defended much too deep in the last ten minutes, asking Sporting to attack us. But that's life, and that's football. Bring on 2010!

after watching MNS, can now comfortably say it was never a penalty, could not be sure from where i was sitting yesterday, wonder will the FAI let us replay the game

Was not a penalty and if it was Ciaran Kelly should have been sent off.

By the way how can it be fair that a county council can use public funds to support a club. Notwithstanding Liam Buckleys fair comments ater the match there is a question over this type of funding arrangement.

Quote Originally Posted by oldrover View Post
    Was not a penalty and if it was Ciaran Kelly should have been sent off.

By the way how can it be fair that a county council can use public funds to support a club. Notwithstanding Liam Buckleys fair comments ater the match there is a question over this type of funding arrangement.
    The game is over and we were beatin on the day.

But the whole way Fingal are funded is very questionable tbh.
    At the end of the day taxpayers money is being used.
    What benefit is this guy thats investing in them getting,
    now or in the long term

Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast