Thread: Despair, despondency and dejection

2,796 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dr_peepee View Post
    I'm off to the Playschool to tell some kids there's no Santy..
    Careful, you might ruin Jebus' Christmas

Thursday and Friday were amongst the lowest days of my life. I must have been torture to be around. The feeling I got waking up on Thursday was horrible. It just hit me like a ton of bricks 5 seconds after i woke up. I am still completly disillusioned now and have a lot of pent up anger in me. Id like the thank the Bilbao fans for making me smile a little on Saturday night

Ya i find myself still randomlyy stoping and thinking about it. i txtd a mate at about half 3 on sunday morning to say i couldn't beleive we wouldn't be in South Africa. Its getting easier but the world cup is really going to be hte final nail in the coffin.

Looking back, i really think we would have done very well in this world cup had we got there.
    Last edited by paul_oshea; 23/11/2009 at 1:13 PM.

2,796 Posts
    Ah it's always the same though. Belgium 81, Belgium 97, Macedonia 99, Israel away - all hurt like hell. I couldn't watch any sport this weekend, just had no interest.

I must say I felt way worse under the Staunton era. THere was no hope and it lacked direction and every trip the football got in the way of a good trip. This time the football added to the trips in the way they should. There is now hope and I was proud of the team and really enjoyed the campaign.
    In Trap we trust

85 Posts
    This was worse than those for me though.. Way worse (don't recall 81 mind you)..

It's the defeat and then everything else. We were never going to get a replay or anything like it... And if we had have gotten anything the achievement would have been sort of hollow, for me anyway. It's the way we've been so "Put Upon" since, is the killing part. The indifference showed by the powers that be.

The fact that there's no effort to ensure it won't happen again. There's no detterent for the next Henry. Everything to gain and nothing to loose by doing what he did. Whack a 3,4 or 5 game competitive ban on him and there'll be fewer "instinctive" hand balls in future. All this talk about technology and impact on the flow of the game. What about retrospective punishment?? There's no reason why part of the fourth officials remit shouldn't be a televised viewing of the game afterwards to catch things like that. If there's no accountability there's no detterent....

But nothing will be brought in on the back of an injustice against someone like us.. We'll put up and shut up and prepare for the Euros.
    I pity the fool!.... But suggest ways that he might improve himself.

www.thefastleague.com

1,928 Posts
    As moral victories go this was our finest hour

I knew we would be well up for the game but wasn't quite sure how good our upper limit would be.
    No doubt during that game that not only were we good enough but more than good enough.
    Despair, despondency and dejection don't come into the equation this time. Yes despair against the Swiss both the home and away games and despair during Stan's time. This time just fundamentally proud that our team were unbowed and second to none. That feeling goes a lot deeper than defeat syndrome.

I don't know what I'll feel as the Finals loom closer.

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    The good thing to come out of it is the performances.
    Unbeaten by Italy and beating France in their own back yard over 90 minutes, would not fear any team in the world now.
    Strange thing is we dropped 2 places in the FIFA rankings!!?
    I would like to know how they worked that one out!!

Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD View Post
    I must say I felt way worse under the Staunton era. THere was no hope and it lacked direction and every trip the football got in the way of a good trip. This time the football added to the trips in the way they should. There is now hope and I was proud of the team and really enjoyed the campaign.
    This was definitely a bigger disappointment for me, Under Staunton qualification never looked likely and we just kind of slowly fizzled out rather than the dramatic way we were dumped out at the hands of Henry this time round, its probably the sickest I've ever felt after a game. Only consolation for me is Trap signing an extension but the Euro's seem a long time away right now

Quote Originally Posted by Morbo View Post
    This was definitely a bigger disappointment for me, Under Staunton qualification never looked likely and we just kind of slowly fizzled out rather than the dramatic way we were dumped out at the hands of Henry this time round, its probably the sickest I've ever felt after a game. Only consolation for me is Trap signing an extension but the Euro's seem a long time away right now
    It's not the disappointment that gets you it's the hope.
    With Stan we were just slowly going backwards, Wednesday night will haunt me for a while. I have 8 months of 2010 Hype to look forward to, everytime I see a poster or hear an ad on the radio I keep thinking "that should be us" or "if only" too many "if only's".

I think the Macedonia game was the last thing that could compare.

60 Posts
    All this suffering will make qualification for the Euros 2012 all the more sweeter. In Trap we trust.
    Always look on the bright side of life

85 Posts
    FIFA are having a meeting next month to discuss the out comes of the qualification campaign. So something might be emerging from this after all. I wonder would it extend as far as a ban on the player himself??

Was thinking this morning too after the Egypt Algeria match was mentioned. A player can be booked for removing his shirt or other types of celebrations for inciting the crowd. Surely there's more scope for volotile reactions from crowds baring from decisions such as Henry's efforts.

A sweeping generalisation I know, but can ye imagine the craic in Paris had Henry's efforts been against the English or the Dutch at the same stage in qualification. Do FIFAs obligation to safety not extend beyond the 90 minutes.

None of this will get us to SA I know. But I want something to come from this... A ban for Henry to act as deterrent for a start, on the grounds of a) Fair play and b) that old "Safety" chestnut that's bantered about so loosely when it suits!!
    I pity the fool!.... But suggest ways that he might improve himself.

www.thefastleague.com

130 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dr_peepee View Post
    A sweeping generalisation I know, but can ye imagine the craic in Paris had Henry's efforts been against the English or the Dutch at the same stage in qualification. Do FIFAs obligation to safety not extend beyond the 90 minutes.
    Henry Winter made the exact same point in the Telegraph over the last few days. Something along the lines of the Eiffel Tower wouldve been split in two if it were England.

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    I think this one has hit the "younger generation" of fans harder than old codgers like me. For a change I went in to the game optimistic (French complacency, we play better away under Trapp etc) and I wasn't unduly surprised when Keane scored. "We might do this".

Then Duff was through one on one. Houghton at Wembley came to mind. This was the defining moment of the game. Score, we're though. Miss.... After the miss (save), I texted two of my friends "wait for the kick in the teeth". We were doomed. I thought it would come earlier than extra time but no, we made extra time and looked comfortable. Hmmm, a nudge by St. Ledger, free kick - no probs we've dealt with these all night.

The rest they say is history. It now gets stored away with the other disasters of Irish football history. There was a guy behind me who kept shouting in my ear all night, "The French are cr+p, we are going to win this!". I eventually had to move. He hadn't read his history books.

This time it was really blatant and the rest of the world took notice. Same result though, we're out. Like Kilbane, I'll think about them all on my deathbed (unless struck by a train) but the pain will never go away. However, it is expected unlike my friend behind.

Only silver lining, saves us all enduring the eventual pain of being knocked out (probably by an offside goal) in South Africa.

Bring on the Euros.
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

The main result of my 'depression' is that I haven't been able to read this forum since the match! This is the first time i've had a look since the game, and the first thread i've had a peek at. I just couldnt bear to read all the post-match reaction.

I didn't go to the game but i was at Gatwick Airport on Thursday night and there were plenty of green shirts milling around waiting for the last flights back to Dublin and Shannon. It was painful even seeing them.

Anyway, eventually i'll set aside a day or two (!) to read all of what has been said on here..

Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979 View Post
    Coming home from Paris, I genuinely believed I would watch no football this weekend, and possibly for the rest of the week.
    Yet here I am at 1:25 in the morning trying to track down footage of Connolly and Hoolahan's goals in the Norwich - Southampton game and correcting a report on soccerrepublic.net (this one - http://soccerrepublic.eircom.net/New...ontingent.aspx - if you're interested)

Wednesday's result still hurts, and it's quite possible I won't ever forgive Henry, but I'm a football fan first and foremost and godammit I need my fix!
    sorry Tets the above post reminded me of

Spoof entries in Queen Mum Book of condolences

"When Diana died I swore I would never smile again, but eventually I did. Now the Queen Mum has gone I cannot image that I will ever smile for the rest of my life, but I will probably break that one too".
    - A.Christie,Hendon.

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    1,001 Posts
    Champions league back on the box tonight and I still have zero interest in watching football.... Im begining to worry that this might become a long term thing
    Its really not that complicated!!!

2,796 Posts
    Yeah, no interest for me either.

And just to think it can't get any worse I was just on the phone to a guy in Holland. He said he was on the bench for Holland at Gelsenkirchen in 88. I nearly swore at him.