Thread: McGeady and who else cheats in this clip?

Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    Is Jebus a mod? How in God's name?
    Yeah, how does one get to be a mod? Does it involve moonlit cavorting on the moors and chickens entrails and rolled up trouser legs and stuff?

130 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by OwenGoal View Post
    Yeah, how does one get to be a mod? Does it involve moonlit cavorting on the moors and chickens entrails and rolled up trouser legs and stuff?
    No, I think you have to ride a vespa and wear a parka though.

Quote Originally Posted by Drumcondra 69er View Post
    No, I think you have to ride a vespa and wear a parka though.
    Even more perverse

Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post
    Calling for a penalty that was never a penalty

They could say they were unsighted but I'd counter that if you're the pinnacle of fair play you shouldn't call for anything unless you are 100% sure

Otherwise you might get an unfair advantage
    I think the French jersey you are wearing at the moment must be cutting off the air supply to your brain.

Why not move to France and tell them how you supported France all along.

Had we drawn with Georgia it would have made no difference to the final standings in the group.

Had we beaten France 1-0, it would have gone to penalties, where with Shay Given in goal, we stood a good chance of victory.

It's actually funny. Most of France is calling for a replay. Henry is calling for a replay. Most of the world is calling for a replay.

And then you have people in Ireland who are demanding there should be no replay.

Typical Ireland! A bit like the game on Wednesday evening, as soon as there is a chance of succeeding at something, Irish people immediately shoot themselves in the foot.

If the French offered a replay, you'd probably say, "ah sure we're grand really".

Grow a pair my friend and don't be so passive about everything.

This thread and its poster being a mod says it all. How could someone who is openly hostile to the Irish international team be a mod on this forum. A joke.
    In Trap we trust

I'm not on a mod on the Ireland forum lads but don't let that get in the way of a good round of sticking your heads in the sand

242 Posts

Reply to eastterracer

You're blaming the officials? Is that the referee and his assistants or FIFA themselves?
    Because if your blaming the ref you'll be here in 20/30 years time still blaming refs.

I know because I'm one myself. Try laying the blame squarely at FIFA's door, they're the real problem. Think of England who not only had the Maradona incident but also the Sol Campbell incident when they had beaten Portugal in 2004, not to mention that Diego Simeone baited Beckham into that red card in France 98 (I think) and should have gone himself. All those flaws would have been spotted, not to mention thousands of others around the world, would have been spotted if FIFA allowed in technology and more refs.

Basically speaking if a ref get's a game 75% right he's doing well. You'll just never do a perfect job, it's impossible trying to control 22 twenty-somethings who are bent on sneaking behind your back and hitting off the ball. Furthermore if you are among a group of players gathered in a penalty area and someone hits you from behind, the ref can't see through you. You could be faking, as many do.

The answer is instant replay and more officials on the pitch - two referees and four assistants. But don't get me wrong, I'm as sick about the whole situation as yourself.

242 Posts
    To Emmet 7

Best post yet on the subject (in his reply to Jebus). You summed it up perfectly my friend. / Mark12345

Quote Originally Posted by Emmet7 View Post
    I think the French jersey you are wearing at the moment must be cutting off the air supply to your brain.

Why not move to France and tell them how you supported France all along.

Had we drawn with Georgia it would have made no difference to the final standings in the group.

Had we beaten France 1-0, it would have gone to penalties, where with Shay Given in goal, we stood a good chance of victory.

It's actually funny. Most of France is calling for a replay. Henry is calling for a replay. Most of the world is calling for a replay.

And then you have people in Ireland who are demanding there should be no replay.

Typical Ireland! A bit like the game on Wednesday evening, as soon as there is a chance of succeeding at something, Irish people immediately shoot themselves in the foot.

If the French offered a replay, you'd probably say, "ah sure we're grand really".

Grow a pair my friend and don't be so passive about everything.
    He is not passive. One thing you will learn about the bizarre nature of foot.ie is that there are people who are moderators on the site, and who post on the international forum who are openly hostile to the international team. Now maybe its my innocence that it should be a fans forum but then again, that could be my problem. Nothing to do with passiveness, there is a number of posters who post here who actually take great delight in knocking and winding up the people who care about the team.
    In Trap we trust

Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD View Post
    He is not passive. One thing you will learn about the bizarre nature of foot.ie is that there are people who are moderators on the site, and who post on the international forum who are openly hostile to the international team. Now maybe its my innocence that it should be a fans forum but then again, that could be my problem. Nothing to do with passiveness, there is a number of posters who post here who actually take great delight in knocking and winding up the people who care about the team.
    There's also a type of forummer that doesn't seem able to grasp that people have different opinions on matters and so resort to calling people who don't agree them WUM, other internet cliches and saying they don't really love the team/the sport/thecountry.

To the original poster. Maybe I am passive about football, I didn't used to be I'd probably agree with you that I am these days. Don't think I don't have passion for it though, if I didn't I'd have stopped watching by now because my love of the game has taken a few hits throughout the years. There are things about football I absolutely hate but it still hasn't driven me from the sport so there's still passion for it. If I come across as passive then I'd just say that these past few years I've come to accept what my mother used to tell me, that football is only a game. The Jebus of even 5 years ago would knock my head off a wall for even suggesting such a thing but to me now it is. Football should never bring about the absolute levels of hate we've seen from people over the past few days, it's as ugly a side to the game as diving in my book and needs to be addressed. This media driven two sides go to war feeling that was given to football has gone too far in my book and needs to be stamped out just as much as diving does

1,025 Posts
    You're truly deluded, you really are, if you can't see the difference.
    My view on this would be that in both cases (the video embedded here, and Henry's goal), the team conceding the goal have been very unfortunate in that there has either been a refereeing decision made where there shouldn't have been, or there hasn't been a refereeing decision made where there should have been.

Your argument seems to be that as one is the result of a referee error only, it is different from the other which is a referee error on a case of blatant cheating handball.

But the implication of that argument is that in your opinion, fairness is not actually the issue here, as when the referee is solely responsible for an error, you see nothing wrong with taking advantage of it.

2,796 Posts
    Just as I see nothing wrong with scoring a goal if the linesman waves you onside when in fact you were offside. You take the referee's decisions even if you don't like them or if they're not fair. Ireland took an advantage from an unfair decision but didn't cheat, as the original poster suggested.

1,025 Posts
    Ireland took an advantage from an unfair decision but didn't cheat, as the original poster suggested.
    Fair enough, I thought your point was a more general and principled one, whereas you were just (correctly) pointing out the difference to the OP. I misinterpreted the post.

2,796 Posts
    Thanks. Unfairness happens all the time, this time were were on the receiving end unfortunately.

To be 100% honest if it had been the other way around I'd be embarrassed and would support any move made to impose a reasonable ban on the offender.

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    Had we beaten France 1-0, it would have gone to penalties, where with Shay Given in goal, we stood a good chance of victory..
    He went the wrong way for all 5 in Korea so I wouldn't be too sure. Their keeper was motm so it would have been a lottery.

I am not demanding there should be no replay but I don't think there should be one for the simple reason that if Robbie handled and we scored and the French demanded a replay, I'd tell tell to feck off. A travesty yes. Terrible yes. But that's sport and the ref's decision is final. If we're granted one, I would still be on the first plane to Paris but there was never any more than a 1% chance of it happening.

The comparison, however, with the Georgia game is of course a joke for the reasons that have already been well explained.
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

1,025 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by OwlsFan View Post

The comparison, however, with the Georgia game is of course a joke for the reasons that have already been well explained.
    I don't think it is such a joke if you believe that taking advantage of a poor refereeing decision in itself constitutes cheating, rather than a player delieberately breaking the rules to gain the initial advantage.

2,796 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    if you believe that taking advantage of a poor refereeing decision in itself constitutes cheating
    Does anyone believe that?

I do, and if you want to talk about the interests of fairness in the game (which the FAI have been doing) I think you need to too

1,025 Posts
    Jebus seems to. I don't. But I'm not sure that it's wrong either.

2,796 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post
    I do, and if you want to talk about the interests of fairness in the game (which the FAI have been doing) I think you need to too
    So benefiting a bad decision is cheating. I just can't see it that way. I can appreciate the unfairness of bad decisions, both for and against me, but I just can't see it as being the same as cheating.