Thread: 15,000 Irish in Paris?

15,000 Irish in Paris?

How many Irish fans were at the match in Paris? It looked about 15,000 but some reports before the game were quoting 25,000 tickets. Is this Ireland's biggest ever away support at a match in Europe?

3,491 Posts
    35000 or so the last time we were in Paris. Half the ground.

15,000 at the very most, I'd say it was more like 11-12,000, didn't look like there was too many irish in the French section

229 Posts
    35000 or so the last time we were in Paris. Half the ground.
    Id say 15k Weds was about right.

We had a big support in Portugal back in 95 - sure it was 30k+??
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

3,491 Posts
    By "the last time we were in Paris", I meant the time before Wednesday.

Lisbon 95 was pretty big too. And wet, as I recall.

10 - 12 id say max, and Lisbon i reckon was about 25K and very wet
    Fair Play died Nov 18th 2009, Stade Francais.

Green one where did ye go after that cafe/bar place? I was too wrecked and too depressed to stay out any longer plus i needed to catch the train shortly afterwards....which i ended up missing anyway.

little fench bar opp corcorans by moulin rouge, got back to hotel about 9am with a load of french papers with the cheats handball

I met you in there greenforever i thought you didnt cop alright it was me.

Thats the bar im on about, i was on about htis before the trip but no one seemed too interested. We came all the way from the highlander to go there.....

You came in with about 6 papers handing them around saying look what they said, yet i dont think anyone knew what it meant You also told me there was a load of htem outside but when i went looking i couldn't find any!!!

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    I met you in there greenforever i thought you didnt cop alright it was me.

Thats the bar im on about, i was on about htis before the trip but no one seemed too interested. We came all the way from the highlander to go there.....

You came in with about 6 papers handing them around saying look what they said, yet i dont think anyone knew what it meant You also told me there was a load of htem outside but when i went looking i couldn't find any!!!

didnt know who i was at that stage remember now alright

229 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    Green one where did ye go after that cafe/bar place? I was too wrecked and too depressed to stay out any longer plus i needed to catch the train shortly afterwards....which i ended up missing anyway.
    Believe me Paul, you werent on your own when it came to Irish fans missing planes/trains and automobiles home.....ahem cough cough....
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

Ya i know, there were 20 lads i met with the same problem.

We were all in agreement. Had we actually won the game it was unlikely any planes/trains or automobiles would have been got that thursday.

On the tv there was one person whack smack in the middle of the French fans around the half way line with an Irish flag. Does anybody know who it was? They are a legend whoever they were.

46 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by AidoP View Post
    On the tv there was one person whack smack in the middle of the French fans around the half way line with an Irish flag. Does anybody know who it was? They are a legend whoever they were.
    There were a few Aido. I've seen it before at away games but there were quite a few greens among the French crowd on weds night.I'll check my camera images and see what I can pick out. Haven't looked at them yet.

192 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Criostoiro View Post
    15,000 at the very most, I'd say it was more like 11-12,000, didn't look like there was too many irish in the French section
    I think somewhere around 12,000 is about the max. The Irish section was supposed to be 8,500 and there were a few pockets amongst the French (great to see some green breaking up their display of red, white and blue rainjackets) but it certainly was only a fraction of the crowd last time. We seemed to make just as much noise as last time though.
    "There's man all over for you, blaming on his boots the fault of his feet" - Samuel Beckett, Waiting for Godot

there were empty seats were I was sitting in Irish section!

246 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by philkildare View Post
    Not everyone stood where their seats where though. Where I was was packed.

I wouldn't think there was 15,000 there. 10 - 12,000 would be more like it.

would say in or around the 10k mark. we made a lot of noise though, still hurting after wed

Quote Originally Posted by philkildare View Post

+ I was offered tickets on at least 5 occasions - I know a few lads from Kilkenny who were giving them away for free at 1 stage - I would have assumed that these tickets would have been like gold dust.

I was in the A section aswell and I'm pretty sure there were a few spare seats awell..