Page 3 of 12 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Roy Keane on Henry and John Delaney

Quote Originally Posted by Emmet7 View Post
    The whole issue here is the integrity of soccer. The current system where linesmen and referees can make massive mistakes and then FIFA can say, 'it's none of our business, mistakes like these must stand' is just not good enough. There has to be a change. Video refereeing has to be brought in for such major instances in matches.
    But "we" aren't calling for a TMO, we're calling for a feckin replay. As someone else said, that's where the focus should be for the integrity of football.

You are confusing nationalism with support for the integrity of soccer.
    Do you honestly believe all the Irish fans are campaigning for the 'integrity of soccer'?
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    How do I know it is Saturday?

Ipswich lost!!

look, everyone knows hes just another angry norrie, but in trying desperately to move on from this utter disaster, i welcomed some of his comments. yes, hes been talkin ****e regularly for a long time now. but feck it, at least some of these comments help ease the sense of injustice somewhat. however, duffers comments about how the players reckoned the french players heads were gone even in the first half brought me back to wistful sighs....remember how many times they kicked simple passes out of play? they were woeful!!

621 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by superfrank View Post
    Do you honestly believe all the Irish fans are campaigning for the 'integrity of soccer'?
    I think a lot of fans are, there is support from all around the world, I have seen support from Serbs who say they will cripple Henry!!

Quote Originally Posted by bellavistaman View Post
    I idolise roy keane but hes making me embarassed to say i do here, very disapointing comments. Bitter man
    Agreed. As with you i love Keane. But he was asked a question about Wednesday night and he made it a personal issue about himself and Delaney from 7 years ago, and also got a dig in at Given and McShane. poor form Roy

82 Posts
    This is much bigger than Henry's goal. It's about standing up for what's right in sport. The fact Ireland is involved in incidental. If it happened to any other country I hope we would all feel the same way about this.
    How many other poor decisions that impacted any other clubs or countries have you campaigned so strongly against as a matter of interest?
    Like I said this is bigger than just the Irish soccer team. It's fundamentally about the integrity of soccer and if you think protecting the integrity of soccer is embarrassing nonsense, then I'm sorry you are not a true soccer fan.
    Yup, I'm a football fan meself.

123 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post
    That's it lads, slag him off and don't try and answer his point about Georgia or the shocking defending

Not that ye all haven't become masters of evading proper questions on this forum
    he is a quiter and a tosser who let his country down the fact that he was our most talented player does not make him any kind of expert ,like us all he a asrehole with a opinion. but we choose to support our country
    I wish i did not know then what I dont know now

621 Posts
    So Keane goes on TV suupports injustice and then expects people to play for him, he is an idiot.
    He is not fit to maage a brothel, although he would probably fail at that too.

Quote Originally Posted by passerrby View Post
    he is a quiter and a tosser who let his country down the fact that he was our most talented player does not make him any kind of expert ,like us all he a asrehole with a opinion. but we choose to support our country
    And that negates his point about Ireland bottling chance after chance, the shocking defending leading up to the goal, and the hypocritical nature of Irish fans, players and management crying foul when it suits them how?

621 Posts
    Thing is FIFA cheated by rigging the draw mid competition to suit their desire to get the big yeams through.

That is clealy a message to the ref and linesman that cheating is acceptable to get the desired result.

That makes the FIFA unfit to run the World Cup and hence makes the world cup a sham of a competition.

The 'winner' of the world cup cannot say they could beat Ireland in a fair match in because none of the teams in the competetion they will play will have done that.

Ireland should play the 'winner' for the World Cup trophy.

Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy View Post
    How many other poor decisions that impacted any other clubs or countries have you campaigned so strongly against as a matter of interest?
    Yup, I'm a football fan meself.
    This kind of farce has been brewing in soccer for years. Week in week out there are similiar farcical decisions such as the one in England where the ball went wide and the ref gave a goal or the one a couple years ago where Roy Carroll saved the ball several yards behind the goal line.

Leaving aside that this is Ireland, this result shows once and for all the need for video refereeing on important decisions. It's now in most other major sports, why should soccer be exempt? Maybe it's because we have a crowd of conservatives at the top of the tree who want to see nothing major change.

Maybe they should just allow Adidas sponsored teams compete in the World Cup and be done with it.

Because we all know come 2014, it may be Nike who are a major sponsor of the World Cup and the demand will be to give an easy route to the finals for Nike sponsored teams. Or it may be Adidas again or some other major sponsor.

The integrity of the sport has been damaged. There is only one way to restore that integrity.

2,796 Posts
    And that negates his point about Ireland bottling chance after chance, the shocking defending leading up to the goal, and the hypocritical nature of Irish fans, players and management crying foul when it suits them how?
    Nothing wrong with Keane's points about the missed chances or the poor defending (not helped by the French being offside - and the ball would have gone out of play if not illegally controlled by Henry) but the Georgia reference is plan wrong. A slightly better example would be McShane's handball at home to Montenegro - blatant penalty - but not a deliberate attempt to deceive and unseen in any event.

I tell you what Jebus, it's a good job Charles Manson never set up a camp in Ireland. There seem to be plenty of people around capable of being sucked into a dangerous personality cult all too easily.

A lot of what he said made sense, I have to say.

The problems I'd have were singling out Given in particular - the ball coming at that trajectory, which Dunne would normally clear (but was nudged out of the way by Squillaci who was offside) is not the keeper's ball. That's just bitterness

What he says about Gerogia is right though. We got a penalty for a refereeing mistake and nothing was made of it. Just because this was a bigger game, shouldn't make a difference

I'm also p*ssed off with his comment we were "afraid of making the next step". Bullsh*t, yes we missed plenty of chances, but their keeper had two stormers and would we have played like that if we were afraid??

2,796 Posts
    I'm sure Roy Keane just manfully shrugged off any injustices he felt he suffered playing football. Apart from trying to maim people who hadn't realised he'd done his knee ligaments in of course.

Quote Originally Posted by tricky_colour View Post
    Thing is FIFA cheated by rigging the draw mid competition to suit their desire to get the big yeams through.
    And yet Slovenia's win over Russia hasn't been discredited by FIFA. Also, it is arguable that Ukraine would be a far more attractive draw than Greece, yet that result stands.

China, a massive potential market who are also sponsored by Adidas, failed miserably in qualifying.

People were writing up their conspiracy theories on here as soon as the referees were announced.

One missed decision by the ref has been ridiculously overblown and it's getting extremely embarassing, your own post is a clear example:
    Quote Originally Posted by tricky_colour
    The 'winner' of the world cup cannot say they could beat Ireland in a fair match in because none of the teams in the competetion they will play will have done that.

Ireland should play the 'winner' for the World Cup trophy.
    Utter nonsense.
    Last edited by superfrank; 20/11/2009 at 3:16 PM.
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

Has anyone read this in the Times.

http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/spo...fset=12&page=2

Keane has never forgiven Delaney for failing to contact him during the incident and misleading the media as to his whereabouts after his controversial exit from the World Cup in 2002 after a row with Mick McCarthy over facilities in Saipan.

Keane said: “John Delaney talks about the honesty and integrity of the game but I would not take any notice of that man.

“People forget what went on in the World Cup in 2002 and that man talks about honesty. He didn’t even have the courtesy to call me then, all he said when he was interviewed was I was on the Island somewhere.

What a bitter idiot? 7 years later and he's still whinging about someone not calling him. I bet Delaney would have got a 2 word answer if he had done.

Yeah I think the motivation of Keanes comments are the huge problem here. MOst of what he says is rubbish and is motivated by bitterness in this case, esp about Given etc, and possibly about McShane. Even the comment, that he felt sorry all of the fans and managment and for some of the players implies he does not feel sorry for all of them.

I do think the calls for a replay are embarassing to be honest, esp by the Fianna Fail politicians.
    In Trap we trust

2,796 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Milesmayhem24 View Post
    What he says about Gerogia is right though. We got a penalty for a refereeing mistake and nothing was made of it. Just because this was a bigger game, shouldn't make a difference
    Plenty was made of it - there was no end to talk of how lucky we were - but at no point was there any intent to deceive or cheat or break the rules on behalf of any Irish player. That's the critical difference for me.

There's an expression "never look a gift horse in the mouth". Obeying that motto is all WE were guilty of in that instance. Thierry Henry was guilty of cheating. I'm sure it was instinctive and I'm sure he's probably a nice guy but that's the difference between the two situations.

544 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by macdermesser View Post
    ..but his comments about Delaney are not far off the mark. 70 euro for a child to watch a home game at Croker etc etc blurg
    and up to €100 in the stade de france

That's it lads, slag him off and don't try and answer his point about Georgia or the shocking defending
    two players off side in the immediate lead up to the goal. that is actually good defending. the players cant help it if the linesmen missed the offsides.

we didnt cheat the goal v georgia and andrews was denied a perfectly good goal in the same game
    Last edited by jbyrne; 20/11/2009 at 2:25 PM.

Page 3 of 12 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast