Page 5 of 8 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast

Thread: Protest

253 Posts
    This was my e-mail:

I love the game of football, but I am seriously considering boycotting the World Cup this year. I have no problem when a team loses due to a legitimate goal.

However, cheating cannot be tolerated, and by saying no to a replay, you are rewarding the French for cheating- what kind of message is this sending to children around the world?

There is still a chance for redemption. Stand up and make the right decision.

Yours in football,

XXXXXXXX
    Eirebhoy's "We Love You" Chant. RIP:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V7UfSbASyrQ

112 Posts
    I really don't think blowing kisses will make any difference.

Quote Originally Posted by irishfan86 View Post
    There is still a chance for redemption. Stand up and make the right decision.

Yours in football,

XXXXXXXX
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

Grrrrrrr.......French Fries should be re-named Freedom Fries!
    Cork City: Making 'Dream Team' seem realistic since 2007.

Sh!t happens lads get over it.

Had that been Doyler or Keano we would of taken it...Ireland had more than enough chances to win that game...there is always mistakes by referees in football and his decision is final...what makes ye think the rules will be changed for us ?

to hell with a replay. it's stupid, we'd lose, and it'd be a crap way to qualify. THAT SAID, if there is a precedent (Uzbekistan was it?) then fifa should explain the wherefores.

INSTEAD DEMAND VIDEO TECHNOLOGY BE INTRODUCED.

ban divers, ban cheats and violent tacklers, and clean up the bloody game. it's beyond a joke in its current form.
    zombie/thread killer..

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    A protest? Jesus wept - FFS sake at the end of the day its football, and the FAI cup is on this weekend so get over it.

People wont protest over the state of the country run into the grounds by FF but will over a football match - bizzare

http://uk.eurosport.yahoo.com/footba...rticle/213171/

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dong View Post
    Of course not. He has to be seen to do something though. Whatever you may say about him, he's not a simpleton.......
    Unlike the people organising this. What a joke.
    Really, wow he fooled me then

So far we've had people say they hope Henry ends up like Robert Enke or he gets both legs broken
    We've broken Facebook with bitter groups about Thierry Henry
    We've dragged out every talking head from Lee Dixon to Tony Cascarino as proof that the football world is behind us
    There's been calls for boycotting Gilette
    An e mail campaign against FIFA
    Accusations of match fixing from everyone from Platini to capitalism itself
    Now there's a protest march on the French Embassy
    I've also been told some Irish aren't buying French cuisine produce (or at leats have said they won't)
    and I hate to think what other nonsense is in the pipeline

You all sound like a mix between Daily Mail readers and the type of American who called french fries Freedom fries

Basically you're embarrassing the country so please stop.

It was an unjust decision, and Henry cheated, but it happens in football, you've probably cheered an equally unjust decision for your team in your time, so please just move on and start focussing on things like getting the Don Givens out, pretty please

I know i'll get called a wum by some but honestly it's been very cringeworthy being Irish these past two days. What good will the Irish had after Wednesday night is slowly starting to evaporate with all this bitterness

Quote Originally Posted by rambler14 View Post
    http://www.fifa.com/contact/validate.htmx

I sent them a very nice e-mail telling them that their Fair Play campaign is a joke.
    Good for you. You are a hero and a legend.

Cheating

Ireland can not complain about the FIFA fair play rule.

Did ye not see Robbie Keanes complete dive over by the sideline and he won the free ?
    Does that not count as cheating I was ashamed to be a supporter of the team when I saw that.

Tell that guy in the frog suit (if that's what it is) who was on the news this evening beside the megaphone guy to stay away tomorrow. Now that is embarrassing.
    'And Crouch must score'

Signed up on the petition ran by The Star today.
    Never play leapfrog with a unicorn!!

192 Posts
    Thers is no point in protests or online petitions. In the world of sport we know that bad decisions happen and that there is nothing we can do about it. It's time to let it go and accept the fact that we won't be going to the World Cup.

I'd personally like to see Henry get a three-match ban for unsportsmanlike conduct but that should be the end of it.

Having said that, some of the people on here have expressed themselves in pretty sanctimonious terms about this (sorry we embarrass you so much, Jebus). I think they need to look at themselves as well when it comes to the International team.
    "There's man all over for you, blaming on his boots the fault of his feet" - Samuel Beckett, Waiting for Godot

It's soul destroying. Went to landsdowne in 2004. Keane played a blinder but Henri beat us fair and square. Walking home with my father we consoled ourselves that we were beaten by a moment of brilliance by the best player in the world. I was blaming poor McShane till I saw the replay. Looking at the replay horrified me. He betrayed the greatest game on earth. All I can do now is stop using Gillette, which I'll do! Also, as many of us predicted 2 weeks ago the ref was appaling. One genius said 2 weeks ago that he " makes baby Jesus cry ". Brilliant.
    Níl aon tinteán mar do thinteán féin.

544 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CMcC View Post
    At best I will say Delaney is making as much fuss to get someting out of them to shut us up - like a UEFA cup final for Dublin maybe.
    we already have been awarded one.

any ideas of a protest march are a complete embarassment. a meassge to joe duffy, gerry ryan, irish polititians et al.... please stop hijacking our team for your own needs

446 Posts
    Let's complain, if only for the future use of Video Replays as the best possible outcome.
    And that Henry fails in the rest of his career.

The lack of passion about and acceptance of his blatant cheating in this thread is embarassing.

130 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post
    So far we've had people say they hope Henry ends up like Robert Enke or he gets both legs broken
    We've dragged out every talking head from Lee Dixon to Tony Cascarino as proof that the football world is behind us
    I've also been told some Irish aren't buying French cuisine produce (or at leats have said they won't)

You all sound like a mix between Daily Mail readers and the type of American who called french fries Freedom fries

It was an unjust decision, and Henry cheated, but it happens in football, you've probably cheered an equally unjust decision for your team in your time, so please just move on and start focussing on things like getting the Don Givens out, pretty please

I know i'll get called a wum by some but honestly it's been very cringeworthy being Irish these past two days. What good will the Irish had after Wednesday night is slowly starting to evaporate with all this bitterness
    I disagree entirely.

What would you prefer, we lie down and take this injustice??!

The country as a whole feels cheated. On a financial, morale, pride level this would have been huge for the country. We're not like the big nations, we're not blessed with large resources of players, qualification for the WC is a remote possibility for us as opposed to a real probablity. We were denied at least the prospect of a penalty shoot out to qualify for the finals.

The Irish fans behavedly impeccably on wed night, despite taunting from some quarters when leaving the stadium (admittedly that was a minority), but considering the mood it couldve been ugly. In general the campaign calling for the replay has been carried out with dignity and an element of fairness at its heart. The worldwide reaction to the incident justifys our cause.

We wont get a replay, its not right, the WC chance is gone but at least we made our voice heard and the whole world listened.

99% of what you've pointed out in your first paragraph are totally ridiculous ideas......every sane fan would agree with you......that goes without saying (that's why all but reactionary knee-jerkers like yourself don't bother reacting to these suggestions). I'll let you guess what the 1% is btw. It's a very small minority who actually believe all this crap.

Your repetitive garbage about the "Daily Mail" (you seem to know an awful lot about it....I've never read it) and "freedom fries" just shows you up to be someone with a chip on your shoulder about lots of stuff who's lazily decided to roll it all up together and throw it all at people about this issue.

Nobody can do anything about your embarrassment....that's a problem you'll have to deal with yourself.....personally I've never been embarrassed....something to do with self awareness......you may get it as you mature.

"It was an unjust decision, and Henry cheated"
    This is one of the only correct things you've said. This is what people are upset about. Let them be. Of course we'll all move on and get over it.....we have to. Very few will march on the embassy.....don't worry, no need to be embarrassed.

I don't know if WUM is the right word for you. I think you're just someone who is enjoying the opportunity of coming across as the contrary opinion on an internet forum.

One thing you've completely failed to grasp is the significance of this story across the football world and believe me it's not being driven by a few mad posters on foot.ie.

Regarding your cringing and embarrassment problem..........it may help if you face your fears head on...stand up and spout some of your nonsense in the real world, after much ridicule your feeling of embarassment will eventually fade.

Look back at the sum of your posts over the last few days (you will do) and realise there may be something better to devote your energies to than railing at passionate sincere fans who are feeling a lot of raw hurt over an injustice that has been inflicted on them. They (I and all of us) will get over it but most of your recent posts will always be.........what's the word i'm looking for........embarrassing.

BTW, the 1% is...you don't hate to think what other nonsense is in the pipeline......you actually hope there is more nonsense in the pipeline..otherwise you'll run out of reasons to get off on your embarrassment.
    "Can I have a Kit-Kat, chunky?"

"you mean a big one"

"No a normal kit-kat you fat bitch"

They were just initial reactions, no sane person would wish such things on someone for taking advantage of a situation like he did

So...how many foot.ie members were part of the 100 who marched on the embassy?
    "Can I have a Kit-Kat, chunky?"

"you mean a big one"

"No a normal kit-kat you fat bitch"

Page 5 of 8 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast