Page 6 of 12 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast

Thread: Thierry Henry

1,025 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    Osarusan when i first heard there would be a look for a replay i knew in a million years this would never happen. For a man who is generally quite rational im very surprised to hear you come out with the above statement.
    The only real obstacle is the FFF. Fifa wouldn't oppose it in my opinion, as it would make a great story at every level. Fair play wins through, the FFF cannot bear to go through this way, Henry repents and actively seeks a replay, the plucky underdogs get another chance.

The question is if the FFF are willing to risk a place at the world cup for this. And I'd imagine they'd think that in any replay, France would never play quite as badly as on Wednesday, nor the Irish play as well as we did.

Sorry?

Thanks for your sentiments Tez. Now all you have to do is say that you don't want to go to the World Cup on this basis, and will withdraw from the french squad unless a re-match takes place.

Now that would be impressive.

Anyone got any extremely compromising/embarassing pictures of the head of the FFF? LeBleu care to help out?!
    No pictures but we know that Domenech is payed more than 800 000 euros because he succeed to qualify France for WC .

Too much money on the table for change something.
    distressed and disgusted.
    Not like that.

161 Posts
    The FFF have just said its time to draw a line under this and "Move On". Very similiar to Hansson's 'Life Must Go On' statement. All these statements coming out within a few minutes of each other. Already Henry's comments are getting lambasted in the press for the timing.

Sorry Osarusan, but you're living with in the clouds if ye beleive any of that.

The only thing i could see coming out slightly would be if cowen did actually push sarkozy. Im sure sarkozy could pull strings but i dont see that happening. I see cowen sharing a quick "well ye know ye got through but it wasn't the fairest" and thats that.

Quote Originally Posted by del_carroll View Post
    Thanks for your sentiments Tez. Now all you have to do is say that you don't want to go to the World Cup on this basis, and will withdraw from the french squad unless a re-match takes place.

Now that would be impressive.
    Yep or if he had made the statement yesterday. All hollow words considering both FIFA and FFF have officially stated non to le replay this morning.

This is CO-ORDINATED PR at its very worst AND AN INSULT TO ALL iRISH FANS
    Last edited by papa-j; 20/11/2009 at 1:36 PM. Reason: ANGER
    you are only a loser when you stop trying. Playing sport does not build character, it reveals it.

123 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by youngirish View Post
    Hopefully people will stop having a go at Henry now. Blatter is the real f**ker here.

Players cheat in a split second without thinking about it. Irish players will do the same so get off that high horse.
    Yes but would they celebrate it as vocally as Henry did afterwards?

1,025 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Noelys Guitar View Post
    The FFF have just said its time to draw a line under this and "Move On". Very similiar to Hansson's 'Life Must Go On' statement.
    Fair enough, I didn't know about the FFF statement when I had the faintest glimmer of hope.

Quote Originally Posted by Emmet7 View Post
    I admire Henry for this even if I am suspicious the game won't be replayed.

Even if it is replayed, whose to say something similar won't happen in the replay.
    amire Henry? very naive...

when the fai were pushing for a replay , what were they actually looking for .
    A once off game in a neutral ground starting at 0-0
    both legs to be replayed
    A replay in France with them leading 0-1 from dublin
    All outrageous anyway but just wondering

161 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    Fair enough, I didn't know about the FFF statement when I had the faintest glimmer of hope.
    I thought there was an outside chance they might replay it myself. And the FFF only just issued that statement. Plus Henry's comments on his twitter page differ from what he said in his statement.

He said on his Twitter page: "I'm not the referee, but if I hurt someone I'm sorry.

"It was not a beautiful match. It was just neccesary to exploit what was exploitable.

He is admitting cheating here.

If Henry really wanted to replay it he could kick up a row, he's the captain ffs. If he really meant it he could say he's retiring from international football unless it's resolved. He doesnt want to replay it, empty gesture he can shove up his arse.
    A man can have no greater love than give 90 minutes to his friends

Where does this go from here?

As stated earlier, the only chance is the FFF bowing.

But, remember, isn't Delaney best of chums with their legend and now UEFA chief Platini (see below)! Surely it's time for some political lobbying...not a chance.

From Daily Mail:
    Platini took the extraordinary step of going to Dublin last September to enrol on a three-week English-speaking course at Trinity College ¿ which had been set up for him by John Delaney, the Football Association of Ireland's chief executive.

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    If Henry wants it to be replayed because it is unfair on Ireland and it is not repayed, then Henry if he is an honourable decent man he will refuse to play in an unfair competition.

If he does play he has shown himself to be a man without honour or integrity, like Maradona, no more than a dirty cheat.
    Last edited by tricky_colour; 20/11/2009 at 2:22 PM.

Sorry Osarusan, but you're living with in the clouds if ye beleive any of that.

The only thing i could see coming out slightly would be if cowen did actually push sarkozy. Im sure sarkozy could pull strings but i dont see that happening. I see cowen sharing a quick "well ye know ye got through but it wasn't the fairest" and thats that.
    This kind of situation would have led to a war many years ago
    There's the right way, the wrong way.... and the Max Power way!! :-D

Fair play to him.

So when we play again, it's extra time only i.e. we start at 1-1 !!

I've said on here in the interests of fairness the game should be replayed.

But it's between FIFA and the FFF and it's looking now as if they have no interest in a replay.

The whole thing shows there is something rotten in the state of FIFA and international soccer and it started with the seedings.

I doubt the game will be replayed.

Quote Originally Posted by saint dog View Post
    when the fai were pushing for a replay , what were they actually looking for .
    A once off game in a neutral ground starting at 0-0
    both legs to be replayed
    A replay in France with them leading 0-1 from dublin
    All outrageous anyway but just wondering
    I'd agree this would be the fairest thing.

We scored a perfectly good goal and if there was a replay in Paris effectively that goal would be disallowed.

Would the FFF agree to this? Would FIFA?

No chance of a replay I'm afraid.

Where would they even fit it in with all the Champions League, league fixtures etc.?

You can view Henry's comments as only being an attempt to deflect some of the flak he's getting now but I think that's a bit harsh. Yes, it was a clear handball, but he was hardly planning it minutes in advance. It was something that happened on the spot and he stuck out his hand and controlled it. The real blame should be directed at the referee and linesman who missed something so blatant and missed Squillaci being offside when he was challenging with Dunne

Personally, I don't think there are many players who would have come out and made any comments so I think fair play to him for that.

Doesn't change the fact we won't be at the WC unfortunately...

36 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Milesmayhem24 View Post
    No chance of a replay I'm afraid.

Where would they even fit it in with all the Champions League, league fixtures etc.?

You can view Henry's comments as only being an attempt to deflect some of the flak he's getting now but I think that's a bit harsh. Yes, it was a clear handball, but he was hardly planning it minutes in advance. It was something that happened on the spot and he stuck out his hand and controlled it. The real blame should be directed at the referee and linesman who missed something so blatant and missed Squillaci being offside when he was challenging with Dunne

Personally, I don't think there are many players who would have come out and made any comments so I think fair play to him for that.

Doesn't change the fact we won't be at the WC unfortunately...

unless.. they defer naming that team slot at the world cup draw and play the game in january.

late arrangements have been made before when denmark replaced yugoslavia in 1992.

equally, I'm prepared to give henry some merit here, he didn't have to say anything. having said that, it is just talk and if he doesn't back it up with anything then it's meaningless.

Page 6 of 12 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast