Page 5 of 39 FirstFirst ... 3456715 ... LastLast

Thread: France V Ireland - Wednesday, 18th November 2009 - World Cup 2010 Playoff Second Leg

Dublin or lost in a backwater called England
    Quote Originally Posted by stiffler View Post

Someone cheer me up please?!!
    His twitter page is linked above... sign up and give him some $hit
    'It's not because I'm uncouth, it's because I'm Irish. The English language is a wall between you and me and f**k is my chisel.' - Tommy Tiernan

GUESS WHO WAS FOR FRANCE???
    "In three words I can sum up everything I've learned about life: it goes on."

52 Posts
    Henry was one of my favourite players of all time but jeez, what a f[i]u[/u]cker.

If this doesn't mean a call for replay reviews of goals, then it will never happen. Proud of ALL the players tonight. I feel sorry for the likes of Kilbane who won't get a chance at another world cup.
    "Jacques Santini...will be greeted in every dugout of the country by "one-nil, one-nil" - Clive Tyldsley, 89th minute of France-England June 13, 2004.
    "Ooooohhhh Nooooooo" Bobby Robson 91st minute.

161 Posts
    From the FIFA site.
    Five minutes later, France skipper Thierry Henry won the match for the hosts when his angled pass amid a goalmouth scramble was met by the head of Wiliam Gallas. The goal enabled France to qualify and avoid a repeat of their humiliating failure, at the hands of Bulgaria, to qualify for the 1994 FIFA World Cup finals.

ANGLED PASS. ffs. What a cover up.

1,025 Posts
    First of all, I witnessed one of the bravest and most passionate performances ever by any Irish side tonight. I was so proud of them.

On the goal, McShane should have gotten a touch on it instead of trying to shepherd it out for a corner. Henry's handballs were deliberate, no doubt. The way he reacted after the final whistle tells you he knows he's gonna be slaughtered in the media tomorrow.

I don't think that the goal had anything to do with referee bias or anything like that, just that the referee or linesman didnt see it.

With Doyle's header, Keane against Lloris and Duff's chance, we could and should have won the game in 90 mins.

And if an Irish player had handballed in exactly the same way, or dived and earned a penalty, would we be condemning them at the moment? No, we'd accept it was wrong, and that the player deserved criticism, but the player would have just gotten us to the World Cup, so we really wouldn't be all that bothered. And if England had been eliminated in the way we just were, we'd be over the moon.
    Last edited by osarusan; 18/11/2009 at 10:37 PM.

33 Posts
    If any fan smiles knowing Diego Maradona's 'Hand of God' goal stood against England at the 1986 World Cup then I am afraid Les Pigeons have come home to roost.

Marco Tardelli asked that Thierry Henry come forward and admit his action.
    " I'll go right up to here,
    it can't possibly hurt.
    All they will find is my
    beer and my shirt."

26 Posts
    They've even interrupted some local radio programme here to talk about it; I hope this thing rumbles on. Interesting point made on Sky Sports. Eduardo was banned for 3 games for trying to gain an unfair advantage. What price a similar decision, highly unlikely I feel.

Quote Originally Posted by Flume View Post
    Don't blame Henry. If I had have been in the position to do the same and get Ireland to the world cup I would have. Anyone who says they wouldn't is deluded or lying. The blame lies with the officials. The ref has to see it. It's also offside, missing that is just as bad, it was so obvious!

Wonderful performance, moral victory, blah blah blah. We should have won it in normal time and if we were in any way clinical we'd be sorting out trips to S.A. Theres a lot more to look at in this than the officials incompetence. McShane's role in the squad would be a good place to start.
    totally agree henry cheated but we would have all done the same . officals missed ref & linesmen both missed offside & handball
    and yes we should have won it in normal time but not clinical enough in front of goal.. but still a wonderfull performance by a magnificent team tonight

" football is a simple game "

The Instigator

This man is wanted for the crime of seeding the playoff draw to ensure that countries like Ireland cannot qualify for the World Cup!! His name is Sepp Blatter!!
    Last edited by Thunderblaster; 18/11/2009 at 10:34 PM.
    Never play leapfrog with a unicorn!!

Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    First of all, I witnessed one of the bravest and most passionate performances ever by any Irish side tonight. I was so proud of them.

On the goal, McShane should have gotten a touch on it instead of trying to shepherd it out for a corner. Henry's handballs were deliberate, no doubt. The way he reacted after the final whistle tells you he knows he's gonna be slaughtered in the media tomorrow.

I don't thenk that the goal had anything to do with referee bias or anything like that, just that the referee or linesman didnt see it.

With Doyle's header, Keane against Lloris and Duff's chance, we could and should have won the game in 90 mins.

And if an Irish player had handballed in exactly the same way, or dived and earned a penalty, would we be condemning them at the moment? No, we'd accept it was wrong, and that the player deserved criticism, but the player just got us to the World Cup, so we really wouldn't be all that bothered.
    How do you expect people to react ? The argument about the shoe being on the other foot is irrelevant. Henry cheated. End of story.

I dare somebody to blame Kevin Kilbane for the French goal tonight or say he was the weak link. Best player on the pitch tonight. Outstanding.
    So often an easy target of the Irish fans because he's the elder statesman of the team. 102 Caps and the 102nd being his best ever in an Ireland shirt.

That Enke comment is cowardly. DodgyCanadian should be banned for life.
    LESS OF THE BULL NOW!

Quote Originally Posted by old git View Post
    robbie was fantastic worked his ass of but if he was world class he would have scored instead of trying to take ball round keeper .

Typical Keane does something good then turns around and does something stupid. His stupid decision to take it around the keeper when he had the time to shoot or lift it over the keeper was the real reason Ireland are out of the WC Finals. It gave the french renewed confidence and they controlled the game ater that and the Irish team were gutted after it even though they still played out of their skins. Robbie Keane is NOT a top striker as Liverpool found out last year,he may score the odd goal or two but he will miss the most important ones due to his stupid decisions and attempts at glory. When he was most needed tonight he failed. I know he works hard but his inital job is to put them away especially at crucial times of the match. Kudos for his goal but when it mattered most he bottled it.

he cheated yes, he was desperate to get his country to a world cup! its the linesman that people should be complaining about

Now Henry will be looked upon as lowly as Maradona and deserves every bit of it.
    Cheating scumbag.
    Delaney must be real sickened, that just fcuked up his summer holidays.
    BTW Did anyone notice the expression on Gallas' face after he 'scored'.
    Kildare County RIP

I could nearly kill myself to get some justice. Blatter, Platini, henry.... i hope ye burn in hell...

161 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by livehead1 View Post
    They've even interrupted some local radio programme here to talk about it; I hope this thing rumbles on. Interesting point made on Sky Sports. Eduardo was banned for 3 games for trying to gain an unfair advantage. What price a similar decision, highly unlikely I feel.
    Thats it. Go on anyones message board whether it be German, English, Italian. They are all saying the same thing. It makes a mockery of football if this result is allowed to stand.

26 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by rambler14 View Post
    I dare somebody to blame Kevin Kilbane for the French goal tonight or say he was the weak link. Best player on the pitch tonight. Outstanding.
    So often an easy target of the Irish fans because he's the elder statesman of the team. 102 Caps and the 102nd being his best ever in an Ireland shirt.

That Enke comment is cowardly. DodgyCanadian should be banned for life.
    I thought he did really well for our goal but I thought much of his distribution was substandard as per usual. Also got himself a booking after giving away a free in a decent position when he should have headed the ball. I thought he was 'OK' but nothing to warrant two posts commenting how brilliant he was!

Great servant though, don't doubt that. Time to retire now though.

So annoyed
    Ahhh

131 Posts
    Absolute disgrace. Not only was the goal a blatant handball but it was also a blatant offiside. However the ref and linesman somehow managed to miss both. If there was any justice the officials should all be taken out and executed. Publicly. FIFA are criminals. We all knew this would happen and yet they did it in front of our noses.
    Last edited by youngirish; 18/11/2009 at 10:38 PM.

Wat a performance from ireland. Well done lads

Page 5 of 39 FirstFirst ... 3456715 ... LastLast