Page 27 of 39 FirstFirst ... 17252627282937 ... LastLast

Thread: France V Ireland - Wednesday, 18th November 2009 - World Cup 2010 Playoff Second Leg

85 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by irishultra View Post
    does it not make sense to have seeds given preference in a playoff? they battled their way to get to that position and if we had been better in the past we might have been first seeds.
    It does make sense, true. Since when do sense and FIFA go hand in hand. Will they do what makes sense given the obvious deficiency in the game highlihted last night

It does make sense. But it doesn't detract from the fact the relavence of the rankings was pulled out of the air only recently. Sense wasn't the driving factor.

Not getting at you man. We deserve a tip of the hat from FIFA at the very least. Frustrating.
    I pity the fool!.... But suggest ways that he might improve himself.

www.thefastleague.com

If FIFA really are advocates of Fair Play then they must take some action.

The Fair Play code states:

Winning is without value if victory has been achieved unfairly or dishonestly. Cheating is easy, but brings no pleasure. Playing fair requires courage and character. It is also more satisfying. Fair play always has its reward, even when the game is lost. Playing fair earns respect, while cheating only brings shame. Remember: it is only a game. And *games are pointless unless played fairly*.
    LESS OF THE BULL NOW!

Quote Originally Posted by centre mid View Post
    I wonder will FIFA ban Robbie Keane after he suggested that Blatter & Platini had fixed the game?

linky
    What does anyone have to say about this at the end of it from Henry:
    The Barcelona striker said: 'The ball hit my hand, I will be honest. It was a handball, you can clearly see it. (Sebastien) Squillaci went to jump with two Irish players, I was behind him and the next thing I know the ball hit my hand.
    'It was a handball, but I'm not the ref. I told (the referee) but he said to me the same: 'You are not the ref.'

Quote Originally Posted by sonofstan View Post
    There was a huge thread on the Le Monde site about this and overwhelmingly expressing shame and regret. Now, Le Monde is like the French Guardian so it's likely to represent a more right- on view than the average, but what was noticeable was this: many people drew the comparison with Rugby, both in terms of the conduct of players and video evidence, but many also were quite prepared to label football as institutionally corrupt. I was interested, because I know if it had been the other way around, we wouldn't be seeing that kind of clear sightedness, even on here. You have to admire it.

Was just on the Le Monde site, brsuhing up on my French. Its interesting the poll they have and the overwhelming support amongst the French. Viva la Francais

Quote Originally Posted by markmc View Post
    Looks like the story is getting bigger. There is precedence for this also.

http://www.fifa.com/worldcup/archive...sid=27212.html
    welldone john delaney for having the balls to stand up to fifa.
    im behind you 100%

Quote Originally Posted by christo View Post
    What does anyone have to say about this at the end of it from Henry:
    The Barcelona striker said: 'The ball hit my hand, I will be honest. It was a handball, you can clearly see it. (Sebastien) Squillaci went to jump with two Irish players, I was behind him and the next thing I know the ball hit my hand.
    'It was a handball, but I'm not the ref. I told (the referee) but he said to me the same: 'You are not the ref.'
    Pity you told him at the end of the game Thierry and not run away immediately after when it happened.
    LESS OF THE BULL NOW!

Quote Originally Posted by rambler14 View Post
    If FIFA really are advocates of Fair Play then they must take some action.
    Yes, just the like EU being stalewarts of democracy and respecting Ireland's first NO vote to Lisbon.

We are on the fringes of a Europe which is a paragon of the just and virteuos which always pays attention to the Irish. Cos, ya know, everyone loves the Irish...

They have always been there for us as we are such great craic! The world wants to be Irish! Sure, aren't we great!!!

Sure didn't Ronnie Delaney win the gold medal and everyone in the rest of the world to this day agrees with Jimmy Magree that this was more profound that the Big Bang which started the Universe.

That's why everyone loves the Irish!
    Last edited by Boh_So_Good; 19/11/2009 at 3:30 PM.

112 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by roinuj View Post
    im behind you 100%
    This could open a can of worms. Can FIFA ban us for having our captain speak out against play off being fixed?
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

Delaney on the Last Word with Matt Cooper in a minute.
    LESS OF THE BULL NOW!

im behind you 100%
    He'll stand up to FIFA, but not Tom Coughlan.
    For the love of Christ!

I'm starting to find all this incredibly embarassing
    Cork City: Making 'Dream Team' seem realistic since 2007.

im behind you 100%
    FIFA may even have a change of heart and supply you with the vaseline.

Have you a link for the FAI complaint?

There is no precedence for a replay. That game was a completely different scenario, as pointed out by several posters on another thread in this forum in the last hour or so.
    From what I understand, the referee made a blatent 'technical error' in that game in Uzbekistan, he awarded a free out not a penalty.

In France the referee and linesman made a blatent technical error in not ruling (a) for an offside and (b) for two blatent handballs.

20 Posts
    I think the French should offer to replay the game. And Ireland should respectfully decline the offer. That way everyone has a bit of dignity. Video Reffs should then be brought in for all international qualifying games.

Or alternatively New Zealand should be kicked out on the grounds that they arent really into football and Ireland would take their place.

Quote Originally Posted by irishultra View Post
    does it not make sense to have seeds given preference in a playoff? they battled their way to get to that position and if we had been better in the past we might have been first seeds.
    This is rubbish. The obvious point is that France were seeded so had an easier group than us. You are effectively rewarding teams who have finished below their expected place, instead of teams who have outperformed their expected place.

On a separate point, irishultra you obviously dont like the Irish team, (presumably the old eircom league issue). Why dont you take a day off from posting.

Quote Originally Posted by Billsthoughts View Post

Or alternatively New Zealand should be kicked out on the grounds that they arent really into football and Ireland would take their place.
    Or even more annoyingly they have qualified off the back of being better than New Caledonia and Bahrain. Is this the easiest qualifying route ever.

On the other hand we had to finish ahead of one of the finalists from the last tournament.

We can't let the French get away with this

I know people are saying we should forgive and forget on this.

But if this happens once, it can happen again and it will happen again if allowed to go unchecked.

There has to be a replay and the French have to be called to account.

This event has given a licence to football teams to cheat and deceive referees.

Come the Euro qualifying it's highly possible we could again find ourselves in a similar situation, needing an important result against a big team and that team cheats to gain an advantage.

That's why we can't let this cheating pass, if it happens once, it will happen again.

The Irish team played out of their skins in Paris and tried everything. Now it's time for Irish supporters to back the team to the hilt and try everything to get the replay the players deserve.

3,488 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Emmet7 View Post
    From what I understand, the referee made a blatent 'technical error' in that game in Uzbekistan, he awarded a free out not a penalty.

In France the referee and linesman made a blatent technical error in not ruling (a) for an offside and (b) for two blatent handballs.
    You clearly don't understand what a technical error is.

In the first game, he saw what happened and applied the wrong (old) rule. In the second game, the ref simply missed an incident. Completely different scenario, and exactly why the FAI are wasting their time.

Oh, and the FAI's antics are exactly why there shouldn't be a replay; it'd lead to a situation in the future where every little error is challenged and a replay urged.

49 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Billsthoughts View Post
    I think the French should offer to replay the game. And Ireland should respectfully decline the offer. That way everyone has a bit of dignity. Video Reffs should then be brought in for all international qualifying games.

ha ya we wish. new zealand in the WC, HOW!!.

38 Posts
    I wouldn't be one for the replay either the ref's decision must be final even if he makes a mistake.

I'm suprised nobody mentioned another option, where as a gesture of fair play FIFA add an extra place to the world cup for Ireland. That's a win win situation as FIFA get France in the WC and we also get to qualify. They would have to work out a way of fitting us into a group though.

Maybe Delaney won't get very far with his request for a replay but if it results in a few sweetners for the FAI from FIFA to make him shut up then it is worth a try.

A few examples:

1. Easy group in the next qualifiers
    2. Buy up the remaining long-term exec. boxes at the new Lansdowne.
    3. A UEFA cup final in Dublin.

Quote Originally Posted by JGKyne View Post
    I have lost faith in football....
    Same here, its sickening, its not going to be easy to watch again when ya know its all rigged for for the big teams.

If it had been us that won with a goal like that ya can bet Blatter and Platinini would be all over the media today demanding that we offer to replay.

Page 27 of 39 FirstFirst ... 17252627282937 ... LastLast