Page 22 of 39 FirstFirst ... 12202122232432 ... LastLast

Thread: France V Ireland - Wednesday, 18th November 2009 - World Cup 2010 Playoff Second Leg

161 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dahamsta View Post
    Christ that's hypnotising. From every other angle you'd wonder, but from there it doesn't look instinctual at all. What's the source of the footage?
    Here is Lee Dixon again
    "If you look at the Maradona handball at the 1986 World Cup that was not an instinctive movement. That's a cheating movement and you kind of look at the second movement of Thierry's hand and say that's deliberate, that's the same as Maradona, he knew exactly what he was doing. From that point of view, you'd have to say it is out of character."

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    1,001 Posts
    I dont see any possibilty that FIFA will replay it. they got what they wanted with all 4 seeds going through and they will sit back and wait for the uproar to die down over next few days

But fast forward to the World Cup and we will see France walk onto the pitch behind a big yellow FIFA Fair Play banner... its enough to make u never want to watch football again
    Its really not that complicated!!!

International Prospect passinginterest's Avatar
    435 Posts
    Having said all I've said about missing our chances in normal time, not blaming the ref, not blaming Henry and not being full of righteous indignation about cheating, I'd definitely take a replay and I'd even sign a petition looking for one if I had the slightest inclination it might work!
    Last edited by passinginterest; 19/11/2009 at 1:17 PM.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Tallaght Stadium Regular

Outstanding Performance by the Irish. If they had played this way throughout the qualifiers we would have topped the group easily no problem.
    www.freebiesireland.com
    Give it away on freebies ireland!
    The unwanted stuff website!

rerun
    Quote Originally Posted by dahamsta View Post
    Christ that's hypnotising. From every other angle you'd wonder, but from there it doesn't look instinctual at all. What's the source of the footage?
    Anyone seen any shots or images showing position of officials?

I think I asked this in another thread as it was being moved, but if Duncan Ferguson can get done for assault on the pitch, can the FAI not shake a few trees and threaten to sue the FFF for fraud and deception, maybe even get an injunction against them taking part in the World Cup? Or have I been watching the LOI for too long?
    Last edited by dahamsta; 19/11/2009 at 1:22 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by rerun View Post
    Anyone seen any shots or images showing position of officials?
    Ref couldn't see it, Gallas was blocking linesman's view of Henry I think but the linesman should have caught Dunne being fouled and the obvious offside

Trap on Radio 1 now. Calling for replay on penalty shoot out.

Quote Originally Posted by rerun View Post
    I think I asked this in another thread as it was being moved, but if Duncan Ferguson can get done for assault on the pitch, can the FAI not shake a few trees and threaten to sue the FFF for fraud and deception, maybe even get an injunction against them taking part in the World Cup? Or have I been watching the LOI for too long?
    You've been smoking the wacky tobaccy for too long more like

The FAI doing that would open up a whole can of worms for every football federation on this planet, not going to happen

Quote Originally Posted by Razors left peg View Post
    I dont see any possibilty that FIFA will replay it. they got what they wanted with all 4 seeds going through and they will sit back and wait for the uproar to die down over next few days

But fast forward to the World Cup and we will see France walk onto the pitch behind a big yellow FIFA Fair Play banner... its enough to make u never want to watch football again
    Er Slovenia qualified, a country with a population half the size of ROI? I agree ref the Dermot Aherne comments, a tad embarrassing, i think politicians should, and usually do, stay out of sport.

Trap blaming it all on FIFA's love of money.

Quote Originally Posted by markmc View Post
    Trap blaming it all on FIFA's love of money.
    Says the guy who played the media and the FAI like fools back in the summer so he could get himself a new two year contract before earning it

Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post
    Says the guy who played the media and the FAI like fools back in the summer so he could get himself a new two year contract before earning it
    And he deserves every penny it. You are a Troll.

26 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post
    And how did he do that O'Mighty one?

Quote Originally Posted by livehead1 View Post
    And how did he do that O'Mighty one?
    Talking about wanting the new contract and how he's being head hunted by other clubs once his contract expires.

Could be true but why go to the media with it?

Also many forummers pointed this out at the time, and many were of agreement that his contract should be reviewed closer to the end of the campaign. Apparently people have forgotten this in the sea of righteousness that is being Irish today.

For those of you who speak french, I think this forum reflects what the general feeling here is like at the moment, a lot of the public won't support the national squad any longer, and the vast majority focus on the admirable performance shown by the celtic tigers...

http://forum.lequipe.fr/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=685

Jebus, you're a terrible WUM.

Hand of Frog and other select nuggets. Chuckle

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/foo...s-special.html
    I

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    It is clear the linesman saw the handball as he had driect line of sight to it.
    Which makes it match rigging bythe linesman.

85 Posts
    First reply was deleted... Probbly cos I had a pop at someone at the end.

Plus I posted it in the Cheat thread when it wasn't Off Topic.

We're not going to get a replay. But I don't think some contrition from FIFA is too much to ask for. Something acknowledging the mistake/oversight/short comings in the current set up, and maybe even efforts to ensure no recurrences in the future..
    I pity the fool!.... But suggest ways that he might improve himself.

www.thefastleague.com

Well, as i suspected all along, only Trap was doing his damnedest to prove otherwise, these lads can actually play.

Hope we can get the two Reids in the sqaud, Finnan one last hoorah and Rory Delap brought in for his throws.

Page 22 of 39 FirstFirst ... 12202122232432 ... LastLast