Page 20 of 39 FirstFirst ... 10181920212230 ... LastLast

Thread: France V Ireland - Wednesday, 18th November 2009 - World Cup 2010 Playoff Second Leg

161 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post
    Prize at stake counts for nothing, you're either against cheating or you're not

I'm not because I know if Keane had gotten away with one of his deliberate handballs and scored our second afterwards I wouldn't care this morning.

I'm not because I've called for frees, corners, penalties and throws for Limerick when I know damn well they aren't

I'd say the vast, vast majority of you aren't against cheating in football either, just cheating against your team. That's hypocritical to me
    Aaaah. Its that old chestnut. I condone cheating. Ah sure everyone does it.

161 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by passinginterest View Post
    The reason we lost is we didn't take our chances in the game. Over the 2 legs we had about 6 good scoring chances, France had maybe 2. One missed hand ball is not the reason we're not going to South Africa.

The performnace was a credit to the players and I'm still sick to the stomach that it just wasn't quite enough.

Jebus I'm glad I'm not the only sane person on foot.ie, you can see my initial reaction on page 3/4 of this thread. I'm relieved to say that all the lads in work share our view rather than the mental ones on here.
    Another condoning cheating as if its normal behaviour you mean. Then yes we are all 'mental'.

Quote Originally Posted by Noelys Guitar View Post
    Aaaah. Its that old chestnut. I condone cheating. Ah sure everyone does it.
    Not everyone, but when my team and my country do it and I don't give a toss then do you not see how it would weaken my ravings about replays, boycotts on products and conspiracy theories?

French president.

The French football president said "Ireland should be philosophical and move on".Heres a philosophical comment for you- that football is reflecting modern society where the strong are protected at the expense of the weak.
    Gallas was also saying he "didnt see the incident",ya right.
    FIFA's website said "the ball was cut back to Gallas by Henry on the endline"-no mention of a handball.
    If there was justice and integrity in football then none of the above comments would have been made.
    Im still sick over this.I do buy Gillette products and Adidas ones too,or at least i did,my small way of protesting.

Quote Originally Posted by eamo1 View Post
    The French football president said "Ireland should be philosophical and move on".Heres a philosophical comment for you- that football is reflecting modern society where the strong are protected at the expense of the weak.
    FIFA's website said "the ball was cut back to Gallas by Henry on the endline"-no mention of a handball.
    If there was justice and integrity in football then none of the above comments would have been made.
    Im still sick over this.I do buy Gillette products and Adidas ones too,or at least i did,my small way of protesting.
    So capitalism cheated us now?

[QUOTE=passinginterest;1276908]The reason we lost is we didn't take our chances in the game. Over the 2 legs we had about 6 good scoring chances, France had maybe 2. One missed hand ball is not the reason we're not going to South Africa.

also when your substitutes are gibson who hasnt played a competetive game for months and mcshane who let henry in to handle when he should have stuck his head to it
    france had 16 good players to choose from where as Ireland had 11

26 Posts
    I brought my new Adidas footwear back this morning; asked why I was returning them I told them that I couldn't face indirectly paying that cheating c*nts wages! The only question she asked me after that was "would I be wanting a different make"

Quote Originally Posted by endabob1 View Post
    Without going into semantics, he didn't get the rules wrong he just didn't see it, had he seen it I'm sure he would have blown, he gave all the other handballs.

The previous one was replayed because the ref didn't know the rule when players infringe, he gave a free kick to Bahrain instead of allowing the Pk to be retaken as is stated in the rulebook.

it's a technical difference I grant you but FIFA would never allow a replay over a decision like last night or they would be replaying games every other week.
    Unfortunately this is true.

85 Posts
    The French football president said "Ireland should be philosophical and move on".
    He should crawl back into his booster seat...
    I pity the fool!.... But suggest ways that he might improve himself.

www.thefastleague.com

International Prospect passinginterest's Avatar
    435 Posts
    Another condoning cheating as if its normal behaviour you mean. Then yes we are all 'mental'.
    Cheating in football is an intrinsic part of the game, handballs, pushing, jersey pulling, obstruction, Ireland have scored plenty of goals where fouls have been missed in the build up it happens in football everyday.

I'm devestated that we lost, truly sick, but I'm not going to have a canary about cheating when we had so many chances to win the game without worrying about it.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Tallaght Stadium Regular

85 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by endabob1 View Post
    Without going into semantics, he didn't get the rules wrong he just didn't see it, had he seen it I'm sure he would have blown, he gave all the other handballs.

The previous one was replayed because the ref didn't know the rule when players infringe, he gave a free kick to Bahrain instead of allowing the Pk to be retaken as is stated in the rulebook.

it's a technical difference I grant you but FIFA would never allow a replay over a decision like last night or they would be replaying games every other week.
    True... Though it's the Assistant and Fourth Official should account.

There'll be no replay or anything.. But I don't think some contrition or a tip of the hat is too much to ask for from FIFA. An acknowledgement that the current set up is somehow flawed and efforts are being made to avoid future recurances.
    Last edited by dr_peepee; 19/11/2009 at 2:30 PM.
    I pity the fool!.... But suggest ways that he might improve himself.

www.thefastleague.com

Unhappy I'm sorry...

Hello lads (and lasses)

I just joined up to say I'm sorry on behalf of the wide majority of french people feeling ashamed of their national team today. (yes, I am french)

Having lived 5 years in Dublin, having met countless friendly Irish during my lucky stay in Cabra and Sutton, I feel disgusted about what happened last night.
    I've never been mad about football, more into motorcycle racing and Rugby myself, I still had to watch the fierce Irish play last night, as I just knew the Irish spirit would be there, and that it'd give the frogs a run for their money.

Not only it did, but some ***** had to cheat in order to win, I felt very lonely last night when this happened.

My apologies are probably not very important since the Irish squad were robbed their victory and denied a very important qualification, but they are sincere, I hope the french get slaughtered in this world cup, I really do.

Now I'm going back to my Chinatown Thin Lizzy album, and I'll dring a couple of pints tonight thinking of you all.

Sorry again...

Erick

it reflects today's society - the sad thing is that because the ref didnt see it nothing can be done retrospectively - yet didnt Eduardo nearly get hung for diving at Celtic ......double standards .....please also remember that Platini is the second most powerful man in football - love to hear his version

161 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ashamed View Post
    Hello lads (and lasses)

I just joined up to say I'm sorry on behalf of the wide majority of french people feeling ashamed of their national team today. (yes, I am french)
    Good on you Erick

Gutted, but....

Look lets try and move on, this episode is our own 'Hand of God'. It will be with us forever. The English still arent over Maradona, so lets not go down that road. We should re-group, re-focus and realise we can now play great attacking football.

Lets put the underdog tag to bed once and for all, and go forward with the attitdue that big names and history dont scare us, we have the ability as a team to beat you. And beat you we will.

Now im off to trade in a 07 Megane...

Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    What's it to you Dodge? Why do you bother you árse coming on to an Ireland thread?
    The fact that in the 2nd leg of a play off, the Irish came back from losing the home game, clearly did enough to deserve to have done the impossible and
    pretty much the rest of the sporting world is aghast at the circumstances of how the tie was lost.
    And all you want to do is miserably nitpick your way around on a stupid thread.
    I bothered because I watched the game, and like most here wanted Ireland to progress.

I commented because some people here are talking rubbish about conspiracies, and huge amounts of people here are bing hugely hypocritical

FIFA have no right to fly that Fair Play flag. Action must be taken.

I hope when FIFA come to RTE trying to sell the rights for the World Cup that RTE tell them to fcuk off!
    LESS OF THE BULL NOW!

161 Posts

Ginola Calls for Replay

"I'm very embarrassed by the situation. I don't feel very proud to be French this morning. The Irish played very well and they deserved to go through as much as France, maybe more. I'm very surprised Fifa haven't mentioned anything about it - the whole world saw the handball. This is a pure injustice. Everyone in France, the press and everyone, says there should be a replay."

Lee Dixon's comments on Henry
    "I played with Thierry for six years and he was as honest as the day is long. From listening to the radio this morning and reading the BBC website, there are a lot of Arsenal fans on there saying he's gone down in their estimations. It's really unfortunate, but he's put himself in that position by a moment of madness. It's pure instinct for the first handball but the second one is the one people will look at say he's cheated. and that's what will taint his reputation. He will be remembered for that and it's sad because he's been a truly great player, one of the best players in the Premier League ever and now people will remember him for the goal against Ireland. It's really sad."
    Really sad my hole, if he didn't want to be remember for that then he should have told the ref he cheated. Shut up Dixon you *****.

Interesting. Up until an hour ago I would have said zero chance of a replay. Is it possible-could it actually happen? A one off game in a neutral venue winner takes all? Pennos was a fair ending to a barnstorming game. Nobody would have been complaining if we had gone out like that.
    I

Page 20 of 39 FirstFirst ... 10181920212230 ... LastLast