No need for hysterics just support your arguments with facts. Clearly it's a game of differing opinions but;
Hunt - Comedy Gold
McShame - Nuff said......
Best - No your not....
If you're going to criticise players do it with facts and analysis, not 2 word derogatory soundbites. It makes you sound like a BNP candidate blaming everything on the immigrants and being unable to substantiate their view with any kind of evidence.
To be fair to him I would agree with his assesment of Given, Dunne, St Ledger, O'Shea, Whelan ( to an extent), Lawrence (the decent bit), Doyle (minus the extremely over rated bit).
The dogs on the street know Kilbane is gone. Nobody can fault his committment and loyalty and he has had many great days for us. Not any more though.
Disagree with Duff. Retains the ball better than anyone on the pitch for us. Not the player he was at Chelsea but thats a long time ago now - miles and injuries on the clock haven't helped but definate starter for me.
Andrews has grown on me. Like his attitude, tackling and his ability to get around the pitch. He does his job well enough. Will never be a world beater though but thats fine. You get what you see. Would like to see him along side Stephen Reid.
Keane is ok. For me always a 2nd striker at a top half Premier league team. Liable to get you one though. Can finish. Nobody in our squad can compete with his tally for club and country.
As for the subs well we dont have strength in depth - especially up front. The positive is they are young and hopefully will develop and improve.
Hunt is a good goer and will try all day - can deliver a cross (probably better than McGeady).
MeGeady however is a difficult one. He's a winger who cannot get crosses in and doesnt have enough pace to beat decent full backs in a race. So what does he actually bring or do. Definate one to spring from the bench with licence to roam if you are going to play him at all. But no way should he get in ahead of Duff or Lawrence on current form.
Last edited by CMcC; 18/11/2009 at 11:52 AM.
Just to back this up: have a wee read of the following minute by minute between 1456 and 1507: http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/8265326.stm
I'm surprised that Shay didn't cut his hands off, or at least have the decency to wear a red shirt if he was throwing the game that much.
Whilst there's some truth in the opening post, we all know that we have some limitations, but now's the time to accentuate the positives. You don't sit on the morning of your wedding going "Mary's got lovely eyes, but her love handles are getting out of hand, and both the bridesmaids look much better".
Jason McAteer didn't have a club when he scored against Holland. Out of 92 managers in England, they all thought he was past it, and not worth signing. Then look what happened. Let's do the post mortem when the patient's dead. In about 8 months time.
Spout away - we're all well aware that the team has limitations. You've had all year to post this, why now?
You're missing the point to a spectacular degree.
Its a pre-requisite of supporting this team that you'll be painfully aware that we've some limited players - but you'll support them all the more for it.
The sense of achievement is heightened when you compete against the odds.
Never thought I'd quote this, but to paraphrase our Norn Iron posters:
"We're not Brazil - we're Ireland"![]()
Quoting years at random since 1975
Realistic. Some posters on here think that just because a footballer is in the Irish squad, he can do no wrong. And if you point out a flaw you are a traitor and should be brought out and shot!!.
The MORON who started this thread should be ignored for ever more
Given- wasn't worked, but did his job when pressed
Kilbane- Great game, solid at the back, and rarely gave the ball away
Dunne- Won everything in the air, and a lot on the ground
Sledge- Cracker of a game, looked like he was everywhere, dealt with Anelka's pace with ease, and blocked a shot with his face.
O'Shea- Extremely solid till he had to go off
Duff- Ran tirelessly, worked some great openings, and terrific desire to reach that ball for the goal
Whelan- The best I've seen him play in an Ireland shirt. Great distribution, and a real nuisance when the French had the ball
Andrews- Had a shaky start and gave the ball away a few times, but had a solid game otherwise
Lawrence- Some great balls into the box, important tracking back, and ran himself into the ground
Keane- Missed a sitter, but created acres of space for himself for the goal. Squillacci will be having nightmares about him for months
Doyle- Won almost every header he went up for, held the ball up brilliantly, and didn't give it away much, despite not having much support
So put that in your pipe and do whatever the hell you like with it.
I think the majority of this team will be sticking around for another campaign so on a positive note I think we will be a force in the Euros
Always look on the bright side of life
we are looking for excuses here lads….truth is, the game should have been over ever before it got to that stage. We had numerous chances to win that game, and we blew it. Its not sensationalism, it’s the truth. Cone out of the fog lads. We are looking for people to blame. And for the record, every single player was heroic last night, except McGeady who I wanted to strangle. Even if I do rate him. But so be it.....c'est la vie. Heads up boys, ye we magnificent. Just lacked the killer edge.