Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Pathetic scenes outside O Sullivans, Paris

I think it was him who I was speakilng to last night outside my hotel. I could be wrong. THe lad I was chatting to was held at knife point and mugged but he seemed ok now if a little shaken. Not sure if its the same guy.
    In Trap we trust

Gufct.

I heard 2 different stories today but the one i heard most(4 people out of the 6 i asked said it) was that he was hospitalised,could be wrong though.

I was in the toilet in the ground in the first half having a p*ss in a cubicle and a bloke said did I mind if he done a line in there with me. He pulled out a card with a small line of white powder. It sort of booted off on my part - I was a bit worse for wear then so not sure of what was said - and I think he might have had to snort some of the sh*t off the floor in the end.
    This is the cooooooooooooolest footy forum I've ever seen!

Get well soon gufct. Cant just say its french scumbags, it oculd have been the algerians. As the french always like to blame them.

No, im sorry, I agree with ORA, we didnt go back around that area after the game partly because we were too depressed to be near irish and would have been just worse to have heard it. But before the game there was a bit of tension and too many drunk fools, fiar enough they might not have been looking for trouble but htey were falling over eachother and the police were getting agitated.

The gendarmerie handled the crowd outside of osullivans terribly, it looked like they were trying to get a row stared to be honest. Not how you should police a load of very drunk people.

Have to say though i did feel at times that some lads were just waiting for something to happen.

Quote Originally Posted by Mento View Post
    15,000 Irish in Paris and you decide to open a thread on someone banging on the roof of a car??

Pathetic
    What was pathetic was the way some of the crowd behaved themselves.

99% of the people there were drinking and most people were happy to sing and interact with passers by in a positive manner but from one group (a minority of the massive crowd) there was a lot of aggression.

It wasn't an isolated incident but a sustained period of blocking traffic, banging on the sides of passing cars and buses and generally behaving (for the first time in my experience) like an intimidating mob rather than the friendly group which Irish fans normally are.

I hope they're ashamed of themselves and either give future trips a miss or learn to behave in a manner more appropriate for an Irish fan.

Finally, hope gufct makes a full and swift recovery, sorry to hear what happened.

Quote Originally Posted by SeanODonovan View Post
    You have to judge these incidents against the thousands of other friendly encounters between Irish and French & Irish and Algerians.

I was in the O'Sullivan area between 12 and 2:30am when there was a potentially mixture of Algerians tearing around on cars and motorbikes and Irish aggrieved at being cheated out of the match.

And did it explode ? Of course not ! There was a spirit of football fans together with the Irish singing "1 2 3 Viva Algerie" and the Algerians giving it the old "Ole Ole Ole".

And the French people diplomatically had an early night and hid their embarrassment under the duvet !
    Sean - I was outside O'Sullivans aswell - and the Algerians were provoking some of the Irish lads with some of their antics - luckily it didnt kick off..

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    The gendarmerie handled the crowd outside of osullivans terribly, it looked like they were trying to get a row stared to be honest. Not how you should police a load of very drunk people.

Have to say though i did feel at times that some lads were just waiting for something to happen.
    It was ridiculous, all the police wading in wearing full riot gear. It increased the level of aggression needlessly.

And you're absolutely right - there were lads getting right into their faces screaming at them just dying for something to kick off. We don't need their types.

Ya there was one particular lad with an earring who just kept arguing with them, luckily for him it was the police and not the riot crowd or he might have quickly found out and started off a whole new chapter in the book of how not to conduct yourself as an irish fan.

We dont need those fans is right. Hopefully again it was just because how big that game was and how cheap/easy it was to get to.

192 Posts
    I was in O'Sullivans briefly on Tuesday evening but it was already getting pretty drunk by 8 o'clock so decided to head back towards St.Michel and Pantheon area. Did see a couple of videos of the car-stopping during Wednesday afternoon.

On a more serious note I know of one chap who had his wallet lifted by a fellow Irishman in the jacks at half-time on Wednesday. What kind of scumbag would travel all the way to Paris to steal off his own countrymen - sickened me almost as much as the final outcome did?

Overall the support was absolutely brilliant - we did ourselves proud both on and off the pitch. Unfortunately there will always be a few troublemakers but as Irish fans, we are usually pretty good at policing that ourselves without the local Gardai having to get involved.
    "There's man all over for you, blaming on his boots the fault of his feet" - Samuel Beckett, Waiting for Godot

We headed down there on Tuesday night and quickly left because of the ar seholes shaking cars and vans on the street. I attempted to berate them all, but I soon coped myself on and realised it was pathetically futile.
    <insert witty remark>

twice had pints nicked in O'Sullivans. Only Irish beside us.....certainly was a lot ofscumbags ontrip....what about the gob****e starting on the drunk homless guy under the Eiffel tower!!
    having said that...the most annoying part of the trip was paying €15 for a freezing cold breakfast in O'Sullivans on Thursday morn!!!!!!!

I worked in this pub in 2003 for a couple of months. awful place.

46 Posts
    [QUOTE=paul_oshea;1278196]Cant just say its french scumbags, it oculd have been the algerians. As the french always like to blame them.
    [QUOTE]

Very harsh and very judgemental and I'm sorry but I had to pick up on it. Its an unfortunate consequence of society we live in that people steal and that people are forced to steal. Its unfortunate that you should label them 'the Algerians' and qualify it by reference to the fact the French blame them. Sorry but it could have been anyone from any corner of the world. Just how easy is it to tell a story and add feathers, legs and a parachute to it. As much as stealing is a slur on society so also is uninformed judgement passing.

I'm pretty defensive here because I spent quite a bit of my time walking around with an £800 worth camera and in my stupidy spent quite a bit of time walking around with it by myself even late at night. Nobody bothered me.I was an easy target and in all honesty I was stupid but I felt no less safe in Paris than I have ever felt in Dublin, Derby or Dubrovnik.

Rant over.

PS If anybody is missing a red woollen hat with a peak on it that was left behind in the stadium then you can have it back.I thought it looked cool at the time. I was badly mistaken.

415 Posts
    I was talking to a lad on the eurostar and he was saying that his brother was chatting away to a couple of Algerians at night and lo and behold after they went their seperate ways he realized his wallet had been taken with about 300 euro in it

192 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Nah Nah Nah Nah View Post
    I was talking to a lad on the eurostar and he was saying that his brother was chatting away to a couple of Algerians at night and lo and behold after they went their seperate ways he realized his wallet had been taken with about 300 euro in it
    As was said above it's a bit unfair to blame the Algerians alone for this. There was at least one Irish "fan" lifting wallets off his fellow countrymen in the jacks at half-time in the Stade de France.
    "There's man all over for you, blaming on his boots the fault of his feet" - Samuel Beckett, Waiting for Godot

shock, not all irish people are saints. shock not all english, dutch, german international fans are hooligans.

Quote Originally Posted by Mento View Post
    15,000 Irish in Paris and you decide to open a thread on someone banging on the roof of a car??

Pathetic
    Yes Mento, I decided to open a thread when I returned to my hotel on Tuesday night because I wasn't happy about what was going on. OK ?
    Maybe you hit a few thumps on a few cars yourself?

Moronic behaviour and indefensible.
    Why do it unless you're a pr!ck ?

This kind of behaviour probably started in Paris 5 yrs ago and is becoming too common.

When some genius takes out a football and starts kicking it up in the air in a public place where you have women with prams and elderly people walking about minding thier own business in their own country it is intimidating and is thuggish behaviour.

It might seem funny but tell that to the innocent bystander, and it is this type of behaviour that develops on to banging on cars in trafffic etc like what appears to have happened outside O'Sullivans, we left when it became obvious the fools were taking over and it must be said it is some of the the newer generation that are responsible for this.

As for slagging of a fellow for going asleep after too much drink surely this is better than the crap that is creeping in on some of the bigger trips. You didnt see that in Oslo or Aarhus.
    Fair Play died Nov 18th 2009, Stade Francais.

This all happened 5 years ago as well in Paris. Have to say I thought it was worse the last time round which resulted in some Moroccons/Algerians coming back and having a glass fight with Shamrock Rovers supporters (who were just defending themselves) after being drenched earlier on. The lads stopping the cars and mounting vehicles are retards. They were retards 5 years ago and the same last Wednesday. Harmless fun is singing and having the craic - man handling cars and rocking them is not. There were one or two funny moments where lads jumped on the back of construction/road vehicles and were joking with traffic cones and shovels village people style, but apart from that the rest was well out of order.

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast