Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Pathetic scenes outside O Sullivans, Paris

Pathetic scenes outside O Sullivans, Paris

No better man than me to have a big craic outside pubs when abroad but tonight brought us down to the league of the lads across the Irish Sea.
    A shower of clowns stopping cars and any vehicles that were passing by and intimidating them.
    The worst was the mother and kid in their car and a crowd of *******s banging on the car as it was stopped with the crowd on the street.
    Not like the supporters of old. Too many young p***** around now.

****s

Quote Originally Posted by finbarrk View Post
    No better man than me to have a big craic outside pubs when abroad but tonight brought us down to the league of the lads across the Irish Sea.
    A shower of clowns stopping cars and any vehicles that were passing by and intimidating them.
    The worst was the mother and kid in their car and a crowd of *******s banging on the car as it was stopped with the crowd on the street.
    That is Unbelievable, Finnbark stupid question maybe but did nobody tell them to stop and i mean any other Irish supporters

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by finbarrk
    Another killjoy.

Of course it's wrong and can't be condoned, but to brand the support because of a couple of alcohol-influenced incidents is wrong. The Brits would probably not stop at "banging on the car" and intimidation.

Don't worry, the rugger buggers will do the same in a couple of months time. Should we care then or only now?

3,473 Posts
    Where's OneRedArmy when you need him?

36 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mypost View Post
    Another killjoy.

Of course it's wrong and can't be condoned, but to brand the support because of a couple of alcohol-influenced incidents is wrong. The Brits would probably not stop at "banging on the car" and intimidation.

Don't worry, the rugger buggers will do the same in a couple of months time. Should we care then or only now?
    approval by inaction mypost?

utter rubbish. it's not being a killjoy to suggest that banging on someone's car is out of order.

O'sullivan's isn't even near the stadium. they were probably driving home for their tea. It's a very residential area that.

Whatever the brits do doesn't matter. We should have higher standards. Did you laugh about babb and kennedy jumping on the car bonnet 10 years ago? I bet you wouldn't smirk if it was your wife and child.
    Last edited by dynamo kerry; 18/11/2009 at 11:35 AM.

This happened last time outside the same bar as well. Brilliant craic for hours and everyone in great spirits. Then as people got too drunk there were banging on and jumping on cars etc. In fairness last time a fair few people had words with those involved but I remember it getting a bit messy so we left...... and went inside O'Sullivans

82 Posts
    Where's OneRedArmy when you need him?
    I was on the roof of the car hitting the windscreen with my inflatable tricolour hammer.....

If you can't beat'em, join'em

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mypost View Post
    I've been to about 50 home 6 Nations games and over 20 away and never seen anything like this.

Whats your reference point?

that pub is a right $h** hole
    my lasting memory from the last time we were in Paris was the stink of 3 cork lads in GAA jerseys that had changed colour from the sweat on them
    also you could cut the atmosphere with a knife , there were lads there just waiting to kill , kip

Things got a bit hairy outside there on the last trip too. A few dodgy locals around the area as well. Sounds similar though. Drunken antics spilled a little bit over to the dark side. Thats not what we're about

I was there too and it was getting very, very "English Lager Lout" indeed. There was another nasty little incident at the same spot when some of the lads thought it would be hilarious to rob a big Algerian flag from a lad going by on his scooter. When he got off the scooter to get it back his mate (who was driving the thing) got a load of beer thrown over him. It finally took one sensible fella to come over and apologise on behalf of the Irish "fans" to diffuse it.

There were other lads on the train to the game who were WAY over the top in their aggression towards the French fans, again something I've not seen before.

Yes, it's a small minority of a wonderful, wonderful group of supporters, but we really need to stamp this out.

1 2 3 Viva Algerie

You have to judge these incidents against the thousands of other friendly encounters between Irish and French & Irish and Algerians.

I was in the O'Sullivan area between 12 and 2:30am when there was a potentially mixture of Algerians tearing around on cars and motorbikes and Irish aggrieved at being cheated out of the match.

And did it explode ? Of course not ! There was a spirit of football fans together with the Irish singing "1 2 3 Viva Algerie" and the Algerians giving it the old "Ole Ole Ole".

And the French people diplomatically had an early night and hid their embarrassment under the duvet !

That should have been * "potentially explosive mixture"

15,000 Irish in Paris and you decide to open a thread on someone banging on the roof of a car??

Pathetic

Story.

Theres a story in our forum(G.U) that a big Galway fan and Ireland fan(and foot.ie poster btw) was assaulted last night in Paris and was in hospital.Apparently it was in todays Star Newspaper but i dont read that.

47 Posts
    Hope he makes a full recovery.
    Roddy Collins, the biggest <insert as appropiate> in Irish Football.

Des Cahill mentioned the lads in the crowd that looked like they were going to burst each other over Shay Givens jersey.
    I hope they get to see how daft they looked when they get home.

Quote Originally Posted by eamo1 View Post
    Theres a story in our forum(G.U) that a big Galway fan and Ireland fan(and foot.ie poster btw) was assaulted last night in Paris and was in hospital.Apparently it was in todays Star Newspaper but i dont read that.
    Any idea who it is?

Hope he's alright anyway

Get Well..

Its GUFCT.Others on his facebook page are saying he got mugged but fought them off but still got hurt.French scumbags.
    Get Well soon T.

2,789 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by eamo1 View Post
    Get Well soon
    Ditto

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast