Page 48 of 82 FirstFirst ... 38464748495058 ... LastLast

Thread: Pre-Season Rumours Thread

1,104 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Blue Man View Post
    I was surprised to hear those signing tbh. Not sure where that kind of money is coming from. As i said, this is just what I heard
    The budget is no bigger than last season from what I know. Maybe the fact we're apparently going to be training in Dublin again is an attraction for some of them.

Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    The budget is no bigger than last season from what I know. Maybe the fact we're apparently going to be training in Dublin again is an attraction for some of them.
    Whereabouts will ye train in Dublin?? Lester has serious ability is he wants to use an Hynes is a threat, especially in the air. Am unconvinced about Cronin, not a great player. Surely the budget went up if these players are indeed signed!?

1,104 Posts
    I don't know where exactly they'll be training, I just heard Cousins wants them training in Dublin. He apparently has a good few connections in the Junior and schoolboy clubs so he may have somewhere lined up. Under Alan Mathews we trained in the Garda facilities in Westmanstown. In the last couple of years we've been training in Athlone and Longford. Cousins himself was quoted as saying that he was working off the same bduget as last season and had no problem with that. It is a good time to be doing deals with players this season in fairness but I'll wait and see on these prospective signings there's been nothing confirmed yet.

20 Posts
    ** FrOsTy ** Wrote

Not much in the way of a transfer but we've brought Gary Keane up from our U20's to our senior team.

One of the players of the year last season Gary can play unfront wide right or centre mid. Good box to box player. Poors mans Gerrard for all the world.
    That's great news Frosty. I heard good things about Keane last year.

Certainly wont be missing Longford games from now on.

238 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Magicme View Post
    I hear JL has already approached a security agency to help him out for Longford games against Mons.

Quote Originally Posted by Sam_Heggy View Post
    I hear JL has already approached a security agency to help him out for Longford games against Mons.
    I know he is scared of me but jaysus thats extreme!

122 Posts
    Sean Connor is the favourite for our job according to the Daily Mail, can't see him getting it though and don't want him to either

21 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by saintmaniac View Post
    Agree on that, Pats fans can testify on the Deans front, he made a gesture to us at a game last year, and it did not go down well. Ended with abuse being thrown at him every time we played him, to the extent that he was booed whenever he got on the ball. Think he got sent off the night that they beat us in Richmond, which was met by a hefty cheer Probably the only thing to cheer about that night to be fair...

Surprised Hynes is gone to Longford. I won't miss Lester but at First Division level, he could definitely make a difference with his free kicks alone.
    Yeah i rember a similar incident with Deans when City were away to Bray last October. He went came over and started celebrating in front of the small number of City fans that were there after Bray beat us 3-2 . If i remember it did'nt go down well either

Quote Originally Posted by sheao View Post
    Yeah i rember a similar incident with Deans when City were away to Bray last October. He went came over and started celebrating in front of the small number of City fans that were there after Bray beat us 3-2 . If i remember it did'nt go down well either
    Good defender but as shown by the above post he can be brain dead at times with off the ball antics. Would be a great signing for Longford though
    I'd love to invent a time machine then go back in time and win the lottery, buy new players and a stadium. Time machines are brilliant aren't they- Ian Holloway

Quote Originally Posted by Blue Man View Post
    Longford have apparently signed John Lester, Peter Hynes and Chris Deans

if longford sign them then its longfords last year in the league. Three of the biggest mercenries in the game who wont come cheap, and did i see that longford will be training in dublin this year? why sign these players? yer not gonna win the league, in fact mid table is the best you could hope for as these lads wont throw a boot for ye. ill be back to seeing two buses outside the grounds again, one for the home team one for the away.

thisis only the stepen mcguinness sponsored pfai using provincial clubs within an hour of dublin to keep his clients happy or with club.

Hynes is far from lazy, well at least not these days, would have liked him to sign back for Shels, not as a first name on the teamsheet, but a great option to have nonetheless.
    Lets redefine what it means to heal

1,104 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gael353 View Post
    if longford sign them then its longfords last year in the league. Three of the biggest mercenries in the game who wont come cheap, and did i see that longford will be training in dublin this year? why sign these players? yer not gonna win the league, in fact mid table is the best you could hope for as these lads wont throw a boot for ye. ill be back to seeing two buses outside the grounds again, one for the home team one for the away.

thisis only the stepen mcguinness sponsored pfai using provincial clubs within an hour of dublin to keep his clients happy or with club.
    The budget Cousins was given is the same as last year's according to him and the club and they managed it last year. I'd have my doubts about these lads too but it's his budget to use as he sees fit. We can't have much worse of a season than the previous two. Besides it's still only rumours.

Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    The budget Cousins was given is the same as last year's according to him and the club and they managed it last year. I'd have my doubts about these lads too but it's his budget to use as he sees fit. We can't have much worse of a season than the previous two. Besides it's still only rumours.
    i agree its only rumours now but if he does sign them and adds a few more a squad of 16 will be your lot and when/if a few results go against yee and the crowds vanish.....then we;ll get the "why wont the locals come out and support" threads later on in the season.

id rather see the usual off season midlands merrygoround of players then see those lot arrive down every second friday or sat night to collect their pfai 250/300 award

1,104 Posts
    I know what you mean but frankly we got no crowds last year anyway after the first two or three games. It can't get any worse. It's the same old faces week after week. I'm not saying that these players would necessarily improve crowds but they can't disimprove them. If the club gets into trouble due to paying players too much I won't have much sympathy either (not that I wouldn't help to try and rectify it obviously if necessary). There's still a few people around the place that have gone through the whole boom/bust cycle already and I would hope would not let it happen again. Leaving aside the rights and wrongs of training in Dublin, if we're doing so we'd get players we probably wouldn't get if training in Longford. €100 or so a week for being Dublin based may be more attractive than €150 for coming to Longford. There's probably only Bray that are Dublin based that would have these lads and even then if they stay up they mightn't want them.

122 Posts
    Our manager will be announced tomorrow at 3pm

38 Posts
    There's probably only Bray that are Dublin based that would have these lads and even then if they stay up they mightn't want them.

Bray released their entire squad ( except 4 u21's) because they simply can not afford them regardless what division they end up in.
    They have a first Division budget which would rank among the worst in the Div.

Quote Originally Posted by Captain2007 View Post
    There's probably only Bray that are Dublin based that would have these lads and even then if they stay up they mightn't want them.

Bray released their entire squad ( except 4 u21's) because they simply can not afford them regardless what division they end up in.
    They have a first Division budget which would rank among the worst in the Div.
    any idea approx how much it is?

27 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gael353 View Post

better explain mercenries to some of us,....the whole league is full of them if thats the case.how would you describe o flynn,o callaghan,kavanagh who played with lims last season.

Quote Originally Posted by Magicme View Post

good to hear eh!! its the lester effect you see!!

Page 48 of 82 FirstFirst ... 38464748495058 ... LastLast