Thread: Is there bars places to eat around the Stade de France

Is there bars places to eat around the Stade de France

Now i know its in a rough enough area but i was just wondering is there many bars, places to eat etc around the ground.

200 Posts
    Not really, it's in another Town, Saint Denis, which is outside the borders of Paris. It's sort of like Yonkers and New York, Dun Laoghaire and Dublin (not really a good example) or Uxbridge and London...

Saint Denis itself is a pretty industrial place and there is not a lot there. I would say you would be better off in the center and then heading to the ground 90mins before KO. You could try drinking / eating around Monmatre (onion shaped church on a hill) or Place du Clichy both of which are handy for the metro to the stadium. Watch out for pickpockets in Monmatre at night...

and place de glichy too, does anyone remember the lads chasing down the 2 algerians (who were hanging around a corner for ages) after one of the irish lads got his wallet pickpocketed? And then the bouncers running after the irish lads to stop them running after the algerians, for fear they would lure them round a corner and stab one of the irish lads. Fair play to the bouncers.

I remember thinking at the time, but those algerians were running seriouslly quick. I spose when you do that stuff as a living you have to be.
    Last edited by paul_oshea; 16/11/2009 at 3:09 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Naitch View Post
    Now i know its in a rough enough area but i was just wondering is there many bars, places to eat etc around the ground.
    Prob not as good as town but you won't go hungry or thirsty around there either.
    I spent all day in a bar outside the ground there before. It was just beside the Metro stop St Denis Porte De Paris. There was a few nice little french cafes along that area.

A carry out is the answer.

If you get this before you go therews an italian restaurant near the irish pub at saint denis.just baround the corner,well it was trhere in2004.and very good.

off to paris on wednesday mornin. any idea how many cans you legally bring in a suitcase cos i dont have the cash to spend 7euro on a pint in a french pub?

Dab O D...yer mad if yer thinking of bringing tinnies over...you'll get beer in French supermarkets at a fraction of what you'll pay for it back home
    The Germans are disputing it. Hegel is arguing that the reality is merely an a priori adjunct of non-naturalistic ethics, Marx is claiming it was offside.

Quote Originally Posted by spin View Post
    Dab O D...yer mad if yer thinking of bringing tinnies over...you'll get beer in French supermarkets at a fraction of what you'll pay for it back home
    Where is everyone meeting. a lot of talk of under the ellil tower??? from 12 noon ?

we all arrive at around 2pm 2moro

ye heard under the eifill tower at 2pm for cans and a kickaround. saw a clip on youtube of a load of irish kicking a ball around under it in 2004 and it looked like great craic.

Quote Originally Posted by dan o d View Post
    ye heard under the eifill tower at 2pm for cans and a kickaround. saw a clip on youtube of a load of irish kicking a ball around under it in 2004 and it looked like great craic.
    Cool so see you all then , !!

Decent priced beer cans can be purchased at Franprix or Casino on nearby Avenue de Suffren or Franprix on Boulevard de Grenelle. Stocks might not be huge though so get there early...

wheres avenue de suffren? is it near the tower?

Quote Originally Posted by dan o d View Post
    wheres avenue de suffren? is it near the tower?
    Within five minutes walk. As you look down the Champs de Mars (the park) from the tower, first right and then the second left. Franprix and Casino are small supermarkets and are on the opposite side of the street. There are also plenty of corner shops but they'll charge you Dublin-type Spar prices.

There are also other Franprix and a Carrefour City at the far end of the park. They were damaged in rioting (honestly) last Saturday afternoon and may not have reopened. There's also a Nicolas on the same street which sells wine and spirits at very good prices.

Stock up because beer is hard to get near the stadium.
    Last edited by Raheen; 17/11/2009 at 4:23 PM. Reason: add info

130 Posts
    Am day tripping it and the travel agent transfers are dropping us off at the Stade at 11 am in the morning. Think we'll be heading into town to meet us with the rest of the fans. Any idea if there is a train link, presumably so?

Quote Originally Posted by Raheen View Post
    Within five minutes walk. As you look down the Champs de Mars (the park) from the tower, first right and then the second left. Franprix and Casino are small supermarkets and are on the opposite side of the street. There are also plenty of corner shops but they'll charge you Dublin-type Spar prices.

There are also other Franprix and a Carrefour City at the far end of the park. They were damaged in rioting (honestly) last Saturday afternoon and may not have reopened. There's also a Nicolas on the same street which sells wine and spirits at very good prices.

Stock up because beer is hard to get near the stadium.
    cheers raheen. il buy u a pint( or a cheap can if possible)

Quote Originally Posted by elroy View Post
    Am day tripping it and the travel agent transfers are dropping us off at the Stade at 11 am in the morning. Think we'll be heading into town to meet us with the rest of the fans. Any idea if there is a train link, presumably so?
    Just get the Metro to Pigalle or Blanche. Thats where the craic is.