Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Promoting Irish football

62 Posts
    But yet no abuse is shipped by town heads to the good few Drogs who wear their jerseys around DKIT! Same goes with everyone who wears their colours around Dublin, feck all happens there.

My point is merely to the post of wearing your colours more often, you simply cant. Whereas in GAA its a completly different ball game when you wear your, for example Dublin coulours in Cork, nothing said(sorry for bringing up the GAA)

had me drogheda hoodie on the other night mainly because tis the warmest top i own and i got this really filthy look off a lad in a pub, because the hoodies light blue, till he seen the crest on.seen one guy in croker a few rows back in a shamrock rovers jacket apart from me and him i didnt see any other LOI clothing being worn

288 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Splurge View Post
    In fairness you dont see the English FA parading Man Utd around wembley before games in May do you?
    That's not comparing like with like...

Formerly: vega007 Colbert Report's Avatar
    167 Posts
    I'd pay good money to watch the senior Irish team play any other country.

You couldn't pay me one hundred euro to go out and watch the two best LOI teams compete in the title-deciding match. Sorry lads but I'm just not interested. Instead of trying to sell your league to people that aren't interested in buying, you should concentrate on improving your own league first and then let the fans come to you.

Quote Originally Posted by Colbert Report View Post
    You couldn't pay me one hundred euro to go out and watch the two best LOI teams compete in the title-deciding match. Sorry lads but I'm just not interested.
    Yet you've taken the time to read and reply to a thread discussing the promotion of the LOI? Either this is a WUM or someone with so little to occupy himself that he resorts to reading internet forums dedicated to subjects that he has absolutely no interest in. I'm undecided about which it is to be honest.

Unfortunately, whatever the motivations of this poster, there are a lot of people who think like this. They will never understand that being a true football fan means your support is not conditional on your team being of a certain standard. They will never understand that the only way Irish football can seriously improve is if domestic attendances improve. They will never understand that saying things like "you should concentrate on improving your own league first and then let the fans come to you" is just buck-passing by people whose failure to support the domestic game is the root cause of the problem. They will never understand that the EPL didn't establish itself as the league it is before the clubs started attracting huge numbers of fans.

Anyway, leaving aside people of that ilk (as there's really no point in worrying about them) ........ In a crowd of over 70,000, it's fair to assume that there are also some people who occasionally but not regularly turn up at LOI games, or who used to go but don't any more, or who have never been but might give it a go with some persuasion. Marketing the LOI to those people makes a lot of sense.

If it riles a few people who are so uninterested in the LOI that they feel the need to come on to an LOI forum and tell us about it, then so much the better.
    Last edited by Nedser; 17/11/2009 at 7:13 AM.

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts

You couldn't pay me one hundred euro to go out and watch the two best LOI teams compete in the title-deciding match. Sorry lads but I'm just not interested. Instead of trying to sell your league to people that aren't interested in buying, you should concentrate on improving your own league first and then let the fans come to you.
    So I presume you follow the local leagues in canada then?
    if not, you are a glory hunter, and not a passionate fan of the beautiful game
    Stick to rugby or gah please

1,025 Posts

To what level would we need to improve before you would be interested in watching a game?

622 Posts
    he wouldnt know he hasnt watched a match

427 Posts

As I said an unfortunately high number of day trippers in croke park (if he even made it that far).
    football fans watch football at any level, often just out of interest. Anyone who says they could not be paid to watch a game between the two best teams in this country is not a football fan, end of. sorry pal, but you are on the wrong forum.

A lover of spectacle, and a hater of football.

Its funny how peope seem to think just cause they watch a match that has players that are regularly on telly or in the papers that somehow it has to be a more entertaining match than a LOI game no matter how ****e the match really is.

Quote Originally Posted by Jofspring View Post
    Its funny how peope seem to think just cause they watch a match that has players that are regularly on telly or in the papers that somehow it has to be a more entertaining match than a LOI game no matter how ****e the match really is.
    Correct. Thats what Sky Sports have brought to the footballing table. Andy Gray constantly telling you the Premiership is the best league in the world (probably is too) but how many people repeat it without ever watching a La Liga game? For me the great thing about football is that it is enjoyable at any level. One of the best and most enjoyable games i've ever seen was played last year, in Ringsend park by to LSL sides, just as the one of the Champions League finals of recent years was dour and horrible to watch and one of the worst games i've seen.
    Last edited by Hairy Bowsie; 17/11/2009 at 11:13 AM.
    They always cheat, they always lie
    **** Delaney and the FAI

Quote Originally Posted by Dillonman View Post
    But yet no abuse is shipped by town heads to the good few Drogs who wear their jerseys around DKIT! Same goes with everyone who wears their colours around Dublin, feck all happens there.

My point is merely to the post of wearing your colours more often, you simply cant. Whereas in GAA its a completly different ball game when you wear your, for example Dublin coulours in Cork, nothing said(sorry for bringing up the GAA)
    Thats really sad dillon ! there are some idiots around allright .If i see someone in Drogheda in Dundalk gear i can relate to them and would much rather see them than the celtic , man u etc people who there are many off . Same goes for me when i visit Dundalk though , had stickers ripped off me car and spits all over the windows etc . No doubt by young scumbags Wouldnt go around pubs at night in me Drogs jersy . No chance ...

62 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ndrog View Post
    Thats really sad dillon ! there are some idiots around allright .If i see someone in Drogheda in Dundalk gear i can relate to them and would much rather see them than the celtic , man u etc people who there are many off . Same goes for me when i visit Dundalk though , had stickers ripped off me car and spits all over the windows etc . No doubt by young scumbags Wouldnt go around pubs at night in me Drogs jersy . No chance ...
    My god, I'v used an example to correspond to the comment left about wearing your coulours more often to promote both your club and league, and what Im simply saying is that you cant or this sort of crap goes on!

You do realise that im completely agreeing with you and not having a go whatsoever

62 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ndrog View Post
    You do realise that im completely agreeing with you and not having a go whatsoever
    Well that first line of your responce was pretty iffy in terms of sarcasm so didnt really know what to think!

43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by rebus2008 View Post
    So you're suggesting that gaaah (and as was right to do) opened up croker park to the likes of Brian O'Driscoll and Shay Given but insisted during negotiations with fai, that glen crowe & co strolling around in front of 72,000 mainly uninterested fans would be bridge too far.

The reality is that it didn't occur to gaa or fai during any negotiations that loi was relevant to croke park. LOI and large attendance stadia don't live in same world.

The reality is that fai probably didn't think of the idea or maybe they did but discounted as irrelevant.

People bitched about gaaah when berties meddling delayed the correct decision to open access for few years.
    People bitched when it was open saying a suitable atmosphere couldn't be generated. Italy/Frace matches have proven that stadium (as is shown every sept) can have great atmosphere when it is full with supporters who can be arsed getting involved.
    People bitch about the wait in getting out of croker back to home..assuming it can be paid for. I fear that future will show that Aviva was another folly of the celtic tiger...too small for one co-owner and too expensive for the other

Were the loi champs ever been pararded in the old landsdowne?
    Maybe it would be more constructive to focus on the possibility of seeing if fai could show LOI highlights during half times of intl matches when aviva opens than excessive paranoia about what the gaaahh might be doing out of fear of the LOI.
    I'm sorry but you are wrong. Under the contract between the FAI and the GAA for the use of Croke Park, the FAI are precluded from promoting the game of association football within the confines of Croke Park. This was a stipulation the GAA insisted on during negotiations.

Formerly: vega007 Colbert Report's Avatar
    167 Posts
    Sorry if I come across as a wind-up artist. I'm being serious. The top leagues here in Canada are total rubbish, so I have no interest in watching them unless I know someone off of one of the top teams, which I usually do. Any LOI club would come out here and destroy all the top teams. Unfortunately, the same can be said for English vs. Irish football. Any Premiership team could come to Ireland and destroy all the teams in Ireland.

I guess I've grown accustomed to watching football on television because the weather out here is not condusive to going out and watching football every week. It is simply too cold or else not available to watch most weekends.

I tried watching the MLS Cup Western final last week, and I had to turn it off. Even my girlfriend who knows nothing about football but who has been watching the EPL with me on Saturday mornings commented on how terrible it was to watch. Players couldn't string five passes together without coughing the ball up. Why would I waste my time on such a terrible product when I can switch over to Setanta and watch Chelsea vs. Manchester United? Don't tell me I'm not a lover of the beautiful game - I watch at least four or five full length matches every week, along with playing and training at least three times a week myself.

Don't tell me I'm not a lover of the beautiful game - I watch at least four or five full length matches every week, along with playing and training at least three times a week myself.
    Are those matches you play in total rubbish too?

Chelsea v Man Utd - the beautiful game.... are you sure?

I do sort of take your point, watching on TV is not the same as being there though, I would rather go and watch non-league football in the flesh than a random EPL game.
    I even lowered myself to go to a womens premier league game when I was in the UK recently because my mates local non-league side were away and they ground share with a ladies team. I hate to sound sexist but considering it featured Arsenal Ladies who are apparently the Real Madrid of the Ladies game in the UK, it was brutal, sunday league standard.

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast