Rode our luck at various stages but played football all year

Top drawer !
    DB Cooper is alive !

Ha ha. You beat me by 15 minutes!

Amazing night, still can't believe the Tolka result.

433 Posts
    Congrats.
    Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

71 Posts
    It may not be quite the same standard but our general play this season and tonight reminds me of the quote for the late Jock Stein after the 1967 European Cup final: “There is not a prouder man on God’s earth than me at this moment. Winning was important, aye, but it was the way we have won that has filled me with satisfaction. We did it by playing beautiful football. Pure, beautiful, inventive football. There was not a negative thought in our heads." The team have played some lovely positive enthusiastic football this season.

Our success this season is also testement to those who run the club behind the scenes like Tony Sheridan and Diarmuid McNally. To be relegated and lose almost your entire team and to have the structures in place to absorb those blows and compete with and better teams with larger budgets is a commendable feat and speaks volumes for the club. Well done to the committee, Martin Russell, Diarmuid and the players.

Best team I've seen all season, congrats. Delighted we messed up Shels' hopes as well, couldn't happen to a nicer crowd!

Well done lads.
    Its good to see that by playing good football and not kicking lumps out of teams you can actually be successful.
    Carry this on next season and you's should be ok.

Thumbs up Congrats

Well done to all involved at UCD.

Wont miss trying to find the ground or the half time tea

3,488 Posts
    To quote Peter Griffin - "Unfreakingbelievable"

Brendan Dillon afterwards reckoned it was the best footballing team he's ever seen us have. Paul Corry is like the missing link - seven wins and one draw in the games he started, and that one draw was the one he was subbed off in.

Gonna be some night in the Montrose next week!

But we've got to build on this next season as a club and get more through the gates. With the league in meltdown, there's a serious chance for us to steal a march on some clubs.
    Last edited by pineapple stu; 31/10/2009 at 4:52 PM.

122 Posts
    Congrats lads, I certainly didn't expect ye to come up this year or figure much in the promotion race especially with a new manager. But ye have let the football do the talking and the league table doesn't lie. Ye sound like a good attacking side. Looking forward to playing ye next year in the Premier, but we have to secure our place in the Prem next year first and hopefully we will by getting the right result against Cork next week

Congratulations to all involved. Without doubt UCD were the best footballing side i seen play this season.
    Why are people who "need no introduction" always introduced?

3,488 Posts

100 Posts
    I think Aidan Lynch got about two and a half bottles of white wine into it in the Lilywhite Lounge last year.

Well done to UCD, they were my second team for the year while I was out there doing a masters (although I'll always be Trinners at heart ). Will the trophy be displayed on campus for the year or where will it go? I'm sure you could use it to promote the club around college come the start of the new season..
    Last edited by holidaysong; 01/11/2009 at 4:50 PM.
    www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!

24 Posts
    well done on great season by far and away played the best football of the top four from what I saw this season
    And Miles To Go Before We Sleep

433 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by holidaysong View Post
    I think Aidan Lynch got about two and a half bottles of white wine into it in the Lilywhite Lounge last year.
    Ah the warm wine! Nicest drink ever...
    Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

I hope the Budweiser and red wine experiment with the Under 21s league trophy isn't repeated.

115 Posts
    Well done UCD!
    Best team won, playing the best football, simple as that.
    Popular champions too.
    more bass

98 Posts
    well done lads
    ye simply hammered us
    best team in the division by a long shot

3,488 Posts
    Longford highlights -

Special commentary from Terry.

It's lazy to call this one of the most important games of the run in, so I won't, but I think it is the best performance of the run-in. It's particularly nice to see the clock ticking down, but us still playing ball and creating chances rather than panicking and hoofing. We end up getting our just reward as a result.
    Last edited by pineapple stu; 04/11/2009 at 12:09 PM.

22 Posts
    Well done chaps. Hopefully the squad and staff will stay together and make a decent impact in the premier.

Fair play lads, by far the best footballing team i've seen this season, well deserved.

Btw your first goal in the longford game was a cracker!
    I’m not pedantic...I’m merely overly concerned with minute details.